KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hair Cuttery

Engaged Employer

Hair Cuttery

Add a Review

Hair Cuttery Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Jul 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 625 reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Hair Cuttery CEO Seth Gittlitz
Seth Gittlitz
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Build clientele and free education(in 48 reviews)

  • "All incentives are there to help motivate you to strengthen yourself as a stylist(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company relaly does not care about the stylists nd many mangers are completly ridiculous lots of drama(in 77 reviews)

  • "Base pay is minimum wage, most of my co workers didn't have benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hair Cuttery and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company

      Mar 4, 2019 - Hair Stylist in Cherry Hill, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has great education classes offered for free

      Cons

      You get paid commission and minimum wage if you don’t pull in enough clients

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Hey there New Jersey! Thanks for your kind words - we are happy that we are able to offer free cutting-edge classes...with the addition of our new color line, this should increase your ability to offer WOW service and the latest styles to your guest! We are proud to be able to offer great commission, but just in case our salon professionals do not make commission, we will pay minimum wage - this way, even on your slow days you are receiving compensation! But naturally the goal is to help our salon professionals stay in commission so that you can earn unlimited commission! Thanks for being a long term salon professional with us - we appreciate you and all that you do!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Low Pay, High Expectations

      Jul 2, 2020 - Hair Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy application process, many locations

      Cons

      Base pay is minimum wage, most of my co workers didn't have benefits.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. As you know, we are now under new management and are working to build a strong company.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unattainable Goals

      Aug 6, 2019 - Salon Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a really difficult time coming up with a pro ... they have a wonderful educator..

      Cons

      No incentives, Dennis rather is a billionaire and they pay Managers minimum wage while trying to maintain impossible budgets with no cameras and constant undercharging and constant stealing. No room for growth and total babysitting for your stylist who don’t give a damn about hair...

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I liked my co workers

      Sep 25, 2019 - Sales Associate - Stylist in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount on services, flexible hours, benefits, tip money

      Cons

      The hourly pay is low minimum wage, sometimes the work can be back breaking if you have other stylist that can not work fast and don't care about helping. Sometimes people do not tip, they really push retail sale

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      This company gave workers very little pay and treated workers unfairly

      Aug 6, 2014 - Hair Stylist in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are a manager or district manager, you will have complete control of every worker

      Cons

      I worked almost six months, and after one month my manager didn't allow me to sign in(my shift is from 9-5 or 5-9) until I received my first customer. She tried to pay only 45% of my total service fees. My schedule was 40 hours a week, but some weeks I made less than the minimum wage per hour. Some slow weeks, my manager tried to edit my hours from 40 to 32 hours and then payed only 45% commission. My manager cheated me out of 8x$7.25 a week. For several weeks, more than 10 weeks, I received less than the minimum wage. My manager and the district manager edited my work hours on the computer so that they could pay me less. When I confronted my manager, she told me that the district manager didn't want to pay me my proper wage because if they paid more than 45% commission(minimum wage times hour is more than the commission) they have to pay the workers from the store budget. My district manager and my store manager has worked for many years for this company and so they know the ways to cheat the workers out of their pay. Many hair cutteries around area also cheat workers out of pay and are paying illegal salaries. I'm glad that I no longer work for this company.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      They don't pay me enough for this... Ish.

      Sep 4, 2014 - Receptionist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm a receptionist so some of these are observed. It's a people oriented job! Discounts on hair products and services! If you get a busy salon you can get a lot of experience for new clients! You can make a few good friends and connection with some of your clients and coworkers! You can do you hair during business hours! Hang out with your own clients under the dryer! (sarcasm)

      Cons

      Minimum wage with tips unless you make a service quota. As a receptionist, that means you make minimum wage period. This quota makes the salon completely cutthroat, you either have a clique or a partner in crime or you go it alone. Again quota sparks deep drama, nobody is excluded especially the receptionists. No team effort. I have seen people steal tips off stations, and management has done nothing. No consequences for discrimination, stylists are able to refuse certain clients or conveniently wander off Management can be hands off, and will ignore issues as long as salon goals are met.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      To the director of associate relations

      Jun 5, 2015 - Hair Stylist in Phila, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My wonderful clientele ..... I would love to add more to this section

      Cons

      I have a wonderful clientele which is why I am still here ..I have never been paid for a mandatory meeting if you are referring to the guaranteed minimum wage rate it wouldn't apply to someone with a ROP of over 40 dollars an hour because in a 2 week period the only thing that would happen if I clocked in the meeting hours it would lower my ROP .So please let me know how to get extra money in my paycheck for attending a mandatory meeting . Attending a 6 hour meeting 45 minutes away from home and paying a baby sitter is a hardship ....... You could provide this information over the internet in slide form to make it easier for us .It is not always necessary to bring everyone together. No company is perfect and there will always be employees who are unsatisfied but the stylists are the base of this company without us there would be no company , Most of the reviews on this site are terrible . Happy employees will perform better ,work harder ,and most importantly will not leave . Over the years I have seen many stylists leave and take their clients with them . Listen to the reviews on this site and make things better it will create success. all around ....

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Hi Philly Stylist, first let me say congratulations on 10 successful years with Hair Cuttery! I must admit that I'm a little sad that after ten successful years that you would only give us one star, especially considering that your achievement of a $40/hr ROP is testament to how great you are with your clients as well as Ratner's commitment to provide all Stylist the opportunity to not only earn a good living but a great living. As you know, our pay plan is not commission-only like you may find in many private salons. Nor do we limit the pay for our Stylists by paying hourly-only, which you may find in larger chains. Ratner is committed to always paying Stylists the greater of either commission pay or hourly. Please know that we do aim to have only one mandatory meeting per year. For each of these meetings, all Stylists receive credit for the hours. Given your level of productivity, you are in the fortunate position of routinely being paid in commission, which is greater than your pay would be if it were hourly. I am sorry that you feel these meetings do not benefit you but the meetings are critical to the Stylist and the companies success - through these meetings we are able to share policy updates, address concerns, communicate changes- basically all things that contribute to the continued health and success of the company - which ultimately does put more money in your paycheck. You are correct that happy employees perform better, work harder, and stay with the company - just as you have done for the past ten years. Without valued Stylists like yourself, there would be no business but on the flip side of that without a strong business model that allows for a tiny fraction of profit, consistent and fair policies, insurance, PTO, education, career growth, etc. there would be no business to provide you an income - so both sides need the other to be successful. We take the comments on this site very seriously; and to the degree that we can we investigate each concern; however, the reviews (good or not so good) are only a snapshot of who we are and what we represent. Our commitment and love for our Stylists goes beyond generous compensation and free education, I think that we often forget the good that we do everyday via the Hope Fund Grant, and fund raisers such as cut-a-thons, that directly benefit our Stylists in need. I would love to chat with you live to get a better understanding of your concerns - simply reach out to the home office and ask for me. Wishing you another successful ten years!

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stylist

      Oct 2, 2018 - Hair Stylist in Wellington, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salon is beautiful and updated.

      Cons

      They say they pay hourly. This is true if you like minimum wage. As you are building a clientele thats what you get. But if you are in a slow location. They will blame you . 6 years ago no matter what salon you we're at you made money. Things have changed and all of us are scared to death to tell the higher ups. How dissatisfied we really are. We have lost a lot of great styles because of it.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Hi there! I feel your emotion and despite not recommending us, it appears you are still with us - which means there is hope to show you that we are for you and all the salon professionals that work for us! We pay the greater of unlimited commission or if things are slow, we do pay an hourly rate to ensure that on those slow days all of our salon professionals are earning a wage...this is much better than a either or situation where you only get paid by commission or you only get paid hourly. We encourage all salon professionals to offer service that results in their guest coming back - this contributes to your bottom line and increases your opportunity to earn unlimited commission!

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Hairstylist

      Oct 11, 2015 -  in Dorchester, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, energetic, entry level job with lots of oppotunities and support for career development from company.

      Cons

      You work long hrs with a low paying salary. It's minimum wage with commission. You must sell their products.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Fun, energetic, lots of opportunity and support for career development - yes!, that's us! Thanks for the nice shout out about the pros of working for HC. As you build your book, you will find that your pay will increase. We have the greater of a hourly rate or commission to ensure that even on your slow days that you are receiving some form of compensation...this approach really is the best of both worlds; if you were working only commission, on slow days you may not do well financially...on the flip side if you were only being paid hourly, independent of the clients you see or the service that they receive you would not have the ability to impact or increase your pay as you would get the same hourly rate. We clearly understand that this is a skilled profession (our founders are both licensed Stylists) that is why we offer a compensation plan that takes into consideration hourly and commission pay. We sincerely want every hour that you work for us to count as well as help you meet your financial goals - please chat with your SL on ways to help build your book and increase your pay! Thanks for all that you do!

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Meh...they talk a big game

      Aug 24, 2017 - Stylist in Exton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to get in. Good for recent grads

      Cons

      Overstaffed Was promised $10/hr and even brought it up to my manager who assured me that seeing minimum wage on my profile page was just they way they do it but I WOULD get $10. Never happened. Applied for one store. Was made to work at two 'temporarily'. Once the store I made more money at hired another employee was forced to work at only the other. Totally bs, can't get ahold of anyone on help lines.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hair Cuttery Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hair Cuttery? Share Your Experiences

    or