HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Reviews | Glassdoor

HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY CEO Lyndon & Jamie Cormack
Lyndon & Jamie Cormack
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Free drinks and snacks, good extended health benefits, casual dress code, free product and product discounts

    Cons

    No parking, strict office hours, no formal structure for wage increases or bonus, not an inclusive work place - beware daily microaggressions, bad onboarding and training to learn how the company works and who to talk to, dog eat dog culture

    Advice to Management

    In some departments, managers don't communicate important info to staff and cooperation and communication between departments can be improved

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2017-06-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Worst Company To Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    I for the life of me cant think of one positive thing to say about Herschel supply. Unless you value getting free snacks and and a employee discount on over rated bags that all look the same.

    Cons

    There is so many things wrong on how this company operates but below are just a few: 1. Training is a joke with no structure what so ever. There was no training manual to reference cause it was all out to date. For me my trainer it depending on how stress she was that day for me to ask questions without getting talked down to & belittled or snapping. This seems to be accepted form of behavior cause the person has...

    Show More
    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2017-07-07
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Free alcohol Fridays after 4pm

    Cons

    Bunch of rowdy alcoholics hanging out on Friday after work. Holier than though hipster culture. Hard work is not acknowledged, if it is you are told you are too intense. Very two-faced environment that limits growth.

    Advice to Management

    Give kudos to you hard working staff. Fire the ones on Tinder instead of working.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2017-06-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Inability to Innovate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    The offices are beautiful. It's great to work in such a well-designed space. The right tools and education are always available for those looking to progress their career.

    Cons

    Despite claiming to be supportive and entrepreneurial in spirit, there is an inability to accept new ideas, processes and methods. If you are young and looking to work hard and share new ideas with ambitious goals for promotion, look elsewhere. Additionally, the work-life balance they expect from employees isn't realistic within their current salary framework.

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to learn new skills and implement time- and money-saving ideas when they are presented.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2017-02-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Way more pros than cons here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY

    Pros

    dynamic team,varied projects, allowed to make mistakes and try new things

    Cons

    very social and tight-knit. If you want to just clock in and clock out this might not be for you

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2017-01-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and take on a lot of responsibility, you're really left to your own devices. Nice office space. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Very unorganised. Poor management and structure. Some teams can be hard to work with and have a vibe of superiority. Salaries are low. Not rewarding hardworking and loyal staff.

    Advice to Management

    For some reason it's not obvious to them - reward hardworking and loyal staff.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2017-01-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Herschel Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Positive ambitious atmosphere in a rapidly growing company

    Cons

    In the finance department there is no clear career progression structure. Also management are reluctant to reward employees with salary increases in the finance department .

    Advice to Management

    Work with HR to implement a career progression structure and salary increases in the finance department

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2016-12-10
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Not so great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Great from the outside but gets ugly very quickly Cool office Some staff are brilliant and great to work with

    Cons

    This is all fake culture with people getting more and more frustrated which, results in a very toxic environment. Some departments are more friendly than others but in general this work culture is about diminishing each others, people are young with no experience and get extremely bad compensation for their work. It is disrespectful at all levels. These days, a lot of people think looks are the most important thing,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop bragging and start to work to actually support for your people. You are spreading and nurturing an arrogant environment

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2016-12-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Fun place to work, needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    The team at herschel is a great group of people. A lot of fun young, inspiring co-workers.

    Cons

    Equal pay is hard to come by. They have a ways to go in terms of figuring out compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees and hire more senior management.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2016-10-03

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Response

    October 7, 2016Human Resources Manager

    We agree that we have an amazing team. We are always looking for ways to improve and will continue to evaluate our programs to ensure we are remaining competitive and investing in our people. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Still figuring it out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun & flashy work environment. Great talented co-workers

    Cons

    Haven't worked out how to compensate employees properly. There is a lack of understanding of how to help employees live the lives they are expected to live. Employees are paid much below the industry standard and it is thought that because the work environment is so fun that this makes up for it, when in fact most employees find it hard to pay rent or live in the downtown vancouver area.

    Advice to Management

    Employees often feel underappreciated. Major office improvements are made, but there are no improvements made to employee quality of life. The pay does not reflect what is seen on the walls. Just remember how hard everyone works and remember to show them that in the form of benefits and work life balance.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2016-09-23
Found 38 reviews