Habitat for Humanity Reviews | Glassdoor

Habitat for Humanity Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 718 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Habitat for Humanity CEO Jonathan T. M. Reckford
Jonathan T. M. Reckford
224 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great work for a good cause(in 43 reviews)

  • "Good PTO and Vacation, Decent work environment, Friendly staff(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Personal Income will have limitations as this is a non profit sector organization(in 50 reviews)

  • "Benefits are expensive because it is a small affiliate(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource Development Coordinator 

    I have been working at Habitat for Humanity part-time

    Pros

    Non profit, gives back to the community

    Cons

    None, Habitat for Humanity is amazing

    Habitat for Humanity2019-09-10
  2. "Overall Very Goodp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Habitat for Humanity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful mission, and a generally great team

    Cons

    Inconsistent company morale and communication across departments.

    Habitat for Humanity2019-09-12
  3. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Operations in Flagstaff, AZ

    I worked at Habitat for Humanity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helping build homes for people in need of affordable housing

    Cons

    Dealing with board members that understand the strategic planning or market

    Habitat for Humanity2019-09-17
  4. "Intern Review on managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internist, General in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Habitat for Humanity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible days and hours, friendly employees and customers

    Cons

    Very poor management, no organization what so ever, nobody is on the same page ever, hostile environment

    Habitat for Humanity2019-09-14
  5. "San Diego Habitat for Humanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Santee, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Habitat for Humanity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to help out people that couldn't provide for themselves and their families was an extremely gratifying experience, as well as learning how the irrigation systems worked in a house along with a lot of little tricks for installing different appliances.

    Cons

    Some of the co workers weren't motivated as me which was manageable but a little annoying

    Habitat for Humanity2019-08-15
  6. "No Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Colville, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Habitat for Humanity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to serve the community; Employee Discount; Casual Dress code

    Cons

    Stressful environment; no communication; bad management; double standards; possible health code violations.

    Habitat for Humanity2019-09-18
  7. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Habitat for Humanity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good hours throughout my tjme

    Cons

    No cons really. Loved it

    Habitat for Humanity2019-08-10
  8. "Habitat Burlington County NJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Maple Shade, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Habitat for Humanity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The cause is great and the families are so appreciative most of the time.

    Cons

    The current management (CEO, CFO) have no idea of how to manage and any deviation or suggestions they don't like they get rid of them.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the business you are in, its not just fake words and photo opportunities. Stop micro managing when you don't understand and let the professional people you hire do their job.

    Habitat for Humanity2019-09-12
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Habitat for Humanity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We have a very smart team of people

    Cons

    Negative people need to move on

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving us forward

    Habitat for Humanity2019-08-06
  10. "Great Place to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Middle Island, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Habitat for Humanity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great workplace environment, mission focused, benefits

    Cons

    non-profit pay, hard to climb the ladder

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Habitat for Humanity2019-07-24
Found 718 reviews