KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hair Cuttery

Engaged Employer

Hair Cuttery

Add a Review

Hair Cuttery Employee Reviews about "stylists"

Updated Jun 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 625 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Hair Cuttery CEO Seth Gittlitz
Seth Gittlitz
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Build clientele and free education(in 48 reviews)

  • "All incentives are there to help motivate you to strengthen yourself as a stylist(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company relaly does not care about the stylists nd many mangers are completly ridiculous lots of drama(in 77 reviews)

  • "Base pay is minimum wage, most of my co workers didn't have benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hair Cuttery and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "stylists"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Stylist

      Aug 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Walk ins available to take

      Cons

      Competitive pay by the other stylists

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Director of Associate Relations

      Thanks for leaving a review! From your cons remark, it sounds like you may be fairly new - in time you will be able to increase your pay rate as your request rate goes up. Thanks for being a part of the team, we look forward to you having a long career with us!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overpromise and underdeliver

      Apr 6, 2020 - MultiUnit Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was better than being unemployed.

      Cons

      DM only came to my location 3 times in the 16 months I was there...total. You are left to fend for yourself. Tou get a lot of lip service with no real support. Then when they aren't getting the results they want, you're thrown under the bus as they say. Very conniving, and no integrity whatsoever. They had no problem with me working 7 days a week, yet they wanted me to go out and recruit. Um how? I was so understaffed that it was usually me and 1 other stylist. To date, they were only able to fill 1 of the locations for management. They told all salon managers they were salary when they work 40+ hours, but if they worked less than 40, hours would be docked. If you worked less than 40 hours, they'd take it from your PTO, so you would lose it I was told from Home office that Salon Leaders get paid salary for 80 hours.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. The Hair Cuttery Family of Brands is a new company. We understand how we could be confused with the old company, but please know that we are two separate entities with new ownership. We are working to build a strong company.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sell Sell Sell

      Sep 3, 2019 - Hair Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. Compare this place to ANY OTHER salon and you literally can’t find one reason they are better.

      Cons

      I think a disclosure should be made to the public about commission. They should know that we get paid Less money if we don’t sell them enough product. Stop saying we’re only supposed to educate them! If we were Just educating them, why is our Pay based on retail sales? So are we a salon that offers services or a retail store? You keep referencing “Retail sales and retail hours”. I didn’t go to beauty school to work retail! Absolutely Zero work life balance and upper management could care less. As long as they are all off on holidays, who cares about the stylists working. Pure Greed! Why can’t you cough up some of your money and give us decent health insurance instead of a “discount plan”? Is that all we are worth? Bare minimum required by law?

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place for stylists just out of school

      Jun 30, 2020 - Hairstylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You learn a varierty of diffrent techniques

      Cons

      The company relaly does not care about the stylists nd many mangers are completly ridiculous lots of drama

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. We're sorry you had a bad experience with Hair Cuttery. As you know, we are now under new management and are working to build a strong company.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Awful pay and hard work

      Oct 6, 2019 - Hairstylist in West Berlin, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the clients and camaraderie of coworks..free educational classes

      Cons

      There are many cons..firstly if its busy management doesnt want you to take any breaks..i worked at a salon in south jersey and there would be many times i would be cutting hair and doing color for 6 hours straight! When i wanted to sit down for few minutes they would come back to notify that i needed to get up and do clients..they also dont want you to take lunch which is illegal..also they require 'mandatory' work meetings as well as 8 hour meetings with pep talks on how to bring in more money and not get paid for them..the health insurance doesnt cover much..they have recently cut the pay and most of the pay is based on how much retail is sold..overall it was a very cheap company whom i would never recommend to anyone..i do feel its a good fit for a new stylist to get experience due to the high volume of clients but i dont feel it is a company for anyone to have a great paying future at

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I wish I could give a 0 star review

      Apr 4, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is not one pro I can think of.

      Cons

      Terrible company. They only care about making them more money. The pay isn’t worth it. I heard today that the company is withholding all of the stylist scheduled pay checks, for money they have already earned, during the mandated sit downs. It’s disgusting. With the amount of money they make a lot of stylist live pay check to pay check, the company is taking food out of their stylist mouths, from money the stylist has already earned.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. The Hair Cuttery Family of Brands is a new company. We understand how we could be confused with the old company, but please know that we are two separate entities with new ownership. We are working to build a strong company.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Only love from the love company is love for corporate money

      Jan 22, 2020 - ASL in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free education. Walk in clients

      Cons

      Company doesn't care about the employees. They say they do but they do not do anything to show it. We get no time off to spend with family. They don't even give us off the 4th of july anymore. It's like slave labor at this point. All they care about is making a few bucks to line their pockets. Nothing is actually for us. If they gave us a work life balance and actually gave us time for our families than they could have more productive stylists. Stylists that actually care about their work but they have stylists that are alwys one foot out the door because it's just exhausting. Secondly, as asl *assistant manager * you're stuck doing all the work because the managers just leave it for you because they are too busy with their clients so you can never build yourselfand your doing all the work with no compensation for it. The asl bonus is barely anything while managers get a couple thousand dollars bonus. They offer free education but good luck trying to go because taking time off is almost impossible. They force you to go to workshops to train you how to sell more products for anywhere from 5 or more hours and you're never paid for them like they say you are.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Hair Cuttery Response

      Employer Brand and Recruiting Marketing Leader

      Thank you for your review. The Hair Cuttery Family of Brands is a new company. We understand how we could be confused with the old company, but please know that we are two separate entities with new ownership. We are working to build a strong company.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Too many stylist not enough customers!

      Jun 12, 2019 - Sales Associate/Keyholder in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Walk-ins. Unlimited commission (your retail sales better be high) if not don’t expect a % increase there. Free education. Experience for those who are new to the field.

      Cons

      You can not make money when there are too many other stylist on the floor and it is not busy. Over staffing is a major problem! This is a result of district leaders who are never there and only look and care about numbers not their employees. Retail is expensive, especially for those who already penny pinch to get their hair done. But again you are expected to sale it and if not your paycheck reflects.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unattainable Goals

      Aug 6, 2019 - Salon Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a really difficult time coming up with a pro ... they have a wonderful educator..

      Cons

      No incentives, Dennis rather is a billionaire and they pay Managers minimum wage while trying to maintain impossible budgets with no cameras and constant undercharging and constant stealing. No room for growth and total babysitting for your stylist who don’t give a damn about hair...

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I liked my co workers

      Sep 25, 2019 - Sales Associate - Stylist in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount on services, flexible hours, benefits, tip money

      Cons

      The hourly pay is low minimum wage, sometimes the work can be back breaking if you have other stylist that can not work fast and don't care about helping. Sometimes people do not tip, they really push retail sale

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hair Cuttery Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hair Cuttery? Share Your Experiences

    or