Hamleys Reviews | Glassdoor

Hamleys Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Hamleys CEO Ralph Cunningham
Ralph Cunningham
12 Ratings
  1. "Reasonable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hamleys Helper in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff - The team definitely make the job worth it. Management - Very supportive with any situation a staff member may have and all are approachable also don't mind helping staff members with any of their tasks. Pay - Good hourly rate (currently 8.25/hr) Breaks - Short but paid.

    Cons

    Hours - If you are studying during the week, the maximum contract that will be available to you is 8hr/week with any overtime (if available) on days off. Shift Allocation - instead of increasing contracts where it is clear that a staff member can meet the requirements of said contract, Hamleys will hire loads of new starts to fill the role instead which is frustrating when the basic common wage for a helper is 8....25/hr (8hr/week). if you are lucky you will get 6hr shifts occasionally. Progression - Although there are levels that can be increased within each role (ability to cash up, complete returns, price change etc) there are very few if any proper progression opportunities available.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of hiring loads of new starts, allocate the hours to people who need them.

    Hamleys2019-09-17
  2. "Great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Helper in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, play with toys all day Fun environment Some good management

    Cons

    Bad management, very militant , feel like I’m in army.

    Hamleys2019-09-16
  3. "Fun place to work when the managers allow it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hamleys Helper 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent training provided and always supported. Good Pay. Fair hours

    Cons

    If a manager is in a bad mood the whole shop is affected

    Hamleys2019-09-15
  4. "Decent place to work, tiring talking to customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Hamleys part-time

    Pros

    The store and colleagues were nice

    Cons

    Having to approach every single customer

    Hamleys2019-09-08
  5. "Meet good friends. But not so great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expert/Helper in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hamleys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you meet are great and you can make good friends. A lot of opportunities to progress. Can be a lot of fun.

    Cons

    A lot of the higher management need to relax with rules. The management on the shop floors are great and are great to work with. But the one that are higher can be rude and strict for very unnecessary reasons. They constantly watch you and make you feel like you need to be robotic in order for the place to run. The customers have even noticed it and mentioned it. They just need to chill and let the staff have fun... and watch the sales change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop stressing out. Stop making the staff act like synchronised robots. The more you relax, the more the staff relax and then you can see your sales are probably going up. Positivity sells! Not negativity!

    Hamleys2019-08-26
  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great learning platform Good seniors Good environment

    Cons

    Long working hours for some days

    Advice to Management

    No advice Good Management team

    Hamleys2019-08-09
  7. "Amazing experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fun Consultant in Surat
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When i join the hamleys i feel like my childhood again comes in my life. Very lucky to job at hamleys last one year to in hamleys i have learn many things how to engaged customer nake customer to feel special and demkstration and many more. And also visual merchandiser of our store.

    Cons

    Here i am perfomed opening and closing duties and cash count and managment.

    Advice to Management

    For managment to monthly one event to make compulasary in all store to footfall increased and customer can get more magic experiance.

    Hamleys2019-08-06
  8. "It's fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Johannesburg
    Recommends

    I worked at Hamleys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's fun, staff are great, always a happy vibe and happy customers

    Cons

    Retail hours are not so good

    Hamleys2019-08-04
  9. "Good for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hamleys Helper in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun staff with a great location

    Cons

    Diabolical Management whom are too consumed within the Hamleys ecosystem

    Advice to Management

    Keep calm, and just do your job.

    Hamleys2019-08-02
  10. "Friendly management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hamleys Helper in Luton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -friendly store and assistant managers -a nice environment to work in -relaxed atmosphere -flexible rota

    Cons

    -I didn’t face many cons except for a few bitter team members but you get that everywhere you work

    Hamleys2019-07-15
Found 102 reviews