HOIST Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor

HOIST Fitness Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "best work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Poway, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at HOIST Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, everyone is like a family. Executives have an open-door policy.

    Cons

    Not enough employees take advantage of the work out facility benefit.

    HOIST Fitness2018-11-07
  2. "This place is so corrupt. I wouldn’t wish working here upon my worst enemy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HOIST Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They claim to be located in San Diego. It's in Poway (inland California) and far away from everything.

    Cons

    HOIST Fitness is the definition of an unhealthy working environment. Every employee hates their jobs and walks around the office like zombies. Everyone can only survive the dreadful day ahead by drinking 18 cups of crappy coffee – coffee that they all have to chip-in for each week because management can’t spare $5 a month. There is no room to have “friends” in the office because that would be considered wasting company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step down and let a younger generation take over the company.

    HOIST Fitness2019-01-02
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HOIST Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Happy, upbeat environment. Family-like atmosphere. Executives have an open-door policy.

    Cons

    Not enough employees take advantage of the work out facility benefit.

    HOIST Fitness2018-04-11
  4. "Decent but not enough for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HOIST Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Newer location / building, decent benefits, friendly people

    Cons

    Frugal company, hesitant to devote any budget to marketing.

    HOIST Fitness2018-01-26
  5. "Great Company To Work For! Especially If You Love Fitness!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HOIST Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Well-organized, good business practices and model, good compensation and benefits, great products, on-site gym, flexible hours, great people, and fun and supportive team-like culture.

    Cons

    Far from the beach and my house

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your people and they will stay happy and fulfilled.

    HOIST Fitness2017-11-17
  6. "glad I left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HOIST Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool products, good people to work with

    Cons

    low compensation, not much room for growth

    Advice to Management

    management needs to be more relaxed and engage with employees, pay better.

    HOIST Fitness2017-10-02
  7. "Terrible Ownership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HOIST Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a nice showroom of equipment to use to workout

    Cons

    The two owners who work in office micro-manage everyone and everything. The employee satisfaction rate is close to zero most people are just working there because they have for so long. If you like to get told you are doing your job incorrectly everyday, this is the place for you!

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company

    HOIST Fitness2017-05-25
  8. "Small company, small company ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HOIST Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Located in Sunny Southern California

    Cons

    Small company. Lack basic structure to support product and customers.

    Advice to Management

    Ego's too big. Owners will cut salaries and jobs before they downgrade their 6 figure cars. They are intimidated when they aren't the smarted person in the room.

    HOIST Fitness2017-03-04
  9. "Horrible place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HOIST Fitness

    Pros

    can workout during lunch time

    Cons

    Bad management, micro management, no career growth or raises. 95% of workers have no degree, uneducated. Management likes old traditionalinefficient workflow. Don't like new changes. Unhealthy working environment. 99% of employees there are unhappy. Wouldn't recommend anyone to work there.

    Advice to Management

    loosen up and appreciate employees for their hard work

    HOIST Fitness2015-12-20
  10. "Good place to work while it lasted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HOIST Fitness

    Pros

    good people to work with

    Cons

    being able to workout on lunch

    HOIST Fitness2015-03-26
Found 12 reviews