HEINEKEN USA "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

HEINEKEN USA Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
HEINEKEN USA CEO Maggie Timoney  (no image)
Maggie Timoney
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Heineken Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Operations Associate in Harrison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with!

    Cons

    There are no cons I can think of

    HEINEKEN USA2015-10-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "great perks, great brands, no job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fun company culture, family owned business still

    Cons

    Messy management, needs updated marketing initiatives, stop change

    HEINEKEN USA2019-05-28
  3. Helpful (5)

    "This ain't no family business anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are some great people here Benefits and Pay

    Cons

    Iconic brands becoming irrelevant sales blames marketing and marketing blames sales, nothing is getting done continually trying to do more with less so much management turnover cutting head count to make balance sheet look good

    HEINEKEN USA2019-05-09
  4. "Manager - Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good perks, great people, competitive salary

    Cons

    Declining market makes morale low

    HEINEKEN USA2018-04-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great family owned company where you feel valued and not another number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Excellent pay and compensation - Lots of opportunity if you put the time in - Competent management with no micromanaging - Flexible schedule & work/life balance - Paid vacation 15 days/ year

    Cons

    Can't see any at this time

    HEINEKEN USA2017-04-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time

    Pros

    The people that work there are great people

    Cons

    Corporate goals are sporadic at best

    Advice to Management

    Have set goals for a long term

    HEINEKEN USA2016-06-20
  7. "Really a fantastic company, makes you product to being part of it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Metro Market Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA

    Pros

    The strongest pros for Heineken USA are its company rooted in its traditional values with great people and great brands: Proud and passionate people really committed to the success of the business. A respected portfolio of strong brands that is just a pleasure to work with from the consumer, marketing and distributor perspective. I have been working with Heineken USA (HUSA) for a relative short time (Almost 4... years), coming from a different Heineken operating company I have perspective to compare HUSA with other Heineken operating companies, is really a small organization in the US so you get to know most people in the company in a relative short time and also you can start making a personal brand in relative short period of time. It truly is a great, fun and flexible company to work for from all aspects, you are expected to work hard deliver results and you will be fairly compensated for it and growth opportunities will come your way. They have good training programs when you start and once you have showed your commitment and value as you acquire leadership roles they will invest in your development, they are willing to develop you if you are willing to put the time and effort required to absorb the experiences your current role has to offer and demonstrate them in your work with results and the right attitude. There is a good mix between new talent and steadier talent. There is cultural, gender and origin diversity starting from the top management cascading its way down the ranks. If you are willing to put the time and effort that is required to show your value with results, do your networking and (very important) are willing to relocate you will get promotions and opportunities about two(ish) to three(ish) years in to your role, is a company where you can truly make a life career if you are inclined to do so. Strong management team committed to win that is approachable and open to feedback. Pay is fair, with the usual benefits for a large company (Matching 5% of 401K, high deductible insurance plan, etc.) Like in every company a recent change of CEO has brought a lot of changes (both in structure and in strategy) majority of the changes positive like strong focus on key brands / channels and shift of resources to key areas.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are really no downsides to work for Heineken. I am sure we way better than most companies when it comes to climate and work perks Work life balance: is really up to you. Because of our industry we don’t work conventional hours in the field sales, however they do in the support teams and the company does all it cans to encourage work life balance with policies like summer hours, work from home arrangements if... needed, maternity / paternity leaves, generous vacation policy, flex time arrangements, etc. However if you want to work 80 hours a week there is enough work to do it and no one will tell you no to do it. Again really up to you. An area of improvement could be to have steady leadership that doesn’t change every 3 to 5 years that way you develop stronger relationships with distributors, authorities, customers and even employees that in this industry still count for a lot. Org change: there is some every 3 to 4 years but tell me about a company where that isn’t the case, new management or not, this is a sing of company evolving to respond to its market, consumers and customers trends and needs. Is it uncomfortable? Yes. However an executive that can’t deal with change is really a poor executive and change brings good opportunities to hard working and bright people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep narrowing the focus and clarifying the priorities, this is great. Do not dilute resources (money, time, efforts, and programs) in brands that are not strategic. When we do innovation lets go ALL IN on it. Just like we have a great internal job positing system make the international (global) job opportunities available on a systematic basis to all viable candidates. I love the “if is 80% right just F*** do it”... mentality, we should do something to expand that throughout the company!

    Show More
    HEINEKEN USA2016-05-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Going green"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA

    Pros

    Culture of the beer business, and lots of great people. Global perspective being such an international company - great diversity.

    Cons

    In the past few years, many changes in top leadership giving mixed messages to overall goals and priorities.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain a consistent message, cull turnover, hire more beer savvy/experienced employees, be cognizant of the loss of our family values when turnover is high.

    HEINEKEN USA2016-03-17
  9. "Off Premise Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Babylon, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good culture.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive. Prioritizing and effectively managing brand strategies is lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Break the silos and bring back the positivity.

    HEINEKEN USA2015-11-09
  10. "Great Company, Great Perks, even better co-workers. Basic hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Data Analyst in White Plains, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at HEINEKEN USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful facility, nice bar at the office - never tried it though. Great People.

    Cons

    The commute is the only issue I had.

    Advice to Management

    None

    HEINEKEN USA2014-09-15
Found 14 reviews