KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hair Cuttery

Engaged Employer

Hair Cuttery

Add a Review

Hair Cuttery Employee Reviews about "free education"

Updated Nov 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 of over 625 reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Hair Cuttery CEO Seth Gittlitz
Seth Gittlitz
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Build clientele and free education(in 48 reviews)

  • "All incentives are there to help motivate you to strengthen yourself as a stylist(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company relaly does not care about the stylists nd many mangers are completly ridiculous lots of drama(in 77 reviews)

  • "Base pay is minimum wage, most of my co workers didn't have benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hair Cuttery and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "free education"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to grow your career

      Oct 10, 2020 - Manager in Glendora, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, 401K, PTO, flexible scheduling, free education, career opportunities and growth, great compensation.

      Cons

      must work holidays, nights, weekends.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Too many problems

      Nov 25, 2020 - Master Cosmetologist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Build clientele and free education

      Cons

      Rules change every day. Not enough staff for walkins

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. We're sorry you had a bad experience with Hair Cuttery. As you know, we are now under new management and are working to build a strong company.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Company does not care about employees

      Sep 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free education, great product range.

      Cons

      I worked at HC for three years. At the end they refused to pay me for a pre approved vacation that I had already taken. PTO to this company is completely imaginary. The company has recently been under new management by a new company, who also doesn’t care about their employees. They contacted me to come back to work for them and told me that my PTO would never be rectified. They also didn’t pay employees for the full amount of their check before lockdown. Still have never seen that money.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. We're sorry you had a bad experience with Hair Cuttery. The Hair Cuttery Family of Brands is a new company. We understand how we could be confused with the old company, but please know that we are two separate entities with new ownership.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Only love from the love company is love for corporate money

      Jan 22, 2020 - ASL in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free education. Walk in clients

      Cons

      Company doesn't care about the employees. They say they do but they do not do anything to show it. We get no time off to spend with family. They don't even give us off the 4th of july anymore. It's like slave labor at this point. All they care about is making a few bucks to line their pockets. Nothing is actually for us. If they gave us a work life balance and actually gave us time for our families than they could have more productive stylists. Stylists that actually care about their work but they have stylists that are alwys one foot out the door because it's just exhausting. Secondly, as asl *assistant manager * you're stuck doing all the work because the managers just leave it for you because they are too busy with their clients so you can never build yourselfand your doing all the work with no compensation for it. The asl bonus is barely anything while managers get a couple thousand dollars bonus. They offer free education but good luck trying to go because taking time off is almost impossible. They force you to go to workshops to train you how to sell more products for anywhere from 5 or more hours and you're never paid for them like they say you are.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. The Hair Cuttery Family of Brands is a new company. We understand how we could be confused with the old company, but please know that we are two separate entities with new ownership. We are working to build a strong company.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      HC really cares about their stylists!

      Nov 3, 2019 - Stylist in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free continuing education, benefits after 6 months, opportunities for advancement and book-building; strong chain of communication and good support from salon leaders and district leaders

      Cons

      Location/commute was inconvenient for me and not in the best neighborhood; low hourly base pay (hitting commission/retail targets not always guaranteed if slow)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. As you know, we are now under new management and are working to build a strong company.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So much work with little pay off

      Jul 24, 2019 - Salon Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gained lots of experience, lots of walk in clientele, free continuing education, free marketing

      Cons

      Disorganized, confusing for guests, values money over people

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Too many stylist not enough customers!

      Jun 12, 2019 - Sales Associate/Keyholder in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Walk-ins. Unlimited commission (your retail sales better be high) if not don’t expect a % increase there. Free education. Experience for those who are new to the field.

      Cons

      You can not make money when there are too many other stylist on the floor and it is not busy. Over staffing is a major problem! This is a result of district leaders who are never there and only look and care about numbers not their employees. Retail is expensive, especially for those who already penny pinch to get their hair done. But again you are expected to sale it and if not your paycheck reflects.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Stylist

      Jun 10, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of walk-ins and free education

      Cons

      As an employee there isn't any loyalty

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company to work for!!

      Feb 28, 2019 - ASL 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited commission ,free Education and flexible schedules

      Cons

      Should Offer Health Insurance benefits not just supplemental

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Thanks for the 5-star review! It means a lot to us that after twelve years with us you still love being a part of the HC team. As an Assistant Salon Leader, you play a key role in making us a great company to work for - thank you for all that you do! Thanks for the advice to leadership - each year we review the benefits and try to make them a bit better...we will continue to do what we can in this area. Again, thanks for being a part of the Hair Cuttery & Ratner family!

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Salon leader

      Oct 6, 2018 - Salon Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great for just starting out or relocating Plenty of opportunity to build a clientele Great vision and dental benefits Free Continuing education Stylist app to track ur goals and paycheck Leadership is trained to help the stylists succeed

      Cons

      The medical benefits are supplementary preventive care benefits. If you or your family gets sick, breaks a bone, or has a baby... coverage is very little from an actually major medical plan. Salon leader pay is base pay plus 20-25% commission.. larger salons the leader gets paid a little more salary and less commission. Smaller salons less base with more commission.. which kinda evens itself out... $11.50-$15 an hour it seems If your understaffed, your work life balance can suffer. Felt like on call 24/7 Dls seemed very overworked

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. Ditto to all of the pros!!! We truly do review our medical offerings each year - it is our desire to offer more and at some point we are hopeful that we will be able to. From the outside looking in, we totally get that it appears that we are not offering much but what goes into offering benefits is more complex than it appears on the surface and this is not the forum to discuss the ins and outs of that...but please know that we hear you and we are doing what we can to make improvements. We also hear you about adjusting the hours based on the demographics and locations - we have made some strides in this area but we also have to be mindful of and adhere to shopping center and mall requirements...often we must follow the operating hours of the mall or center vs. being able to adjust our hours outside of the overarching operating hours. Thanks again - we wish you continued success!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hair Cuttery Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hair Cuttery? Share Your Experiences

    or