HMSHost "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

HMSHost Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
HMSHost President and CEO Steve Johnson
Steve Johnson
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Airport locations are reall busy(in 80 reviews)

  • "Free lunch and you usually work with friendly employees at the airport in different locations(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "going through security at the airport(in 52 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of support from upper management(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time

    Pros

    Alo of hands on Work, through which much knowledge is gained

    Cons

    Similar work load to upper management and paid less.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t get comfortable, always strive for more.

    HMSHost2018-04-05
  2. "A lot to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Operations Manager 

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, different things everyday

    Cons

    Union employees that live on that cushion, lack of support from upper management.

    HMSHost2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    hours, great employees, free food for management

    Cons

    micromanaging, lack of competence from upper management, finger always pointed at you

    Advice to Management

    grow up

    HMSHost2019-08-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "0 Stars For Corporate, 5 Stars For Actual Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a very easy and great job. However, I worked in Silicon Valley. Because of the labor shortage here, employees get treated like royalty here. However, I doubt they do out of SV. 1. Guaranteed full-time and lots of overtime 2. Stable, but no flexibility 3. Managers were awesome! 4. Free health insurance for myself, but free health insurance is standard in SV 5. They'll hire anybody.

    Cons

    1. Everything depends on seniority completely. 2. Labor union couldn't even negotiate minimum wage, even though a lot of employees switched to another employee in the airport! 3. HMS Host and the Union decided it wasn't needed to tell us of out crappy pay raise. We found out about it on our paystubs. That shows how much they care. 4. Managers are overextended. If you are not a cashier, you are overextended. 5. Lunch and Breakfast breaks suck. We get the min. the law says we get. Shows how much they care. 30 minutes of lunch is not enough! 6. Meals for employees suck. $15 sounds like a lot, but it sucks for an airport in S.V.. 7. Airport and upper management suck. Told by them we can't tell them how long food takes, and we can't put signs up when we run out of food. Easy for them to say that when their not the ones being yelled at by customers. Therefore, I ignored any stupid rule the Airport or Upper Management came up with. 8. They are not upfront about all your leave options. I think they do this on purpose.

    Show More
    HMSHost2019-08-01
  5. "Audit Department-RUN AWAY, ITS A NIGHTMARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Auditor in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don’t think of much except travel to different places and trying different food

    Cons

    No management flow. The upper management is lazy and no help from them in learning. They get personal to you, unskilled. They don’t know anything about the work. The admin girl is cheap and immature who keeps laughing unnecessarily. The directors come around to watch you like a hawk by coming to your desk with a stupid question. Very unprofessional people and immature department.

    Advice to Management

    Be professional and not personal

    HMSHost2019-07-05
  6. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and free food

    Cons

    Overworked, no accountability, zero communication with upper management, lazy management and staff.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize more efficiently and hire quality staff vs quantity. Communicate with staff openly

    HMSHost2019-06-11
  7. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and pay paid vacation 401k

    Cons

    Hours, could have more support from upper management

    Advice to Management

    Work with us and give us support.

    HMSHost2018-12-03
  8. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at HMSHost part-time

    Pros

    Cool coworkers, free drinks and food

    Cons

    Everything in upper management. They dont know what they are doing when it comes to successfully managing and staffing a business

    Advice to Management

    Resign and let someone who is actually qualified do your job

    HMSHost2018-10-19
  9. "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Com mission. Over time. There aren't 5 pros.

    Cons

    Management. Human resources aren't there for you, they only care about management. Upper management. No one cares. If you have a problem better solve it yourself. This company falls so incredibly short when it comes to employee satisfaction or team building.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to listen to your employees. Constructive criticism is important. Dont accuse, ask.

    HMSHost2018-08-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ive ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meals, airport is safe and some employees are great.

    Cons

    Worst upper management I have ever had! Alot of bullying and liars. If you aint apart of the “posse” then you arent treated equally. Worst training, you basically learn everything by yourself! The main boss- she will lie to your face, talk to other employees about you, communication is the worst, always in a bad mood and cant talk to her about anything, and overall just a horrible person to be around! I was a great worker! Did my job and went home. They lose so many good people due to all the poor communication and lack of respect for one another. Worst leader and highly recommend to never work there!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire management and supervisors that are bullying people!

    HMSHost2018-05-16
Found 49 reviews