KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hair Cuttery

Engaged Employer

Hair Cuttery

Add a Review

Hair Cuttery Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 600 of over 612 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Hair Cuttery CEO Seth Gittlitz
Seth Gittlitz
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Build clientele and free education(in 48 reviews)

  • "All incentives are there to help motivate you to strengthen yourself as a stylist(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company relaly does not care about the stylists nd many mangers are completly ridiculous lots of drama(in 77 reviews)

  • "Base pay is minimum wage, most of my co workers didn't have benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hair Cuttery and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      I love my job

      Sep 4, 2021 - Hair Stylist in Pottstown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great guests, Busy, Great compensation, Set schedule, benefits, pto, education, 401k

      Cons

      Very busy, standing most of the day,

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Thank you for this amazing review! We’ll be sure to share your feedback with the team.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      New management has great postPandemic planning

      Jul 12, 2021 - Salon Leader/Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you already know how to work efficiently, this company uses metrics that are easy to understand and build upon and offers a very wide audience of new clientele. If you are new to the business, there is lots of development and programming as well as excellent classes, most on demand and you are paid for training.

      Cons

      Like any commission-based field, it’s difficult to gain traction or income in this profession in the current economy- unless you are laser focused on building. This company also pays management bonuses based on attaining sales plans and raises commission for stellar performance. Unlike what the previous commenter said about “less commission” there is NO penalty, backbar/COVID/cancellation fee or reduction of pay for underperforming. No surcharges or processing fees like Tippy are ever taken from pay or tips. I was able to buy my home this year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      We are s happy to read your comment. The pandemic has been a real challenge to most employers. For us, putting back to work over 5,000 stylists was one of the proudest moments, especially as a new company. Thank you for giving us a chance and being part of our team!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Crash Course in high volume and time management

      Aug 8, 2021 - Front Desk Recpetionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hair Cuttery is great place to get your feet wet as a new stylist. With a fast paced work environment, continued education and product knowledge, and opportunities for growth within the company, you will be prepared for whatever this industry has to throw at you throughout your career.

      Cons

      - Can be difficult to hit sales goals as clients are looking for low cost services and often purchase drug store hair styling products to upkeep their styles. - The menu is a la cart so sometimes people are shocked after all the services end up totaled up - but that can be fixed by telling the client up front and not just saying yes and figuring it out later. - Because of the high volume of walk-ins, it can be a very exhausting job. Long hours, few moments of resting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      ?

      Sep 15, 2021 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, able to make as much $ as you want, friendly workplace

      Cons

      Heard Heath benefits aren’t the greatest

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      We appreciate your honest feedback. We are a new company working to create the Best Job Ever for all of our associates. We value your feedback and will be sure to pass this along to our internal teams for consideration. Thank you again for your review and for being a valued HCFB associate.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Best Salon to work for in the Illinois

      Apr 22, 2021 - Salon Leader in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at HC in Illinois you have the best benefits I have ever seen in the beauty industry. Paid time off and it accumulates through out the year. Health, Dental, and many other benefits. Now lets talk about the pay ! I have been in the industry going on 11 years. I have yet to find a salon that can match the commission structure of HC. You can earn a six figure career with them BTC! With strong leaders that help mentor and coach you to your personal and professional goals. If you are a stylist looking for great pay, mentorship, free education and security in your income and career this is the place to be. There is open communication with your leaders, team, district leader, regional ect. Everyone cares about the sustainability of the companies future as well as each individual stylists future. HC started as a new company after the pandemic with new ownership by Seth. Seth is so genuine , honest, real, and has passion. These qualities are the same to say for the entire field team of Illinois that sets the building blocks for the salons in Illinois. District leaders like Yvonne Corwin will mentor salon leaders and assistants for business development and growth the grow salon business. SO if you are just a stylist or a stylist looking to grow in leadership Illinois HC Family of Brands is the place you should start your career.

      Cons

      Salons need to be remodeled to match the trendiness of their fab stylists and high end clients

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are excited to hear you are having a great experience with us. We are working to establish our own unique culture as evidenced by the changes we’ve made recently and we’re so glad that our associates see and feel the difference. Thanks again for sharing your feedback as we work to build the Best Job Ever! We’ll be sure to share your feedback with the team.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty good company

      Sep 9, 2021 - College Student in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours, nice people, good incentives

      Cons

      Never getting the weekend off, some co workers can be petty and catty and awful

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Thank you for your review. We are now under new management and are working to build a strong company with our associates at the center. Feedback like yours helps us in our efforts to do just that - thank you again for your transparency and honest feedback.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      only if i knew what this would turn into….

      Aug 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      made life long friends, PTO.

      Cons

      terrible upper management, over worked, understaffed, money hungry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Thank you for leaving an honest review. Our leadership team consists of new and veteran salon enthusiasts who are working together to create the #BestJobEver. We aim to provide all of our Salon Professionals with the training, professional development, technologies, compensation strategies and marketing support to keep Guests coming back. We’re disheartened to hear that hasn’t been your experience. We invite you to contact feedback@haircuttery to discuss your feedback in greater detail. It’s our responsibility, and our core value, to be proactive problem-solvers and do what’s right.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work short term

      Aug 16, 2021 - Hair Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay, benefits, growth opportunities and education for employees. A secure job due to the size of the company.

      Cons

      High turnover rate, fluctuation of business, no help bringing clients in other than annoying tactics. Too much push on product sales

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great to build

      Sep 16, 2021 - Salon Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn what you can. Remember, it is a job. A business transaction, not a family.

      Cons

      Soul sucking company that tells you how to manage your money when they are 10 million in debt.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Thank you for your review. We are now under new management and are working to build a strong company with our associates at the center. Feedback like yours helps us in our efforts to do just that - thank you again for your transparency and honest feedback.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was okay

      Sep 17, 2021 - Senior Hair Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My fellow stylist were awesome Fun environment

      Cons

      Management was none existent and did give much direction bad work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 600 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hair Cuttery Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hair Cuttery? Share Your Experiences

    or