Halcon Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

Halcon Resources Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Halcon Resources CEO Floyd C. Wilson  (no image)
Floyd C. Wilson
6 Ratings
  1. "good one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 

    I worked at Halcon Resources

    Pros

    good env for new comer.

    Cons

    not really cons in my experiences.

    Halcon Resources2017-05-12
  2. "Was fun work environment until it wasn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AP in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    2013 thru 2015 was great. Then friends and coworkers started getting laid off and losing good ppl without replacing them is hard to overcome for the wrest of the staff.

    Cons

    Poor management in AP Supervisor role as it became a revolving door.

    Halcon Resources2019-08-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No structure and alot of waste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Halcon Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay, 401k match, bonuses, and small company size.

    Cons

    Lack of structure, low technology, and poor communication and unfriendly culture.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve technology and add online mapping software.

    Halcon Resources2019-02-11
  4. "Production Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is commensurate with experience. They pay pretty well.

    Cons

    They have No employee development plans.

    Advice to Management

    More Training and Succession Planning

    Halcon Resources2018-07-18
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Halcon Resources

    Pros

    Challenging work, many opportunities to grow experience.

    Cons

    No real issues here, one must apply themselves.

    Halcon Resources2018-07-30
  6. "Lease Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Halcon Resources full-time

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    can't complain about much here

    Halcon Resources2017-06-07
  7. "Halcon Resources - Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time

    Pros

    The company hires lots of good people. Many seem to be young and eager. Its makes for a pleasant working experience Good Benefits.

    Cons

    The Company is management top heavy. The company lacks specific direction. Located in Huston, the city is too often nightmare to live in.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't presume to give advice to people with so much more Oil and Gas experience than I. But it does seem to me that chasing after one loan to pay another is a recipe for disaster.

    Halcon Resources2016-07-15
  8. "Halcon in distress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Accounting Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices high above Houston.

    Cons

    Company is in severe financial jeopardy. Rigid culture.

    Halcon Resources2015-12-16
  9. "Steer clear of this management group."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worker Bee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Halcon Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are (and were) some really solid, knowledgable, helpful, honest and personable people here that are wonderful to work with.

    Cons

    Management and HR are dishonest and completely inept. The system seems to operate within a closed loop, which makes it impossible to approach management, HR or execs in Houston with concerns or to suggest improvements or changes.

    Advice to Management

    Extremely disappointed with the dishonest manner in which the company has presented itself in the hiring process and to potential investors. The only advise I can offer is for the whole of management to resign and take their favorites along with them.

    Halcon Resources2015-12-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minot, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources

    Pros

    Good Money and easy work. Good conditions, care about safety.

    Cons

    Poor Management, lack of control and loosing money! Pay attention to your people in the field, stop listening to young inexperienced Engineers.

    Halcon Resources2015-05-22
Found 15 reviews