Hamleys Reviews | Glassdoor

Hamleys Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Hamleys CEO Ralph Cunningham
Ralph Cunningham
12 Ratings
  1. "Demonstrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Demonstrator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee tea and water.

    Cons

    The whole ethos of the senior management is an embarrassment, to this famous department store. Vindictive school girl performers at front of store, are an utter embarrassment to someone trying to carve a career in the entertainment industry.

    Advice to Management

    How long is a piece of string.

    Hamleys2018-12-07

    Hamleys Response

    January 9, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are continually working with our managers to ensure our staff are happy with their leadership and we're sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. If you would like to discuss this further then please email HR@Hamleys.co.uk.

  2. "Draining atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Thurrock, England

    I have been working at Hamleys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money + commission if you’re a demonstrator

    Cons

    Poor management, draining, overworked, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Management were unreliable, unprofessional and barely turned up for their shifts

    Hamleys2018-08-22
  3. "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Becuse i love this company

    Cons

    Robotics and any toys full feed back ready in mind

    Advice to Management

    Coolest company

    Hamleys2018-07-05
  4. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, very friendly staff

    Cons

    Lack of career progression available

    Hamleys2018-06-29
  5. "There are better places for you to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helper in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You sell toys, so you get to play with them

    Cons

    Lack of respect from management - They treat you like naughty school children even if you do nothing wrong. Wouldn't fix air-conditioning in 38-degree weather (Celsius), Underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Respect the people who work for you. Recognize their contributions and commend them for good work.

    Hamleys2018-07-12
  6. "Fun to work with Hamleys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fun Consultant in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys for less than a year

    Pros

    Happening Environment, Active working, Play all day

    Cons

    Long work hours, no growth, high targets

    Advice to Management

    Please start Managing

    Hamleys2018-07-07
  7. "Extremely hot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys part-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are the nicest people ever, and really fun to work with children

    Cons

    Gets extremely hot on all floors

    Advice to Management

    Opening the tiny windows and placing a fan or two does not make up for lack of air conditioning. Customers complain about the heat being there only an hour. We are there 9-5 everyday.

    Hamleys2018-05-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Hamleys Helper - Heathrow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hamleys Helper in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Full training at Regent Street Store - Friendly Staff (not all management though) - Fun Environment - Get to play with toys on shop floor (demo) - Extra day off for Birthday

    Cons

    At Heathrow each store is a little different because of management. - Requires you to be fake and extra friendly even if the customers are clearly not interested to be spoken to. - There are favourites. The management left the store with their favourites for short breaks and coffees leaving some by themselves with no help. Certain individuals get picked on constantly - this was the main reason myself and about 5...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Management was the main reason why myself and lots of other colleagues had left Hamleys, do not have favourites or your staff will more than likely listen less. - There should always be more than one member of staff in the store at all times, yes it may be 'quiet' in early and late hours and not many sales, however sometimes there is a rush of passengers at once, and one person cannot always attend to all at once,...

    Show More
    Hamleys2018-04-30
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time

    Pros

    - "Good training ground" Your experience with the company depends on your location as Hamleys is an international franchise.

    Cons

    -Highly unstructured departments -Toxic and poor management who plays a blaming game -Lack of ownership -Undefined roles and tasks -Lack of career progression

    Advice to Management

    Will not be advising you to appreciate the productive and sincere employees, since there are close to none left. Instead, please hire more interns to run the business.

    Hamleys2018-04-30
  10. "Hamleys Helper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time

    Pros

    Brilliant culture, excellent O-T-J training, good discount

    Cons

    At times can be toxic when demonstraters fighting for sales

    Hamleys2018-03-07
Found 97 reviews