KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

HKS

Engaged Employer

HKS

Add a Review

HKS Los Angeles Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 281 reviews

4.8
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HKS President and CEO Dan Noble
Dan Noble
5 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of HKS and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Thoughtful Company

    Sep 21, 2020 - Senior Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HKS invests in its employees , they will cover your AIA membership fee as well as NOMA and offer an extremely broad range of health benefits. The CEO is transparent with staff regarding office wide strategies for flexible work due to the pandemic. HKS puts its employees health and safety at the forefront of its priorities. The firm is very focused on JEDI (justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion) initiatives. The company has great technical resources and a platform to aid in delivering well executed design documents such as Guide sheets, a standard of practice handbook, as well as key leaders available to aid in the work process. The design leadership actively engages with staff to promote collaboration and heighten awareness of ongoing work. HKS is a company with long term career promise.

    Cons

    I don't have much to add to the cons other then there could be more cross pollination/collaboration between studios.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HKS Response

    Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. Our strategic pillars and firm values were created to drive our business and guide the initiatives that we invest in, so we are glad to hear that you recognize and appreciate our prioritization of Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. We are dedicated to exceptional work for our clients and partners and enjoy hearing that our technical resources are helping you thrive as a designer to deliver mutually-beneficial goals. If you would like to share additional thoughts, reach out to the Human Resources team.

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Company Review

    Apr 13, 2021 - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has a great Culture

    Cons

    Needs more limitless leaders - younger and more open minded

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Mar 5, 2021 - Project Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid resources to help employees

    Cons

    Big company and can be too big

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Not a bad place to work

    Feb 15, 2021 - Job Captain in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work schedule is a big plus

    Cons

    Shows signs of Flickr environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Office interiors speaks for itself

    Apr 20, 2019 - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Outside view is pleasant only

    Cons

    Poor Management terrible work ethic

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to practice Architecture with a few flaws

    Jun 14, 2018 - Job Captain in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company provides a lot of incentives to train and become licensed or another certification. Great office culture. You can tell everyone likes it here because they are energetic and have fun. A rarity in Architecture. Lots of social events in the office to see presentations and chat it up with co-workers. People also take it up among themselves to have company team sports. Los Angeles office has good leadership and great projects. One of the bigger outposts outside of the Dallas HQ.

    Cons

    As mentioned above a good place to become an Architect or Designer but if you want to break out of the mold then there is less support. Architects focus on what they are good at and don't typically explore new services due to unfamiliarity and overhead cost. Westwood location is not ideal for most people commuting to the office especially because public transport options are limited. Starting to get crowded around here because a lot of employees were added since 2017. Difficult to concentrate in some areas because of the noise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HKS Response

    Director of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback! We agree – HKS is a fun and vibrant place to work! It’s great to hear that you are engaged in the culture and office. We continue to think about ways to create an even better and more dynamic environment, with flexibility certainly a part of the conversation. We encourage you to talk with your direct leadership to discuss more work at home flexibility. Please feel free to reach out to HR for any guidance, as well. Thanks again for your comments and for your dedication!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent firm, culture and people!!

    Jul 22, 2017 - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's alot of talent here and the people are great to work with. Although it's a big firm, it's a warm and welcoming environment where you're not just a number. Upper management cares about their employees and the CEO is awesome. HKS cares about their employees work/life balance and I don't feel like I'm working in a sweatshop. Of course there will be deadlines that require working long hours, but for the most part I have a life outside the office. The company understands our personal needs and allows flex work schedule. They also provide laptops to all employees to access technology from anywhere. The firmwide and office resources are excellent. They also pay for parking and transit subsidies. Other benefits such as 401k, health/dental, etc are pretty much on par with other large firms. Oh and they even offer pet insurance!

    Cons

    There's always going to be pros and cons at every office. I think there are way less cons at HKS than at other large firms I've worked at. If had to think of some, it would probably be the benefits. They have a good vacation/sick policy which adds up to about 5 weeks total whereas other firms only provide only 3 weeks PTO for vacation/sick. My biggest complaint would be the dental and health insurance. They only offer HDHP/HSA health insurance plans which I suppose is becoming the industry standard. The HMO dental insurance is cheap but not all that great in terms of their in-network dentists...however the PPO dental insurance is expensive. Other than that I don't have many complaints.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    pros adn cons of a large firm

    Mar 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Large firm that offers a lot of opportunities for individuals to grow in their careers. Employees have access to many experts and tools in their field. Employees are constantly exposed to new material which supports growth in their carriers.

    Cons

    Large firm which makes the firm a more politically charged place. Employees will have to learn to maneuver between different leadership. Difficult to get promoted and recognized for all the hard wok you do because it is such a large firm.

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great projects. Low pay

    Jul 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people + projects. Opportunities for exposure to different types of projects.

    Cons

    Pay + benefits. Some of the lowest in the industry. They tell you you'll be compensated with a bonus that will make up for the low pay, but it's not true. Lack of leadership. Poor upper management. No transparency in promotions process.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Admin Assistant

    Jan 28, 2018 - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A beautiful environment, nice co-workers, beautiful and interesting projects. Free coffee and parking. Centrally located. Integrates new technology well. The rules are well laid out for new hires.

    Cons

    Misogynistic glass ceiling. A weird, late 1940s culture towards women that makes it feel like nothing much has changed with regard to the upward mobility of their female employees since the days of Howard K. Smith. Like stepping into an episode of “Mad Men.” Covertly unfriendly to those without white, straight, Christian lifestyles. If you didn’t go to A&M, you’re not a part of this fraternity.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    HKS Response

    Director of Global Talent Acquisition

    At HKS, we are fully dedicated to promoting diversity within the firm. We believe, including our Los Angeles office, that diverse teams and backgrounds bring better view points to create the most successful design solutions. We offer various initiatives focused on leveraging diversity, equality and inclusion. At the end of 2016, we launched our Better Together initiative which promotes and provides education, inspiration and support as it relates to our roles and choices. We are proud of the variety of cultures represented in our Los Angeles office, including female representation throughout all levels of leadership. The Los Angeles Business Journal has also consistently recognized us as a Best Place to Work. We as a firm continue to be mindful and appreciative of the talents contributed by each individual.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with HKS Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HKS? Share Your Experiences

or