Hajoca Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Hajoca Corporation Reviews

Updated 2 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Hajoca Corporation CEO Rick Fantham (no image)
Rick Fantham
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Manager CONTROLS profit sharing and holds it over your head(in 19 reviews)

  • "Growth opportunities for profit center team members is minimal(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Development Program 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work can be very rewarding. Opportunities to build strong relationships with customers and vendors. Profit sharing can be life changing. You are compensated fairly for the work you do.

    Cons

    Very Competitive Markets, Lack Of Trust between Legacy Teammates and Management Trainees. Some Profit Centers are outdated.

    Hajoca Corporation2019-07-11
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    everything just loved this place

    Cons

    nothing work with the best and forget the rest

    Hajoca Corporation2019-08-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid if woman or minority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Showroom Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours, benefits, not much else

    Cons

    Pay, sexist and racist coworkers, many plumbers won't talk to you because you are a woman.

    Advice to Management

    Actually manage everything including the showroom, it would be nice to actually get feedback instead of being ignored. Also maybe not wait until 2 years into someone's hiring to complain they don't have enough system training when we had been asking since I was hired for it. Let's punish the workers who insist on calling the black ups driver boy. It's a bunch of white men protecting white men.

    Hajoca Corporation2019-07-25
  4. "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 

    I worked at Hajoca Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Branch atmosphere was nice for healthy competition

    Cons

    Early work hours and weekends on inventory

    Hajoca Corporation2019-07-08
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a Great work life balance and good benefits

    Cons

    there is a disconnect between corporate and profit centers

    Hajoca Corporation2019-07-16
  6. "Overall good company with pros of being privately owned and the cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flat hierarchy, branches have the power to do what they want. I learned alot about the industry and supply chain operations in general. I feel like I had more opportunity to learn and get promoted here then at a larger corporation. The work environment was very laid back, but almost too much. Yearly profit sharing. Employee discounts. Branches able to adapt to regional changes quicker than top heavy corporations.

    Cons

    flat hierarchy, branches have the power to do what they want. Since there are hardly any corporate standards for how a branch conducts itself the branches take on the personality of their managers and sometimes that can be a bad thing. My branch manager never showed up to work until 11am, frequently went on golf and lunch outings, dipped in the office and spit puddles of dip on the warehouse floors. Yelling... profanity at vendors was common practice and it created kind of an uncomfortable hostile environment. I was actually coached to jump down people's throats if they made a mistake which is not my management style at all. Having a laid back atmosphere with no rules is nice sometimes, but when you need to get work done to meet deadlines and it's time to put the big boy shorts on it's hard not to lose drive when the environment you work in is so unprofessional and your leaders are not even out of bed yet. So, it all depends on your branch manager really. You might get a professional one you might not. And the profit sharing is nice, but it is more of a disappointment when you realize half of it is taken by taxes because it is a "bonus". I would rather have that money built into my salary. After gaining experience here I realized that I could actually take home more money at other places that paid a smaller total income, but did not include a heavily taxed bonus.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know there were a lot of cons, but this is actually the best job I've ever had. I wish that I had started out my career here. I would have gained much more experience early on. That being said every business has its drawbacks and this place is no exception. My only advice is to keep a closer ear to the streets as to how professionally your offices are being ran. There's a lot more productivity to be had out there.

    Hajoca Corporation2019-07-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Company That Cares About Its Teammates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy Great Culture Work-Life Balance Company Invests in Employee Development Accessible Leadership

    Cons

    If you are someone that likes a lot of oversight, this is not the place for you; help and training are always available, but teammates are expected to be resourceful, think critically, and solve problems.

    Hajoca Corporation2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Technology Administrator in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hajoca Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company values team members, working hard, kindness, and ethics. They provide the opportunity to create your own future and continuously learn. It is a rare combination of entrepreneur spirit and teamwork. The CEO is wonderful and spends most of his time teaching, coaching, training, and supporting team members.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons, but this company is very flat and focused on the many profit centers, so some things may take longer or require consensus than a typical tops-down corporate hierarchy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path of updating technology and modernizing systems. This reaps benefits that go beyond immediate efficiencies. Continue to provide learning opportunities for all team members, as this increases job satisfaction. Seek new ideas from the new college graduates and younger team members for ideas to generate excitement in the next generation for our business.

    Hajoca Corporation2019-06-12
  9. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Training opportunities.

    Cons

    If you have a bad center manager, things get rough.

    Hajoca Corporation2019-05-23
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Development Program in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hajoca Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    family environment. Helpful people. Solid Management

    Cons

    Can be slow to fix problems and keep employees updated

    Hajoca Corporation2019-05-17
Found 161 reviews