KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

HackerAgency

Engaged Employer

HackerAgency

Add a Review

HackerAgency Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 of over 132 reviews

2.3
30%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
HackerAgency President/CEO Spyro Kourtis
Spyro Kourtis
90 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

2m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

22

16 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some people are great (others not so much)(in 20 reviews)
  • "The office is nice and I appreciate perks and personality of the company.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Initial pay is above average and there are free snacks.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Not a MSFT shop, impressive client roster, super smart people, part of the IPG / FCB network, learn a lot very quickly, and a shared struggle to please clients.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Account Manager

    Apr 4, 2019 - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This agency very genuinely embraces employees who have an entrepreneurial spirit and developed, thoughtful ideas to bring to the table. In my experience, you will absolutely get back what you put in at Hacker. People who demonstrate ownership and a growth mindset are rewarded with autonomy and appreciation. It could be a grind at times but overall was a fun, playful culture. And I think things have only gotten better over time.

    Cons

    Like any agency, you are limited by the constraints of your clients - their budgets, their priorities. I had moments where I was constantly working, but more often than not I had true work life balance, which is rare in clients service.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Stockholm syndrome, but in Seattle

    Nov 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Got out alive * Made friends with fellow prisoners * Was paid in real money (just not that much of it)

    Cons

    * 80-hour workweeks were the norm * Working on pitches was the intellectual version of working on a chain gang * CEO is an out-of-touch sadist who rules with fear * It is a pretend agency that used a foosball table, a snack cupboard, and proximity to an expensive steak restaurant chain to masquerade as a real agency

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    HackerAgency Response

    Vice President

    Thank you for sharing your opinion, which we take very seriously. We’re sorry that you did not find your time at HackerAgency a rewarding career experience; and hope you’ll consider reaching out personally to discuss your feedback. We are passionate about what we do, and work hard to do our best for our employees and clients each and every day. Having said that, we have not had a foosball table or even proximity to a steak restaurant for many years now.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Independent and growing

    Apr 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's nice to see an agency be able to return to independence and then thrive. Agile approach influences the team culture in powerful ways. Lots to learn here with a sharp group that rolls up their sleeves to get things done.

    Cons

    Work continues to be seasonal - so there are times that are much busier than others.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great agency to work for!

    Jul 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with talented people, including top management Great salary and benefits Wonderful clients who appreciate what we do and share their enthusiasm Excellent downtown location and beautiful office environment

    Cons

    Dealing with winers and complainers gets old fast. You can easily spot them as they spend their days gossiping and complaining about everything, particularly about the long hours. Stop complaining and you might actually get your work done and go home at a decent hour, but I don't think they are bright enough to figure this out. If it's so awful here why don't they do everyone a favor and find a job elsewhere - I am assuming they can't get as good a job as they have here, nor the money, so they keep hanging on. Time to do yourself and the rest of us a favor and move on to another agency - any agency but here.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Top Heavy Boys Club

    Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HR department - have been working overtime since Hacker laid off close to 100 employees in less than a month. Despite all the uncertainty HR have continuously answered all of my questions and been a great resource. The sad thing is, I'm sure management haven't even noticed.

    Cons

    Where do I start? The company is so top heavy now, even with 27 employees - there are atleast 20 who do zero work. It is comical how they talk about being a 'start up environment' in every restructuring meeting - but they don't realize that they could save a bunch of money by getting rid of some of the PM directors (who drop the ball at every opportunity). The same Dir.PM has had nearly every PM that works for them leave - you'd think upper management would spot the common element in all these people leaving. There are some amazing people who work here, don't get me wrong - but those at the top are bereft of what is actually going on. It's just a boys club at the top, with an inner circle of people who just perpetuate the same B.S everyday. Nothing is going to change, it's a sinking ship with a shockingly poor level of BD and New Business Acquisition.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful

    HackerAgency Response

    CFO

    We are sorry it took so late to reply to your comment - and we are sorry that Hacker Agency has not met your expectations as a great place to work. Our leadership team is 50% female and we can assure you that everyone of us is working hard to make Hacker Agency great for employees and clients alike. As a current employee, we encourage you to please reach out and share your concerns at work. Thank you, Hacker Agency HR

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Worst company I have ever worked for.

    Nov 20, 2013 - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office is nicely located downtown. They have some really good people working as project managers, data analysts and devs.

    Cons

    The executive and senior leadership of this company do not care about anything a 'minion' has to say. The CEO fosters a culture of fear and the VP of Ops has her head in the sand about any kind of project that isn't traditional direct mail print. The account management team has some good members, but they'll throw you under the bus in a heart beat if it means keeping their own reputation sparkling and clean. One of the Account Directors actually said "sometimes you have to stand on their (Project Managers) necks until they do what you want." He was also one of the first to call for Error Meetings if something was wrong, and the first to defend himself and blame everyone else in the room. It was absolutely the worst place I have ever worked and all but 3 people on my former team have quit. Hacker has a horrible reputation in the industry and I have lost count of how many times I've been asked if it's as bad as they've heard it is. My answer is that it's definitely worse than they've heard. One person asked why I accepted a job there. My answer was "I didn't know Glassdoor existed then."

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Laborious processes and lack of quality communication

    Sep 28, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Initial pay is above average and there are free snacks. There are some people that really want to make a difference...

    Cons

    ...but they can't because they're bogged down holding the mansion together with duct tape. Almost everything is a labyrinthine process of frustration, largely because of a one-size-fits-all approach (and they're trying to fit something into a process that might have been great in 1995). The need to keep profit margins high means that there's no budget for fixing anything. Just overloading the current staff. And the lack of clear documentation (who has time to write it?) or communication (there is communication, but everything goes through 20 passes so who knows what happens at the end) means that when the keepers of all the knowledge finally throw in the towel, the new staff will be deciphering the Rosetta Stone for a while. After the initial 9 months (or three full quarters if hired in the middle of one), your pay is 50%+ tied to the company's "performance" (I say this in quotes since there are no visible metrics to prove this is really the case).

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Awful.

    Nov 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free snacks, views, some coworkers

    Cons

    Everything else not mentioned above

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful

    HackerAgency Response

    CFO

    Apologies for the delay in responding. We are sorry that Hacker Agency did not meet your expectations as a place to work. While your description does not reflect the reality at our agency, we will admit that it has been a challenging year. Our agency is not for everyone, but the reason so many people stay so long is that it actually is a good fit for many. Feedback is valuable even when we have a difference of opinion. We wish you the very best in your career. Thank you, Hacker Agency HR

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Typical Agency

    Aug 21, 2015 - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun office environment sometimes. Challenging work sometimes. Cool office.

    Cons

    Hacker is a good agency, but its internal polotical problems make it typical. When I was there they were having 'Respect' meetings to discuss respect and what it meant. Even in these meetings people argued. Hacker isn't anything special. Putting out 1 billion pieces of direct mail is nothing to be proud about. How many of us actually want that mail? To keep direct mail running Hacker relies on elderly folks who need Medicare. I think theyre the only ones who would appreciate that sort of mail. There is a certain amoint of messiness in every company. Political problems here are expected, but you'll find them in many other places too...here though I think they don't mind them as much. Problems become a tad more amplified. Over the years many friends moved on to bigger and better things. Use Hacker as a small stepping stone if you need one. It's no place to stay and make a nest for too long.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not the best..

    Jan 12, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -You get to work with top, recognizable clients which is nice for your resume. -The office is really nice. It has modern decor and nice view of the city. -A lot (not all) of the people that work here are great. They are fun and nice to talk too. -You get snacks and drinks and sometimes free beer on Fridays -The pay is at level or above market for your position

    Cons

    - work and life balance sucks, had to work long hours and during lunch - high pressure; a lot of tight deadlines - some of the clients that you work with are difficult - A few of the management are not friendly; very intimidating. - I seen many people cry at their desks or in conference rooms - Managers don't like to listen to you

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 130 Reviews

HackerAgency Reviews FAQs

HackerAgency has an overall rating of 2.3 out of 5, based on over 132 reviews left anonymously by employees. 30% of employees would recommend working at HackerAgency to a friend and 30% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, HackerAgency employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at HackerAgency. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

30% of HackerAgency employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated HackerAgency 2.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.1 for culture and values and 2.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at HackerAgency to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be management, senior leadership, culture.

Popular Careers with HackerAgency Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HackerAgency? Share Your Experiences

or

HackerAgency Photos

+ Add Photo
HackerAgency photo of: A big "Hello" from our Seattle-based HackerAgency leadership team!
HackerAgency photo of: HackerAgency welcomes our summer interns!
HackerAgency photo of: ATT Account Team at Halloween. Bunch of animals.
HackerAgency photo of: Love our Hawks!
HackerAgency photo of: The Hacks Softball Team
HackerAgency photo of: PlayGroup - Easter Egg Hunt (Prizes inside... gift cards!)

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

The Interpublic Group of Companies, Inc.FCB Worldwide, Inc.
See all affiliated companies