HEINEKEN USA "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

HEINEKEN USA Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 10 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
HEINEKEN USA CEO Maggie Timoney  (no image)
Maggie Timoney
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (23)

    "Employee Handbook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people and experience. Great Brands!

    Cons

    Work life balance is tough. Competitive market.

    Advice to Management

    This is advice to the people who are posting negative reviews. If your grievances are "True" you should use, open up your employee handbook. This isn't snapchat or the right place. Grow up! Heineken has a good culture in a competitive market. It's not perfect but we also don't live in a land of marshmallows and Care Bears.

    HEINEKEN USA2017-04-23
  2. "On Premise Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Flexible schedule if working in field (work/life balance). Family feel. Very progressive with time off and maternity/paternity leave.

    Cons

    Some of your goals come out so late in each quarter it is impossible to hit them.

    Advice to Management

    Since goals are based on the previous year, your goals for the whole year should be laid out by January.

    HEINEKEN USA2018-10-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent work life balance, acceptable pay

    Cons

    Always years behind: systems are outdated, converted to open office space about a decade after everyone else and after most had found it was counterproductive. Turnover: Management constantly changing with new foreign leaders coming in and leaving every few years as the US is seen as merely a stepping stone for executives with no experience in the US 3-tier system and no experience as a small market share... participant.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the way and let those that actually understand the US beer business make the decisions.

    HEINEKEN USA2017-12-04
  4. "Off Premise Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Off Premise Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent work-life balance and a lot of autonomy to do the job my way.

    Cons

    Very little on-boarding support. May be cultural but also may be managers style.

    HEINEKEN USA2017-05-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great family owned company where you feel valued and not another number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Excellent pay and compensation - Lots of opportunity if you put the time in - Competent management with no micromanaging - Flexible schedule & work/life balance - Paid vacation 15 days/ year

    Cons

    Can't see any at this time

    HEINEKEN USA2017-04-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Heineken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA

    Pros

    Great work / life balance

    Cons

    Average compensation for Region leadership (no stock options, etc)

    HEINEKEN USA2016-09-16
  7. "Really a fantastic company, makes you product to being part of it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Metro Market Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA

    Pros

    The strongest pros for Heineken USA are its company rooted in its traditional values with great people and great brands: Proud and passionate people really committed to the success of the business. A respected portfolio of strong brands that is just a pleasure to work with from the consumer, marketing and distributor perspective. I have been working with Heineken USA (HUSA) for a relative short time (Almost 4... years), coming from a different Heineken operating company I have perspective to compare HUSA with other Heineken operating companies, is really a small organization in the US so you get to know most people in the company in a relative short time and also you can start making a personal brand in relative short period of time. It truly is a great, fun and flexible company to work for from all aspects, you are expected to work hard deliver results and you will be fairly compensated for it and growth opportunities will come your way. They have good training programs when you start and once you have showed your commitment and value as you acquire leadership roles they will invest in your development, they are willing to develop you if you are willing to put the time and effort required to absorb the experiences your current role has to offer and demonstrate them in your work with results and the right attitude. There is a good mix between new talent and steadier talent. There is cultural, gender and origin diversity starting from the top management cascading its way down the ranks. If you are willing to put the time and effort that is required to show your value with results, do your networking and (very important) are willing to relocate you will get promotions and opportunities about two(ish) to three(ish) years in to your role, is a company where you can truly make a life career if you are inclined to do so. Strong management team committed to win that is approachable and open to feedback. Pay is fair, with the usual benefits for a large company (Matching 5% of 401K, high deductible insurance plan, etc.) Like in every company a recent change of CEO has brought a lot of changes (both in structure and in strategy) majority of the changes positive like strong focus on key brands / channels and shift of resources to key areas.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are really no downsides to work for Heineken. I am sure we way better than most companies when it comes to climate and work perks Work life balance: is really up to you. Because of our industry we don’t work conventional hours in the field sales, however they do in the support teams and the company does all it cans to encourage work life balance with policies like summer hours, work from home arrangements if... needed, maternity / paternity leaves, generous vacation policy, flex time arrangements, etc. However if you want to work 80 hours a week there is enough work to do it and no one will tell you no to do it. Again really up to you. An area of improvement could be to have steady leadership that doesn’t change every 3 to 5 years that way you develop stronger relationships with distributors, authorities, customers and even employees that in this industry still count for a lot. Org change: there is some every 3 to 4 years but tell me about a company where that isn’t the case, new management or not, this is a sing of company evolving to respond to its market, consumers and customers trends and needs. Is it uncomfortable? Yes. However an executive that can’t deal with change is really a poor executive and change brings good opportunities to hard working and bright people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep narrowing the focus and clarifying the priorities, this is great. Do not dilute resources (money, time, efforts, and programs) in brands that are not strategic. When we do innovation lets go ALL IN on it. Just like we have a great internal job positing system make the international (global) job opportunities available on a systematic basis to all viable candidates. I love the “if is 80% right just F*** do it”... mentality, we should do something to expand that throughout the company!

    Show More
    HEINEKEN USA2016-05-06
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HEINEKEN USA full-time

    Pros

    Great company going through transformational change.

    Cons

    The business is fast paced and will put pressure on the work/life balance.

    HEINEKEN USA2016-05-05
  9. "On Premise Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On-Premise Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family oriented. Bends over backwards for their employees. Great benefits! Everyone is very friendly and a lot of fun to work with.

    Cons

    Restructures a lot. (about every 3 year). Work Life balance is a focus but the work doesn't allow for that.

    HEINEKEN USA2014-09-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HEINEKEN USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great brand, Very nice co workers, Fun conferences and happy hours, fun perks, helpful co workers

    Cons

    Big problem for work life balance, pressure of working late evenings/weekends, wfh is not allowed in certain depts . Not much opportunity for growth or movement. some employees have been there for over 10 years and in the same position.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to train new employees better so they are prepared to do their jobs well. Encourage employees to grow and promote them for good work

    HEINEKEN USA2014-08-26
Found 16 reviews