Haas TCM Reviews | Glassdoor

Haas TCM Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
14%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Haas TCM CEO Thaddeus J. Fortin (no image)
Thaddeus J. Fortin
2 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Haas TCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Routine work. Many meetings, but the company has a good management style. They company provides some growth opportunity. Great people to work with on a daily basis and everyone is helpful. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Some lay offs occurred while I was there. Job and career growth is not rapid. They do not provide organized training for new and old employees.

    Haas TCM2013-03-11
  2. "Was a Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Haas TCM for less than a year

    Pros

    When it was family owned there was a great culture; and it was a true joy to work there.

    Cons

    The company and the culture changed dramatically; when they partnered with a private equity firm. The once family owned and operated small company; became a cut throat organization almost overnight.

    Advice to Management

    Take responsibility for the actions of the Senior Leadership Team; and do not pin your failings on the middle management.

    Haas TCM2015-10-16
  3. "Scan Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Haas TCM full-time

    Pros

    Awesome insurance benefits, provided cell phone for customer tech interaction & three weeks paid time off starting your first day. Wonderful working companions, ability to learn a great deal about avionics replenishment, assembly and the supplies needed to complete skins, rotary and tail blades. Paid mileage for traveling from Bell Helicopter customer production plants to the supply warehouse and back.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, basically your starting salary is it and I wouldn't expect a raise. One team member hit four year mark in 2011 still no raise in pay not even once in his four years. Very poor upper management that cares only for themselves, will not be any help to you in any way, ignores all calls from yourself and team about customer issues. Upper management within the company changes very often, does not... promote for these upper management positions from within, if you are not buddy buddy within some in the uppers do not expect to be promoted ever! Expects you to now everything about everything, trash talks hard working team members behind their backs in front of other employees. Have personally seen site manager throw buyer under the bus right in front of the Bell Helicopter Representative for something manager was directly responsible for. Manager prior to 2012 was much better, as soon as this manager moved on to better things management went down the tubes fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire management that is willing to stick around and actually know how to lead a team. Hire managers willing to work with their team instead of place blame when management is clearly at fault and hire manager that won't steal team recognition for own personal glory in the light of the Bell Helicopter contract overseers.

    Haas TCM2015-09-12
  4. "Excellent stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Haas TCM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Haas (Avchem now Wesco)offers many training courses to enhance your knowledge. Flexibility and vacation along with getting health insurance on day one are very good.

    Cons

    If you're a site manager GOOD LUCK! You will not receive adequate training and there is a sink or swim mentality there. That's ok once in a while but I experienced it over 8 years. I know many others have as well. I traveled for the company and saved their contracts a few times. Near the end of my tenure I was dealing with a hostile work environment where my boss was rooting through my office on my days off and... continuously trying to find bogus things to write me up on. I had to quit. Be prepared to be given an iPhone with company email which you will be married to for all time and eternity. There's no such thing as a true day off work. If you do have a problem at work do not expect for your HR department to actually communicate with you. They are in Westchester and you will feel alone on a tiny island. There is no support from management or HR. Be prepared to work extremely hard and receive less than fair wages. I was in management there for 8 years and made it to 49K. Sounds good? We'll let me tell you, driving your personal vehicle all over Saint Louis to go the extra mile for your customer and company will eat your gas. That and lack of true appreciation is ridiculous. True appreciation can be found on your paycheck, not a pat on the back. You will find that other site managers may make more or less than you depending on your contract. Be prepared to be disappointed by the fact that even though you may have a much larger contract that is more robust and requires 24-7 attention, you may make 10k less than another manager with a smaller simplistic contract. I had a supervisor reporting to me that made a considerable amount higher than I. Yet I was his boss.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to be 100% responsive. A simple "I'm working on it" or "I'm looking into it" would suffice. Start paying your site managers and techs a fair wage. Remember, you get what you pay for!

    Haas TCM2014-07-23
  5. "There is a reason a company is always hiring...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in West Chester, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Haas TCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Educational assistance is 100% paid for and they will qualify even diploma mill degress for this. Vacation is industry standard, hours are pretty straight forward (a lot of overtime isn't generally required), holiday time off is nice.

    Cons

    Bullying runs rampant in this company. Promotions are truly based on political positions and a who-knows-who within the organization. Actual talent and work ethic are highly ignored. You will watch people who are working their rears off get no reward or value while those who gossip and eat lunch with the right people receive better treatment and lowered expectations to perform their job. The skill set and... intelligence are substandard within the company. If you want to learn while you're working and get to the next step, you won't find it here. The procurement department is highly transactional with no strategic initative or goals to do anything other than work you to the bone and implement process after process that makes your job more difficult. You will not gain any new skills or taught how to be more effective at your job. You won't even learn the strategy of the business and what you need to do in order to help achieve that invisible strategy. You do the same thing, day in and day out. Management is completely disconnected from their buyers. They actively allow middle managment to steamroll the buyers through bullying and unethical tactics. Complaints about this to HR go neglected and treatment gets worse. You can be a star player in your job, but should one person decide they don't like you because you breathe the wrong way, you will be pushed to your breaking point and will eventually settle that you have to quit. The retention rate is very low, I watched a department of 30 buyers turn over about 10 people in the span of three months and it continues to happen. Someone quits every 3 months or so because they just get so tired of it all. The morale is very low, people are out to get one another. Nothing is team oriented and it's truly a dog eat dog environment. The company isn't even a Fortune 500 and operates like a big 3 consulting firm in it's people and cut throat processes. The culture here is absent. You either get along and are buddy buddy with the right people or you don't. If you don't, you won't last long. Gossip, sexism, and racism are commonplace. Social gatherings are done on the sly - not everyone will be invited.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop hiring and promoting people based on friendships and political means and do so off actual work ethic, ability, intelligence, education, and experience. Please do something about the rampant bullying in the global organization, especially West Chester, PA. Understand that your employees are your biggest asset and will make or break the company. Your clients will only be happy and satisfied once your... employees are happy and satisfied and you actually engage with them.

    Show More
    Haas TCM2013-03-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Where to start?!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Makiyivka, Donetsk
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Haas TCM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not very many. The odd nice person aside, there's very little to be happy about. I'm struggling here so i'll go for...er....errrm....i'll get back to you.

    Cons

    HAAS and the company i work for (which is a division of it, having been bought over) seem to specialise in employing people with little to no discernible intellect. Promotions are gifted on favouritism (as mentioned about in abother review) and management are scared to enforce rules across the board. Instead they are allowed to cherry pick and dish out disciplinary action based on who they like and don't like. The... people in positions of seniority have backstabbed, insulted and @rselicked their way to the top, and remain there by bullying and victimising the staff below them. This has happened to myself on several occasions, and others, yet NOTHING has ever been done about it, EVEN THOUGHT IT'S BEEN REPORTED. Other occasions of bullying and threats of violence have been met by management suggestig you should "punch back". A manager advocating the use of violence in an office environment to settle what was effectively a case of bullying. I could sit here, for days and days and days, and go through every facet of this joke company - every iota of it true - and it would shock you to your core. The business world is a ruthless and harsh environment but it shouldn't be absolved of the expectation of taking care of, providing for and being loyal to the staff that work hard, for rubbish pay, and have stayed loyal to a company for many years. There are little to no promotional opportuntiies and the company shys away from sending people on courses to improve in their role. The status quo, of old dogs of war and backward business acumen remain in power due to circling the wagons and culling anyone who stands up to their lickspittle and mealy-mouthed ways. Open displays of racism have been experienced , and of sexism too, and to say the company was rife with bigots would be only touching on the truth. Due to poor decisions over many years, poor ability, low intellect and nasty, vitriolic bullying have been allowed to become rife in almost every corner which has resulted in people who DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY, SENSE, LOGIC OR WHEREWITHAL to correctly complete the roles they have been gifted to an acceptable level but years of brown-nosing mean that upper management, mainly from HAAS, are too blind to any of this. Ultimately it'll be the company that suffers from this halfwitted approach.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Begin employing people who have the skills for the roels they're applying for. Stop employing people from within who have bullied their way through their employment here. Start acting on reports of bullying and abuse and victimisation instead of burying your heads in the sand. Begin offering compeittive wages and salaries. Offer staff the chance of promotion. Begin offering salary increases based on position, value... to the company and work ethic, as opposed to just giving everyone 1% for their efforts. Make management accountable for poor decisions and below-par management skills.

    Show More
    Haas TCM2013-02-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Survival of the fittest if you can survive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Haas TCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, convenient location, paid floating holidays, rollover unused vacation days for the following year...that's about it.

    Cons

    Management has no clue how to perform the daily job functions of the buyers who are responsible for keeping the company afloat. Healthcare benefits are mediocre at best and costly. 401K company match of 1% is miserable. Educational background is not relevant to this company - promotions are based on favoritism and who you know. Employee rentention rates are horrible - About 10 people quit during my time with Haas.... There is no employee recognition or incentive programs to increase morale and keep employees happy. Those who are good at their job will be rewarded with more and more work until they are overwhelmed and pushed out the door, while those that are incompetent will have work taken away and still be employed without being reprimanded. The company policies were written by people who have no clue what is going on within the company and are out of touch with the day to day operations, therefore when a policy is not followed to a "T" we are reprimanded and thrown under the bus because we didn't do "our job." If you need assistance from management solving a problem good luck getting a response within 24 hours - responsibility is passed back and forth between managers and no one will take charge. There is absolutely no opportunity for growth if that's what you're looking for - they pick certain people for certain positions and that's it, although they claim there are "tons of opportunities." Bonuses are unheard of at Haas unless you are senior-level management or the CEO, otherwise you don't get a dime.

    Show More
    Haas TCM2012-11-09
Found 7 reviews