HDR "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

HDR Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
HDR Chairman and CEO Eric L. Keen (no image)
Eric L. Keen
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Truly employee owned with ability to purchase shares that have been steadily increasing in value(in 79 reviews)

  • "Really great people to work with(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Accounts Payable Specialist 

    I have been working at HDR

    Pros

    Really great people to work with

    Cons

    none, this place is awesome

    HDR2019-09-19
  2. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer 

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of great people with work sharing culture

    Cons

    Pay is not that great

    HDR2019-11-12
  3. "Great experience, - Dead-end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Geologist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to learn new skills and responsibilities. Tons of travel, great people

    Cons

    If you want more responsibilities, you will be given them to the point of burnout, you will be given no compensation or promotions despite the additional work

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within. Don't build your book of business by buying other resumes to work for you

    HDR2019-09-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "HDR Review as designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Designer 

    I have been working at HDR full-time

    Pros

    Great people, respectful work hours, good pay.

    Cons

    clients not as interested in design as team

    HDR2019-07-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Quality people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with Variety of projects Employee owned

    Cons

    Some project mangers take credit for project success despite being clueless on the actual execution of a project

    Advice to Management

    Give opportunities for growth to employees that have skills outside your comfort box. Bonuses should not be based on someone taking the time to write up a recommendation and having it voted on by people who don't know your work or who you are. Give it based on project performance not popularity contests.

    HDR2019-01-05
  6. "Great Place For Career Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Olympia, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HDR for less than a year

    Pros

    Career advancement, Great people, Intriguing work, Large complex projects, Employee Owned.

    Cons

    None....that I can think of!

    HDR2018-10-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great management, employee owned, great stock options, great people. The culture is second to none and promotes personal growth, a sense of family, and doing the right thing.

    Cons

    The company is large and has large company challenges with risk management and approval processes. This is to be expected for a company this size though.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and the efforts to keep PMs focused on projects not paperwork.

    HDR2018-03-08
  8. "It has been one of my favorite places to work so far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Real Estate Services Agent in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR for more than a year

    Pros

    Like that I can work from home. Work/life balance is flexible. Great people to work with. Pretty good benefits. The work has been enjoyable.

    Cons

    Pretty strict on billable hours which makes it hard to go to training classes as they are on your own time.

    HDR2017-12-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Trending Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Office Management and employee are supportive and great people to work alongside. Very good competitive benefit package.

    Cons

    Corporate layoff policy is a huge negative. Corporate is a hypocrite considering when you're hired they request that you submit a two (2) week employment resignation notice, however, when company needs to layoff employees its policy is to cut you loose on the spot and the severance package is a JOKE. Corporate's layoff policy is inconsiderate of its employees. I would have given HDR 5 stars but the aforementioned is a HUGE negative with employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more respectful and considerate of our employees value and loyalty and change the company's pathetic layoff policy. This policy is on a trend of our employees losing their pride and loyalty in working for HDR.

    HDR2017-10-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, flexible schedule based upon workload and task completion.

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility. Relatively low salary compared to the national average.

    Advice to Management

    Find the bad apples at the project management level and either remove them or laterally place them allowing for new ideas and younger engineers/employees to be challenged further.

    HDR2017-07-12
Found 35 reviews
</>Embed