HOMER Reviews | Glassdoor

HOMER Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
HOMER CEO Neal Shenoy (no image)
Neal Shenoy
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Independent Contractor 

    I have been working at HOMER for less than a year

    Pros

    Constantly working to improve. Everybody here is really passionate about what they're doing and it shows. And everybody is extremely friendly, making working together a breeze. Hard working environment, but can be very nice and laid back when it needs to be.

    Cons

    So much has been changing since I've joined. Overall this is good as it's brought a lot of improvement, but it was a little confusing getting to grips with telling between current goals and outdated information at first.

    HOMER2019-09-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company with a bright future ahead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - An incredibly driven and motivated team, led by passionate founders and leaders that make sure every individual is growing - Impactful work driving massive growth - A collaborative and diverse environment - Management is highly supportive of individual contributors and makes sure everyone's voice is heard (lots of transparency) - Low attrition

    Cons

    Not a con, but typical org challenges due to a rapidly growing team (same as any other growth-stage company). Management has been extremely diligent and proactive about planning for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it rolling! We've struck a near-perfect balance of autonomy and management oversight while staying true to our company values and mission.

    HOMER2019-09-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great people in an organization that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Devops in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great company mission. - Management is clear and direct, but is able to be human, approachable, and outgoing. - Colleagues are helpful and friendly, which continues even when things don't go as planned. - The positive attitude permeates the entire organization and extends to freelancers. As a freelancer I can say that this is too often not the case, but at HOMER you do feel like you're a full part of the team.... - Possibly some of the best run meetings I've encountered during my career. - Fully embraces remote work. - Truly respects time off.

    Show More

    Cons

    At times, it feels that there may be too many meetings. Given that they are well run, it feels like a very minor thing.

    HOMER2019-09-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Passionate, Professional Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible team of passionate, highly-dedicated and professional colleagues focused on creating the best possible experiences for children. Very mission driven and creative.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    HOMER2019-07-26
  6. "Tech Talent Pipeline Cohort 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software QA Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HOMER for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun environment, open office space, mostly nice people.

    Cons

    Not a lot of work was given to me that wasn’t manual QA testing.

    Advice to Management

    Give more learning activities to interns

    HOMER2019-05-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great! (If startups are your thing.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Performance Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management is first rate and really cares about employees. I’ve seen situations unfold with employees where other managers would have thrown in the towel, but this team works through the problem. They also invest into development of employees. The teamwork here really stands out. There is definitely a common mission and employees find ways to work together despite pressing deadlines. Great mission and vision... — I want to go to work every morning. Growth — It’s nice to see the company clear huge milestones. Small — still small enough where every employees contribution really matters. Location is solid (flatiron)

    Show More

    Cons

    Standard start up issues: The office needs more conference rooms, more space Feels like we don’t have enough people to handle the growth frequently

    Advice to Management

    More all hands meetings Let’s get enough quite space so we can better focus on deep/creative work

    HOMER2019-03-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER full-time

    Pros

    Very employee focused, forward thinking tech company. I always feel respected and heard.

    Cons

    Very fast growth. Overall, this is a good thing. However, it sometimes leads to lack of focus in some areas.

    HOMER2019-02-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome company with an awesome mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to begin my career! Positive work environment, very friendly and inviting co-workers, good benefits, and honest/transparent communication between staff members.

    Cons

    Office space is a little crowded and sometimes a little chilly in the office on Mondays until around noon or so.

    HOMER2018-12-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Intern - Great learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HOMER

    Pros

    People are smart and fun to work with! I learned a lot.

    Cons

    Low pay and no benefits for intern

    HOMER2018-11-29
  11. Helpful (1)

    "A+ mission, stellar people, great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HOMER full-time

    Pros

    Working for a mission-driven organization truly makes a difference when it comes to leading a fulfilling career. Everyone at this organization puts their heart into what they do - and you can see it pay off if you take a look at the tremendous growth of the company!

    Cons

    As is anticipated at this stage for a high-growth start-up, office space is a bit cramped right now, but won't be forever.

    HOMER2018-11-05
Found 19 reviews