Hamleys Reviews | Glassdoor

Hamleys Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Hamleys CEO Ralph Cunningham
Ralph Cunningham
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Hamleys Helper - Heathrow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hamleys Helper in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Full training at Regent Street Store - Friendly Staff (not all management though) - Fun Environment - Get to play with toys on shop floor (demo) - Extra day off for Birthday

    Cons

    At Heathrow each store is a little different because of management. - Requires you to be fake and extra friendly even if the customers are clearly not interested to be spoken to. - There are favourites. The management left the store with their favourites for short breaks and coffees leaving some by themselves with no help. Certain individuals get picked on constantly - this was the main reason myself and about 5...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Management was the main reason why myself and lots of other colleagues had left Hamleys, do not have favourites or your staff will more than likely listen less. - There should always be more than one member of staff in the store at all times, yes it may be 'quiet' in early and late hours and not many sales, however sometimes there is a rush of passengers at once, and one person cannot always attend to all at once,...

    Show More
    Hamleys2018-04-30
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time

    Pros

    - "Good training ground" Your experience with the company depends on your location as Hamleys is an international franchise.

    Cons

    -Highly unstructured departments -Toxic and poor management who plays a blaming game -Lack of ownership -Undefined roles and tasks -Lack of career progression

    Advice to Management

    Will not be advising you to appreciate the productive and sincere employees, since there are close to none left. Instead, please hire more interns to run the business.

    Hamleys2018-04-30
  3. "Hamleys Helper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time

    Pros

    Brilliant culture, excellent O-T-J training, good discount

    Cons

    At times can be toxic when demonstraters fighting for sales

    Hamleys2018-03-07
  4. "Notice Period Salary pending past six months.! No update, HR not at all helping to get this sorted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Section Supervisor in Cochin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work if u want to learn a few new things.!

    Cons

    Worst HR ever.! Never Takes the phone, no communication with the employees., Much laggy process,

    Hamleys2018-03-17
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Hamleys

    Pros

    Very fun and exciting place for children

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Hamleys2018-02-11

    Hamleys Response

    May 29, 2018HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback and it's great to know you have enjoyed working for Hamleys.

  6. "An unique experience especially for young people who want to start a career in sales/ customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expert Demonstrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The most interactive store of all, time flies and it is a great opportunity to meet VIP’s face to face.

    Cons

    Long and hard way of being promoted to higher positions. As a simple worker it is quite difficult to be taken into consideration by the managers

    Advice to Management

    They should offer equal opportunities for hard working people to progress in their career

    Hamleys2018-01-27

    Hamleys Response

    May 29, 2018HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. At Hamleys employee development and equal opportunities is taken seriously and we are sorry to hear that this was not your experience/perception. We will take your feedback on board to build awareness.

  7. "Management not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concession Noble Collection in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hamleys for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly and work is straightforward. Vending machine in break room always stocked.

    Cons

    Management is disconnected from the floor staff. Threats are sent out more than actual communication and help. Rather than actually try to fix issues and sort out the store complaints are given to upper management and freelance company and hamleys instructions contradict.

    Hamleys2018-02-05
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys full-time

    Pros

    It was a great fun while working there

    Cons

    I really enjoyed my 4 years in Hamleys

    Hamleys2018-01-07

    Hamleys Response

    May 29, 2018HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback and it's great to know you have enjoyed your experience whilst working at Hamleys.

  9. "Could you have more fun at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys for less than a year

    Pros

    Every day was fun and exciting

    Cons

    10 hours doing the same tricks are hard

    Hamleys2017-12-15

    Hamleys Response

    January 23, 2018HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to read you have had a good experience with us.

  10. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demonstrator in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hamleys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Were the promises that became undelivered. Flagship store that disappointed. Total disregard for people just targets and targets! Support was not provided and training was unpaid.

    Cons

    As a young person still in education I believed this would be an opportunity to gain experience in a fun environment and learn skills. Instead in 2018, zero hour contracts are being used as a stick to beat employees with by inadequate management teams. Effectively sacking staff by removing them from the rota. Basic employee health and safety is ignored. Six hour shifts with no breaks when demonstrating requires continuous...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employment Law is being flouted regularly by supervisors and department managers suggesting that their training is inadequate or you have the wrong people in these positions.

    Hamleys2018-01-14

    Hamleys Response

    May 29, 2018HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to read your feedback about your experience within our store. Hamleys have a pay structure for all employees which doesn't allow for 0 hour contracts perhaps you worked for one of our concession partners in Stores. ...

    Show More
Found 106 reviews