HEI Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor

HEI Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 348 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
HEI Hotels & Resorts CEO Anthony Rutledge  (no image)
Anthony Rutledge
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "Meet some great co-workers, free lunch at work, property in a nice location(in 16 reviews)

  • "The company is growing quickly, which is fantastic as there is opportunity for advancement(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "It seems harder to keep up with all the hotels in the Family(in 26 reviews)

  • "Stressful at times but with the right Rhythms in place along with the Right TEAM you can have a Solid Work Life Balance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and support from corporate. CEO is very involved and easy accessible. Company values the internal promotions. Open door policy. 401K

    Cons

    you can’t use sick time for vacation time and you can’t use any sick time before a year of employment.. and health plans.

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-09-21
  2. "Great Hotel with Great Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Grateful for the opportunity to be a part of a great company. I appreciate the regular HR calls and communication from corporate.

    Cons

    I haven't experienced a 'con' yet!

    Advice to Management

    Pleased with support from corporate - keep doing what you do!

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-09-11

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    September 12, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you very much for this feedback! One of the biggest goals of the Corporate office is to provide the best support possible for all of our property teams. Consistent communication and regular training are very important to everyone's combined success. Keep up the great work!

  3. "Excellent Company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very sophisticated in their approach to managing a property. Committed to the growth of their team members. Continuously evolving and making efforts every day to be the best place to work for!!

    Cons

    Wish there was more properties!

    Advice to Management

    GREAT PLACE TO WORK!!

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-09-11

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    September 12, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I am very pleased by your enthusiasm and love of HEI's management and employment style! Having leaders like yourself who are committed to making HEI great are what keeps us going!

  4. "Difficult Management Situation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Convention Services Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hotel's location is second to none.

    Cons

    Upper management at this hotel is dysfunctional.

    Advice to Management

    Your strongest assets are your employees, why not treat them like they matter. I have noticed that it is tough to find good employees, why not try to hang on to the ones you have.

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-08-27

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    September 4, 2019Corporate Talent Acquisition Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the management at your hotel! HEI strongly values taking care of our associates and making sure that you have a safe, happy and healthy work environment. We would love ...

    Show More
  5. "Not devoted to service excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their methods work for the most part which allows them to grow.

    Cons

    Their web page says: "THE ART + SCIENCE OF MAXIMIZING REAL ESTATE VALUE by developing + rewarding our greatest asset - our people." Notice that they have "subtracted" "our people" from their definition of success. They take their customers for granted. Top down communication and decision making does not allow the front line to make suggestions and improve service.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO should stop sending photos of his ski vacations to the entire company and research better health plans instead.

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-09-14

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    September 16, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I am sorry to hear that your experience with HEI was not a positive one! We consider our employees to be our more important asset, and understand that happy and satisfied employees are the framework to success. I would be very interested in learning more about your time with HEI, ...

    Show More
  6. "Always understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Guaranteed hours. Decent pay. Nice property

    Cons

    Company intentionally runs with a skeleton crew. You will definitely be expected to work almost everyday sometimes open to close. We were so short handed I had to work 18 days straight at one point.

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-08-21

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    August 23, 2019Corporate Talent Acquisition Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on HEI Hotels and Resorts. We can certainly appreciate that when you don't have a full staff it requires others to pick up a bit more. While we do run a leaner operation as well, we are hopeful that your department will get back ...

    Show More
  7. "Best Career Development and Leadership Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Norwalk Associate in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast track career growth and commitment to associates

    Cons

    None at this time

    Advice to Management

    No areas to improve. Very appreciative that leadership is relentlessly and continuously focused on associates first and how they can continue to grow.

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-08-06

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    August 7, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review! Growth and development are a priority across the board for all of HEI and the leadership teams!

  8. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    support from the company and ownership

    Cons

    not really any - great system upgrades with some expected challenges, as with any new platform

    Advice to Management

    continue to meet with the team and offer support

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-07-30

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    July 31, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for this feedback! Any time a new system is implemented there will definitely be growing pains, but with the right support system and team around you it can be a great learning experience that will soon pay off!

  9. "Excellent Work Environment with Industry Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Catering and Convention Services in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment with a company that is truly a leader within the hospitality industry that truly acknowledges and rewards performance.

    Cons

    No real downsides that warrant mention.

    Advice to Management

    Regional training opportunities in which you are able to share experiences and best practices among your peers would be beneficial.

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-07-31

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    A regional training program or meeting is a great idea! I will discuss this with my supervisor to see what options there are! If you have any best practices that you would like to share I encourage you to speak with your supervisor or General Manager to spread the word! Thank you ...

    Show More
  10. "HEI Hotel & Resort is Place where you can "GROW UP"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEI Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment, benefits, Training, Facilities & Supportive .

    Cons

    I have not found any down side to working with HEI yet.

    Advice to Management

    None

    HEI Hotels & Resorts2019-07-30

    HEI Hotels & Resorts Response

    July 31, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I am thrilled to see that you have had a great experience with HEI! Keep up the good work!

Found 348 reviews