HSS "hss" Reviews | Glassdoor

HSS Employee Reviews about "hss"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
52%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
HSS CEO   Kirsten Benefiel (no image)
Kirsten Benefiel
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "HSS is a very good company to work for within the airport(in 10 reviews)

  • "Steady schedule, good benefits, and good pay(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "HSS acted as a quasi-military organization(in 10 reviews)

  • "Bad hospitals in town, Social club advancement ladder, Very high turnover rate(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hss"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HSS full-time

    Pros

    HSS is a very good company to work for within the airport

    Cons

    Not too many complaints on my end

    HSS2019-10-25
  2. "Be prepared to be treated like trash."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HSS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seriously there are no pros to working for this company

    Cons

    HSS acted as a quasi-military organization. When the person who is scheduled to work the shift after yours doesn't show up it's YOUR responsibility to "remain at your post until you're relieved." It doesn't matter if the middle of the night and you need to get home to take care of your family. It doesn't matter if you have travel plans and have purchased tickets and need to be at the airport in an hour. If you leave you're fired.

    Continue reading
    HSS2019-11-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Shift Supervisor in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company seems to value each individual as a person rather than a number. The company offers perks-at-work, medical, dental, and vision benefits (and some others), a 401k plan, and paid time off to full time employees. Sick pay is minimal at best, but it's there if you need it. The management structure in my area is dedicated to training the employees to the best of their ability, and put a huge emphasis on developing leaders within the organization. There are a lot of opportunities to grow within the company, being a nationwide company. The security fields HSS deals with, require specific knowledge and the training that goes into the employees is very high quality.

    Cons

    We should have the option to wear a more comfortable uniform. In the psychiatric hospital, for example, having a polo shirt and a tactical style pant may offer more room and comfort to help when dealing with combative patients. The traditional "Class A" style uniforms are not very giving when it comes to mobility and comfort. Additionally, I'd like to see some quality equipment. It seems that the company tends to spend as little as possible on uniforms and equipment, and it shows. When pants or shirts start tearing a few months in and have to replaced, maybe it's time to invest in something a little higher quality. There is a HUGE amount of overtime. Most full time officers are scheduled a minimum of 48 hours a week. The turn over rate is incredibly high and something has to done to minimize that turn over rate. Hiring quality candidates is difficult, as the time spent waiting to get medical clearance, can sometimes deter people from applying.

    Continue reading
    HSS2019-06-21
  4. "Staying organized was their biggest issue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at HSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthcare is great, my relationship with management of hss was good, overtime, paid vacation, pay ok

    Cons

    Unorganized, doesnt care who they hire such as employees/supervisors/captains, benefits suck, poor training

    Continue reading
    HSS2019-03-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Austin, TX

    I worked at HSS full-time

    Pros

    Steady schedule, good benefits, and good pay

    Cons

    I have no complaints about hss

    HSS2018-03-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not A Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don't want to make "not terrible" sound like it isn't good. You have freedom to roam the entire facility if you are in a hospital or airport while on patrol, and you have the freedom to pretty much do as you wish provided no security threats are present.

    Cons

    The job can be mind-numbingly boring. Responding to accidental calls keeps things interesting but it can be tedious at times. I believe the pay is too low for the hazards that must be dealt with (transporting bodies or other health-hazardous material, combative patients, inclement weather) No complaints about dealing with these things directly, I just think the pay could be higher. If you don't mind boredom, higher than average but still low pay, and awful insurance, HSS is great. There is also no room for growth as an officer in many facilities, and if there is, it does not go very far.

    Continue reading
    HSS2018-01-24
  7. "bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HSS full-time

    Pros

    HSS was founded on great values, the founders always emphasized that employees matter most because it is their engagement that makes the company grow. That created a good culture and there are still a lot of great people working at hss.

    Cons

    Since the new C-Suite came in around 2016 the company culture went in a very wrong direction. In my opinion employees were no longer valued and the best people have left the company.

    Continue reading
    HSS2018-02-03
  8. "A Company Holding On By the Skin Of Their Teeth, but not as bad as the competition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will learn how to interact with people better in difficult situations. You will also be rewarded by helping others at their most challenging times. The daily lessons learned will help you in the long-term. I recommend this job to anyone getting into the medical, psych, or behavioral health field. The hands on lessons will be invaluable and beyond what can be expressed.

    Cons

    The upper echelon i.e. management(all levels to their own degree) is full of themselves and need to learn better management/humility. They over work their employees, don't provide adequate professional development or training opportunities. It is the bare minimum. Mediocre "benefits" with long hours people are forced to work. Given this, HSS should at least provide a better PTO option for both part-time and full time employees rather than burning people out, and running them into the ground.

    Continue reading
    HSS2017-06-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HSS full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. Chance for advancement from entry level position all the way to Manager position. Chance to help in the healthcare process of those in need. Support from top level executives in the Corporate Office.

    Cons

    HSS has the market pretty much cornered in the Denver Metro Area so moving up once you get to a certain level is almost impossible. Mid-level Managers over accounts are not as supportive as they could be.

    HSS2016-06-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company without great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love HSS as a company. I get a family feel from most that work here. Management will do all that they can to help if you really need it.

    Cons

    Once you are on a schedule you are set. Not always a bad thing but for some it can be when things change outside of work. The pay structure just sucks. I'm a combat military veteran and after insurance comes out of every paycheck I might as well be working for minimum wage. There is no advancement unless a supervisor leaves, retires, or dies.

    Continue reading
    HSS2015-09-11
Found 18 reviews
</>Embed