HKS Los Angeles Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
27%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HKS President and CEO Dan Noble
Dan Noble
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent firm, culture and people!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HKS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's alot of talent here and the people are great to work with. Although it's a big firm, it's a warm and welcoming environment where you're not just a number. Upper management cares about their employees and the CEO is awesome. HKS cares about their employees work/life balance and I don't feel like I'm working in a sweatshop. Of course there will be deadlines that require working long hours, but for the most part I have a life outside the office. The company understands our personal needs and allows flex work schedule. They also provide laptops to all employees to access technology from anywhere. The firmwide and office resources are excellent. They also pay for parking and transit subsidies. Other benefits such as 401k, health/dental, etc are pretty much on par with other large firms. Oh and they even offer pet insurance!

    Cons

    There's always going to be pros and cons at every office. I think there are way less cons at HKS than at other large firms I've worked at. If had to think of some, it would probably be the benefits. They have a good vacation/sick policy which adds up to about 5 weeks total whereas other firms only provide only 3 weeks PTO for vacation/sick. My biggest complaint would be the dental and health insurance. They only offer HDHP/HSA health insurance plans which I suppose is becoming the industry standard. The HMO dental insurance is cheap but not all that great in terms of their in-network dentists...however the PPO dental insurance is expensive. Other than that I don't have many complaints.

    Continue reading
    HKS2017-07-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Office interiors speaks for itself"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HKS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outside view is pleasant only

    Cons

    Poor Management terrible work ethic

    Continue reading
    HKS2019-04-20
  3. "Great place to practice Architecture with a few flaws"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Job Captain in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HKS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company provides a lot of incentives to train and become licensed or another certification. Great office culture. You can tell everyone likes it here because they are energetic and have fun. A rarity in Architecture. Lots of social events in the office to see presentations and chat it up with co-workers. People also take it up among themselves to have company team sports. Los Angeles office has good leadership and great projects. One of the bigger outposts outside of the Dallas HQ.

    Cons

    As mentioned above a good place to become an Architect or Designer but if you want to break out of the mold then there is less support. Architects focus on what they are good at and don't typically explore new services due to unfamiliarity and overhead cost. Westwood location is not ideal for most people commuting to the office especially because public transport options are limited. Starting to get crowded around here because a lot of employees were added since 2017. Difficult to concentrate in some areas because of the noise.

    Continue reading
    HKS2018-06-14

    HKS Response

    September 5, 2018Director of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback! We agree – HKS is a fun and vibrant place to work! It’s great to hear that you are engaged in the culture and office. We continue to think about ways to create an even better and more dynamic environment, with flexibility certainly a part of the conversation. We encourage you to talk with your direct leadership to discuss more work at home flexibility. Please feel free to reach out to HR for any guidance, as well. Thanks again for your comments and for your dedication!

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Admin Assistant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HKS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A beautiful environment, nice co-workers, beautiful and interesting projects. Free coffee and parking. Centrally located. Integrates new technology well. The rules are well laid out for new hires.

    Cons

    Misogynistic glass ceiling. A weird, late 1940s culture towards women that makes it feel like nothing much has changed with regard to the upward mobility of their female employees since the days of Howard K. Smith. Like stepping into an episode of “Mad Men.” Covertly unfriendly to those without white, straight, Christian lifestyles. If you didn’t go to A&M, you’re not a part of this fraternity.

    Continue reading
    HKS2018-01-28

    HKS Response

    April 9, 2018Director of Global Talent Acquisition

    At HKS, we are fully dedicated to promoting diversity within the firm. We believe, including our Los Angeles office, that diverse teams and backgrounds bring better view points to create the most successful design solutions. We offer various initiatives focused on leveraging diversity, equality and inclusion. At the end of 2016, we launched our Better Together initiative which promotes and provides education, inspiration and support as it relates to our roles and choices. We are proud of the variety of cultures represented in our Los Angeles office, including female representation throughout all levels of leadership. The Los Angeles Business Journal has also consistently recognized us as a Best Place to Work. We as a firm continue to be mindful and appreciative of the talents contributed by each individual.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "pros adn cons of a large firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HKS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large firm that offers a lot of opportunities for individuals to grow in their careers. Employees have access to many experts and tools in their field. Employees are constantly exposed to new material which supports growth in their carriers.

    Cons

    Large firm which makes the firm a more politically charged place. Employees will have to learn to maneuver between different leadership. Difficult to get promoted and recognized for all the hard wok you do because it is such a large firm.

    HKS2017-03-09
  6. "Great corporate firm to work for"

    4.0
    Former Intern - Intern in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at HKS for less than a year

    Pros

    People are very nice and they actually asked me what kind of work I am interested in working on and assigned me accordingly, even as an intern.

    Cons

    Not many overtime hours to work

    HKS2017-02-18
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great projects. Low pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HKS full-time

    Pros

    Good people + projects. Opportunities for exposure to different types of projects.

    Cons

    Pay + benefits. Some of the lowest in the industry. They tell you you'll be compensated with a bonus that will make up for the low pay, but it's not true. Lack of leadership. Poor upper management. No transparency in promotions process.

    Continue reading
    HKS2015-07-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews