HSBC Holdings "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

HSBC Holdings Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 29 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
HSBC Holdings CEO Noel Quinn
Noel Quinn
181 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Its not what it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    vacations, benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Future opportunities are very limited. Its all about the banks needs not the employees.

    Advice to Management

    The US is a great market. You need to figure out how to participate in a meaningful way.

    HSBC Holdings2019-09-09
  2. "Senior Manager, Information Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mettawa, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Paid Time Off, 401k Plan

    Cons

    Salary, Complete lack of work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Start caring more about the employees

    HSBC Holdings2019-10-28
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Business users are awesome and very supportive. Good work/life balance. Challenging work environment. Bank is positioned for growth in the next few years.

    Cons

    IT is going thru internal "Transformation" (i.e. changes). The goal seems to be to transfer IT work to offshore/consultants and only keep leadership/supervisor roles onsite / inhouse. Too much stress on the bottom line and operating costs.

    Advice to Management

    Allow your workforce to grow and adapt to the changes in direction. Better training and coaching needed and employees need to be groomed to fit the vision of senior management of where the workforce needs to be.

    HSBC Holdings2019-10-24
  4. "Not a Place for Entrepreneurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings

    Pros

    Nice co-workers; Strict risk control; Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Kind of limited on what could do as an intern with no access to the system; Conservative corporate culture

    HSBC Holdings2019-10-01
  5. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Operations Processor in Bermuda, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HSBC Holdings for less than a year

    Pros

    Always learning about different products and jobs within the bank.

    Cons

    Need work, life balance and time in lieu

    Advice to Management

    Always respect co-workers and professional when dealing with employees

    HSBC Holdings2019-09-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Too many layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Generous 401k match, ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Strategic roles increase responsibility faster than the pay or job title does. Layoffs happen too often for a bank that is supposedly focused on growth. Above average performers sacrifice a lot of work-life balance. Not all people managers are trained to manage people. Extremely limited career opportunities in Buffalo.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the reputation of the bank both locally and nationally or sell the US business. Figure out a business model that doesn't rely on frequent layoffs, hiring freezes, and pay freezes.

    HSBC Holdings2019-09-13
  7. "pay is ok, benfits are very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay is average compared to market, bonuses are below average, benefits are excellent. work life balance above average.

    Cons

    career growth in US is minimal. They have cut staff to the bone. nowhere to get promoted to.

    HSBC Holdings2019-08-29
  8. "Great Company to work for from my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Salinas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, career development, work life balance

    Cons

    I really enjoyed working here, I don't have much to say bad about it

    HSBC Holdings2019-08-14
  9. "Great work/life balance. Healthy deal flow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Love the people I work with. Flexible with remote work. Opportunity to move around. I would recommend HSBC as a place to work.

    Cons

    Systems are not the best. Back office operations moved to India and it’s just riddled with errors. Management listens but is ineffective in solving this issue.

    HSBC Holdings2019-07-29
  10. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations 

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work - work life balance good

    Cons

    Upward mobility not currently there

    HSBC Holdings2019-07-04
Found 1759 reviews