Halcon Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

Halcon Resources Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Halcon Resources Chairman & CEO Floyd C. Wilson  (no image)
Floyd C. Wilson
6 Ratings
  1. "good one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 

    I worked at Halcon Resources

    Pros

    good env for new comer.

    Cons

    not really cons in my experiences.

    Halcon Resources2017-05-12
  2. "A breath of fresh air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operations in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halcon Resources for more than a year

    Pros

    The attitude amongst the people here is an undeniable perk of the time I've spent here. The people are friendly to each other, with open lines of communication between different departments; it feels as though we are all on the same team.

    Cons

    They are a smaller company in the scheme of things and they will be more affected by the cyclical nature of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    You get the most out of your employees because they WANT to work for you. Please try to keep that feeling going.

    Halcon Resources2015-01-21
  3. "love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources

    Pros

    advancement opportunities at halcon resources

    Cons

    there are no cons to this job environment

    Halcon Resources2013-12-11
  4. "Production Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is commensurate with experience. They pay pretty well.

    Cons

    They have No employee development plans.

    Advice to Management

    More Training and Succession Planning

    Halcon Resources2018-07-18
  5. "Lease Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Halcon Resources full-time

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    can't complain about much here

    Halcon Resources2017-06-07
  6. "Good company with good communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time

    Pros

    I worked for a contractor who reported to Halcon, but all of my interaction with the Halcon executives was great. Easy communication, quick answers, freedom to do my work

    Cons

    Not really any cons to speak of! As I mentioned, because I was a contractor, I was not in the Halcon offices, but worked with them remotely.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add here.

    Halcon Resources2016-09-14
  7. "Was fun work environment until it wasn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AP in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    2013 thru 2015 was great. Then friends and coworkers started getting laid off and losing good ppl without replacing them is hard to overcome for the wrest of the staff.

    Cons

    Poor management in AP Supervisor role as it became a revolving door.

    Halcon Resources2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "No structure and alot of waste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Halcon Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay, 401k match, bonuses, and small company size.

    Cons

    Lack of structure, low technology, and poor communication and unfriendly culture.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve technology and add online mapping software.

    Halcon Resources2019-02-11
  9. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Halcon Resources

    Pros

    Challenging work, many opportunities to grow experience.

    Cons

    No real issues here, one must apply themselves.

    Halcon Resources2018-07-30
  10. "Halcon Resources - Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Halcon Resources full-time

    Pros

    The company hires lots of good people. Many seem to be young and eager. Its makes for a pleasant working experience Good Benefits.

    Cons

    The Company is management top heavy. The company lacks specific direction. Located in Huston, the city is too often nightmare to live in.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't presume to give advice to people with so much more Oil and Gas experience than I. But it does seem to me that chasing after one loan to pay another is a recipe for disaster.

    Halcon Resources2016-07-15
Found 15 reviews