Halloween City Reviews | Glassdoor

Halloween City Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Gerald C. (Gerry) Rittenberg
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "I absolutely LOVED working here it was a very fun environment and easy work(in 13 reviews)

  • "It's honestly a lot of fun to work here(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The physical labor of these tasks is not worth the minimum wage offered regardless of prior customer service experience(in 9 reviews)

  • "Poor scheduling, low pay for effort given(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I had a lot of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Halloween City part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It’s a good job 😁

    Cons

    It’s seasonal so uh it’s only 3 months

    Halloween City2018-11-27
  2. "Hired a lot of people so I only got to work 10 hours a week after Halloween. During Halloween I got 20+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Halloween City

      Pros

      Friendly staff and customers, it’s a fun place to work

      Cons

      You don’t get a lot of hours

      Advice to Management

      Don’t hire so many people

      Halloween City2019-03-14
    • "Fun place to work, low wages temporary job only."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Southgate, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Halloween City part-time

      Pros

      People I worked with were great! Management was great. Hours, while not always many, schedule wasn't bad. Fun, laid back place to work.

      Cons

      Manager and assistant managers were over-worked and stressed. They are good people who put a lot of effort into what they and got very little pay. Minimum wage for cashiers and other associates. No job security because store is only during Halloween.

      Advice to Management

      None, really. You were great =D

      Halloween City2019-02-27
    • "Halloween club"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cashier in La Mirada, CA

        I have been working at Halloween City part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        A lot of hours Get paid well

        Cons

        Not much order Too many people

        Halloween City2019-02-11
      • "Spoooooktakular!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Vernon Hills, IL
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Halloween City full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The season and most of the customers were incredibly fun. Met a great bunch of associates. Upper management (unlike at the parent company Party City) lets you do your thing for the most part as long as you're achieving financial results.

        Cons

        First and foremost, it's only temporary. Would've LOVED to have had this exact job all year long, but alas, that isn't possible.

        Advice to Management

        Make Party City more like Halloween City. At HC, you give your managers the wide open space to be creative in their pursuit of customer satisfaction and sales. At PC, you seem to hold management hostage via rules that don't work and an extremely hostile atmosphere. You're missing a HUGE opportunity by not allowing to happen at PC what goes on at HC.

        Halloween City2019-01-17
      • "Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Temporary Sales Associate in Murfreesboro, TN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Halloween City part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Great people to work with

        Cons

        Poor scheduling, low pay for effort given

        Halloween City2018-12-23
      • "Merchandise manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Halloween City full-time

        Pros

        Fun environment to work and learn

        Cons

        Long hours, breaking down the store OS awful

        Halloween City2018-11-19
      • "Assisting Halloween"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Halloween City full-time

        Pros

        HALLOWEEN its a lot of fun. of course we have to take care of business but its great helping customers find what they need to make their halloween great.

        Cons

        Its a seasonal job, there is no job security.

        Halloween City2018-10-29
      • "Part time sales associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Halloween City part-time

        Pros

        BEST JOB EVER! I loved working here. Coworkers were like a family, eveeyone was really laid back and chill to work with, never a stressful environment and really enjoyed building plan o grams and assembling isles.

        Cons

        It was seasonal, didn't get to do everything the position offered due to it being seasonal

        Halloween City2018-10-24
      • "Good Seasonal Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Tualatin, OR
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Halloween City part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        -Great environment -Nonstressful (they will train you and won't push you out of your boundaries) -Satisfying (Making things orderly and helping customers is nice)

        Cons

        -Not always the issue, but I did not get very many hours -Not the best pay, but it's a lax job

        Halloween City2018-10-16
      Found 161 reviews