Hamburg Sud North America Reviews | Glassdoor

Hamburg Sud North America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
Arnt Vespermann
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time

    Pros

    I think Hamburg Sud is a good place to work. This professional type of environment is a great way to gain experience. I am able to achieve work life balance with only staying late a couple of times .This is a worldwide company, so you get to speak to people at our different locations around the world. The benefits are on par with many other companies. Seems like the company is growing with onboarding of new employees.

    Cons

    The office is very quiet. Not too much noise. Everybody is very serious and there is no room for error on work.

    Advice to Management

    I think there should be formal reviews more than once a year. I never know how I am doing until a year later since my manager isn't vocal about performance.

    Hamburg Sud North America2017-08-12
  2. "Red flags"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamburg Sud North America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good health care, easy to get a job, decent work life balance.

    Cons

    No CRM, paper checks, support staff attire is business formal. Authoritarian Management treats employees as liabilities. Software implementation lacks change management strategies resulting in extreme silos and inefficiencies. Culture needs improvement on accountability, team work and professionalism.

    Advice to Management

    You could try consultants, leadership classes and internal feedback loops.

    Hamburg Sud North America2019-02-26
  3. "Finance and Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time

    Pros

    good team dynamics, overall nice co-workers, reasonable salary, good locations and good reputation in industry, relatively good work life balance

    Cons

    lack training opportunities, poor corporate office design, lack of flexiblilty in workplace arrangement

    Hamburg Sud North America2018-06-04
  4. "Documentation Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Documentation Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of OT, relax office and management is ok as long as you do your job.

    Cons

    Insurance is very high but is with all industries. Company just merg with another company and layoff will be coming soon.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hamburg Sud North America2018-03-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamburg Sud North America full-time

    Pros

    Middle Managment/ Senior Managment is strong. Low stress environment.

    Cons

    Outdated HR policies and low pay for entry level positions.

    Advice to Management

    If you aren't going to offer competitive pay then you should compensate by improving HR policies. Offer flexible work hours/improve work-life balance and relaxed dress code.

    Hamburg Sud North America2018-02-05
  6. "Fine place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamburg Sud North America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Never had a problem here. Had a good manager, did my work and went home. I got paid well and the benefits were decent too. I didn't really have too much to complain about. This company really focuses on future development of their employees. Although did not take advantage of it, they have 100% credit reimbursement program. There are three schools nearby too to get a MBA. You basically can get another degree to for...

    Show More

    Cons

    The commute stinks, but that is my personal choice to live far away.

    Hamburg Sud North America2017-06-18
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Employees work as a great team HR is very resourceful ,helpful to employees and always available when needed ( especially Shari R ) Management is helpful and also encourages growth with in the company

    Cons

    Since my employment with HamburgSud I haven't had any work issues and have been a very productive employee.

    Advice to Management

    Continue you the good job in giving opportunities to grow with in the company

    Hamburg Sud North America2017-06-19
  8. "Nice Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Large Company working like a small mom and pop. The Company always cared about the employees. celebrated milestones of their work experience and contributions. Benefits are great, HR helpful when needed. Showed me how to develop my skills through seeing training or pursuing my Masters.

    Cons

    Upper Management has no clue in reference to the day to day operations and amount of work and how long something takes to get completed.

    Advice to Management

    Need to review processes and GLOBE will continue to destroy the Company!

    Hamburg Sud North America2017-05-16
  9. "Business Systems Analyst Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Travel, Freedom to handle task your own way, Great Co-Workers, Office location

    Cons

    Glass Ceiling, No upward moment, Lackluster Bonuses, minimum pay increases

    Hamburg Sud North America2017-05-13
  10. "Good company... but poor, outdated HR management is the elephant in the living room."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hamburg Sud North America full-time

    Pros

    Its great to work with passionate people who love what they do...that's apparent with Maritime professionals.

    Cons

    HR dept is truly toxic. There is nothing confidential between the three core lifers who are all just waiting for retirement, an exit package or their next cigarette break. They aren't helpful, or professional, they arent over worked...their boss makes everything complicated. Whatever positive reviews are posted about this department, clearly come from the department itself.

    Advice to Management

    Doesn't matter, most of the stagnant will receive a nice little package from Maersk sooner than later.

    Hamburg Sud North America2017-03-22
Found 33 reviews