HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Reviews | Glassdoor

HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Reviews

Updated September 22, 2017
31 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Principal Consultant & CEO Simon Forder
Simon Forder
15 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Goodbye for now...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time

    Pros

    Although my tenure as the Nor Cal Regional Manager was all too brief, I enjoyed the time. Like all things, there were some bad with all the good, but overall, enjoyable.

    While I did have my doubts about Hyde as a company during my first year and half, I came to understand Hyde was (and is) going through immense growing pains. We are transitioning from a small company to a mid-size company – WE ARE GROWING!!! – and that transition doesn’t always go smoothly. After being one of the Regional Managers and seeing what’s going-on on the “in-side,” we are changing for the better.

    To you young’uns… I encourage you to be patient with us as we work through this change. There is no road map to follow here – so some of this change needs to be slow! And, we are likely to make mistakes… SO BE PATIENT…

    Cons

    I only wish I could have invested more of my own time, but in my heart, I know I have made the right choice. In the end, would I come back if I were given the chance? YES

    Advice to Management

    To our leadership, I thank-you for the opportunity to serve beside you and I encourage you to stay the current course. In some ways building our infrastructure may not seem profitable, but investing in our people, our product, is a sound investment – they will bring us more return than all the business development meals put together.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pleasant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Burlington, NJ
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Burlington, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hyde E+C is filled with individuals who are innovative and insightful, with indefinitely good spirits. In my working experience, I have not known a company with 1000+ people that is able to work so fluidly.

    Cons

    Notices of traveling to a job site were sometimes given a day before or the day of which lead to distressing situations.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to better support engineers who are on the "bench". While on the bench, was given little to no tools to help professional growth, which eventually lead to lay off.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Aug 5, 2017 – Director of U.S. Operations

    Thanks for your response! I agree with your feedback regarding project lead time and our current bench situation. Over the years, particularly working as a field engineer, there were times in which I... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Welcome to the world of politics and drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer II in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Engineer II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hard to think of any others than benefits . Good 401k and life insurance . Have few good people at basic level .

    Cons

    No growth , works like auto body shot , people comes and leaves. No specific training. People come and contribute per their skills but nothing extraordinary ! Just s common staffing firm experience!

    Advice to Management

    Learn to do consulting business and develop employees to that focus ! Otherwise what's so special about Hyde ! Traditional format . Increase pay of ranking employees .

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – Director, Global Recruitment

    Having worked in the staffing industry, I agree that there is one area where we are similar to a staffing company: the work that we support varies project to project. Meaning that you may support a... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer
    Current Employee - Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time

    Pros

    The people. Hyde has an environment of constant improvement that leads to some refreshing flexibility and the opportunity to grow in your role. The company cares about placing you into a role that you will enjoy and generally appreciates your hard work.

    Cons

    As a small business, the structure of the company is still developing. This includes definition of roles, structure of projects, and employee expectations. This can be an exciting environment, but also leads to some teamwork challenges!

    Advice to Management

    While there are many opportunities for growth, the career paths available are not defined. If you want to keep your employees for years to come, this may be something to consider.


  5. "Family Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working at Hyde E+C felt like being part of an extended family, but generally with less drama. Everyone I interacted with at the company was very nice. I was given plenty of autonomy on my projects, with minimal micro-management. Hyde had plenty of company functions which allowed for team-building with those who could attend.

    Cons

    Lots of travel was required in my case, but that with goes with the territory. There were times when I felt some lack of support on projects where I was not completely comfortable with the scope of the project. Paths to management were limited while I was there, however this was being addressed as I was leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the number of paths to management. Ensure that support is available for those need it. Keep the family atmosphere, despite of the growing pains.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Apr 14, 2017 – Director, Global Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback! Maintaining the "family feel" is important to our culture as we grow.

    With the creation of the Staff Manager role, we are hoping that this will provide some... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Only good for short-term opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Hyde Engineering and Consulting has a good HR!

    Cons

    - Management only uses you as disposable employees for the short-term projects. NO PLAN FOR FUTURE CARRER FOR EACH INVIDUAL EMPLOYEE.
    - Regional/Senior manager’s lack of technical experience and management skills shows when they put together a team for each project.
    - Poor compensation, overworking work, and lay-offs are degrading the depth of experience. Junior engineers are being put in charge of commissioning projects with very little experience because nobody sticks around long enough especial talented engineers.
    - Health care benefits are less than average

    Advice to Management

    Think longer-term and focus on value for all employees, including customers. Focus on retaining talent and morale so that you can capitalize when markets rebound. Change the management staff with qualifying ones.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you very much for your feedback. It is very unfortunate that this was your experience with Hyde. We are actively working to address many of the areas you have mentioned such as individual... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Company needs to focus on employees rather than expanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant II in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Consultant II in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Small company, good exposure different clients

    Cons

    no career/employee development, management/HR are useless

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee development, and reply to their phone calls, emails or texts once in a while

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Oct 3, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your candid feedback. It sounds like your current experience at Hyde leaves a lot to be desired. We have received similar feedback regarding employee development and are rolling out a... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Small company with friendly environment.

    Cons

    - Senior Management are not qualify to held their positions (No direction, no management/technical experience, no supervision,unfair judgements )
    - Worse health insurance package.
    - Salary is not competitive.
    - It's not the company you should work for, If you are looking for a career.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Oct 20, 2016 – CEO

    Thank you for your feedback.

    I find it very disturbing that this is your experience and feedback about Hyde. The senior management of Hyde are long-tenured professionals with extensive industry... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Hyde"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time

    Pros

    The people I work with are awesome! I enjoy going to work and I feel like part of a family. We have fun team building and sporting events. The benefits are great Medical, PTO and the 401(k) match is incredible!

    Cons

    It not always easy to find answers to questions, templates and procedures but I hear assurances that those types of things are in progress and the people I have talked to are happy to try and help find what I need.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to know clear career paths for my skill set. What's next? What else is out there? Where am I going to be a year from now?

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Aug 1, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoy your work at Hyde and working with your colleagues – we think they are pretty fantastic as well. Our true differentiator is the... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice folks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ventura, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ventura, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good place to learn skills

    Cons

    pay is not the best

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Jun 22, 2016 – Manager, Global Recruitment

    Thanks for your feedback! I encourage you to reach out to your manager and HR to discuss your concerns about pay, especially if you have been learning new skills in your 3 years of employment.


Showing 31 of 35 reviews
Reset Filters