Hamlyn Williams "hamlyn williams" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hamlyn Williams Employee Reviews about "hamlyn williams"

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hamlyn Williams GROUP MANAGING DIRECTOR Nick Vaughan (no image)
Nick Vaughan
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Family culture, work hard/play hard type environment w/ a fun & friendly group of people(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good internal growth and commission structure(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes they equate and emphasize working hard with working long hours, rather than working smart(in 12 reviews)

  • "The reason I was let go was for not following a horrendously stupid protocol correctly(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hamlyn williams"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Head of Audit Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamlyn Williams full-time

    Pros

    If you are looking for a company where you can make a name for yourself quickly, Hamlyn Williams is the place for you. The Dallas location is staffed with dedicated professionals expert in their field of staffing. This team does not believe in throwing you to the wolves, they provide real time training and feedback that will better your craft.

    Cons

    If you are looking for a challenging but worth while career in staffing, no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to trust in your employees.

    Hamlyn Williams2019-01-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "HW Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hamlyn Williams is a very fun place to work. It is a work hard play hard environment. As a grad right out of college the upper management has made it easy for me to transition to such a fast paste, results driven business. They have provided me with the tools and training needed to be successful

    Cons

    The work day hours a long, but that is what is expected in a results driven business. You have to put in the work to get the results. If you do not have an aggressive, persistent, and hungry attitude this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Hamlyn Williams2016-09-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Company to work for!!! - Not sure what the negative press is about"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Leader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As actual employees, we never would spend any time on this site as we are happy so what is the point in writing about it but I thought that I would write something as the 'haters' are giving such a biased view on Hamlyn Williams, which is a massive mis-representation and quite frankly scandalous as there is so many lies to the comments. Having worked for a few recruitment firms I can tell you that this is the best recruitment firm I have been a part of and thoroughly enjoy working in this start-up feeling high performing environment. High Performers receive 40% commissions that actually get paid out, contrary to some of the comments I have seen. This is the best scheme I have ever seen. Every Quarter there is a Holiday Incentive (Vegas, New Orleans, Miami, etc), we have Monthly Lunch Clubs, Dress-Up Sales Days. As a young person, I particularly enjoy these perks. The company benefits are also good compared to others. The culture is fantastic to be around where everyone genuinely gets on extremely well and the environment sets you up for success. The CEO, Nick Vaughan is an absolute inspiration to be around and it is a credit to him to build one of the fastest growing recruitment firms in the world without any external funding. Thank you for the opportunity HW have given me and I am really enjoying it here and would massively advocate anyone who is looking to join, to come on board. I would never have this opportunity anywhere else and hopefully I am going to be part of a new office opening in the US.

    Show More

    Cons

    As it is a high performing culture, the hours are unsociable so beware. Contracted hours are 08:30-6PM but a majority of us get in earlier and finish later although some of the people leave early twice a week to play team sports. We were a start up in the NYC office and before the CEO came in, we had an extremely poisonous atmosphere where some people clearly did not want to be there and was not great to be around (probably the ones who have written negative views on here!!. They all quickly were let go and the environment is a million times better and revenues have massively increased as a result.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Sales Environment the same as it is awesome to be around. Rookie Training program is good but for Team Leaders & Managers, perhaps having more dedicated training would be my piece of feedback.

    Hamlyn Williams2016-03-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hamlyn Williams is definitely a fast-paced environment and a great place for those who are willing to truly challenge themselves and see how far they can take their career. The Management team is also really great at helping foster this development and constantly asking how they can help. They never speak condescending to their team and are always a resource no matter how small a question. In HK, they started their team with a couple consultants who were brand new to the market, and now have increased the team 150% YOY, breaking records consistently. It's obvious in the approach, our CEO (Nick Vaughan) has smartly positioned the APAC Director to grow the business. Training is given to new members on the basics of recruiting, and supplemented to the more experienced consultants for anything they ask for. Commission structure is aggressive, and scales quickly and as HW has a strong client base, you're not only going to bring on your own accounts, but also will have house accounts to get you going from minute 1. Fun culture, spread across Expats and Local HKers. With events/incentives for the team to hit and let loose. Past trips included Hvar, Tokyo, Macau, Vietnam, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons aren't really isolated to HW, more general recruitment cons. Resilience is the key attribute you NEED to have in this industry as things will get tough at some point. Being able to position yourself and your business on the right track to bounce back and learn from mistakes will help you continuously grow your business and reach the next level. If you're not resilient, it will be a pretty big wake up call (and again, thats anywhere in recruitment). Either way, management will take notice and look to help in anyway they can.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't really have any. From what I've seen so far, the teams in place have a strong understand of how to develop their teams and how to nurture talent. If someone is struggling, there are always resources available for help and it never feels like sink or swim.

    Hamlyn Williams2019-10-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hamlyn Williams has a vision and is driven to succeed. The vibe is always generally positive ensure we celebrate even the small wins. It is exciting being part of a company that is so focused on growing and moving forward. Working for this company will not only give you a job that lets you pay rent but has been proven to give people the opportunity to reach their financial goals. The bonus is, it shapes you as a person too.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not everyone is built out for the industry. As one of the earliest recruits in this company, I have already seen many come and go. If you come here without grit and resilience you won't last. This is not the kind of place which will put an arm around you if you are finding it difficult.

    Advice to Management

    keep the incentives coming... time together as a team outside working hours will continue to build the work bonds.

    Hamlyn Williams2018-11-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A genuinely great platform for progression and earning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine career progression - one of the biggest reasons for joining in the first place was due to the growth prospects attached with joining an organisation during such a significant and ongoing period of growth. In this line of work 'progression' is a term tossed around loosely, when is it ever tangible? I've seen progression here and a meritocratic environment to complement this. Copious amounts of energry and drive from Senior Management who actually believe in the brand which has gone from strength to strength over a small period of time - I can't name many players in the market who have seen this level of growth. Things are really going in the right direction for those bought in and willing to be part of this growth and actually shape the business. Recruitment companies all do the same thing, wherever you go. They're effectively facilitators for our own personal and professional growth and of course, to make money. Personally, Hamlyn Williams has created a platform for my growth in both respects and has the support system in place for those who actually do struggle personally or professionally. Remember that for when you make your next move...

    Show More

    Cons

    Standard, blanket recruitment stuff here. If you're not up for putting in the hours, walk away. This job has been engineered to support our clients and candidates, you're a 'career consultant' and a sales person first and foremost which comes with the relevant baggage and expectations - get on with it and you'll be making money. The company has the rectitude to admit that the hours are long but the results speak for themselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at those performing to a good enough standard and those who show they really want it. Put the measures in place to support them as these are the people creating revenue. Assess the situation on the floor and who's actually going to be in a position to add value to a business that needs this long term with the commitment to stick around and drive the floor...

    Hamlyn Williams2017-03-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Join this Company if you are High Performing & Entrepreneurial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some really great qualities to the company and the UK office. Coming into the UK office in 2016, I saw a period of change where the previous MD was moved out and new management was brought in as results were not there. Naturally with any change, management has quickly gotten rid of the low performers who were not putting in any deals and other people left as they could not keep up with the pace the leaders were setting & adopt their culture. I have been in a few firms and this is expected. What is extremely pleasing is that it is genuinely a "Great Place to Work", contrary to recent postings. There is an amazing buzz in the office, it is being driven hard by the Sales Director and the CEO has incredible vision on where he wants to take the firm and it is a massive testament to where the business has gone in the past 5.5 years. Learning & Development is strong where there is an external trainer who comes into the UK 4 times a month and then weekly workshops, role plays and on the desk training by management that takes place. Every Thursday there is a social activity that takes place, Fine Diners each month, Quarterly Holiday Incentives and an end of Month Party to celebrate. Having read some of the reviews from disgruntled ex-employees who now all seem to hang around together giving out about their lives, I can personally name who all of the negative reviews are from and BY NO MEANS YOU SHOULD EVEN TAKE THEM ON BOARD. Hamlyn Williams has strong management with a clear vision on where they are going & are very transparent in communicating this. I will let the results speak for themselves. We just had the month end results come through given by our Sales Director. Hamlyn Williams just broke a company record and invoiced $1,000,000 (NFI). This is a company record and the UK just did their best month for the past 9 months and with half of the headcount. This goes to show what happens when Negative staff are gone and the people in genuinely believe in the goals.

    Show More

    Cons

    Prepare to come into an environment where there is no room for mediocrity and standards are high. Be more inclusive when it comes to the interview process and be more collaborative on who is joining the business as some wrong hires were made in 2016. Sometimes the long hours are draining so appreciate what we are putting in.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with what you are doing as it is working and ignore all negative press from ex-employees as they clearly are very bitter people and will not progress in their lives.

    Hamlyn Williams2017-02-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at Hamlyn Williams for nearly 4 years now. When I joined the company I was reasonably new to an office environment and there was only 9 of us in the UK business. Now Hamlyn Williams has opened globally with offices in Hong Kong and New York. I am so thankful for the opportunities that Nick, our Director, has given me, allowing me to develop in my role and steadily move up within the business. Like with anything in life, you get as much as you give and Hamlyn Williams have given me a great opportunity to develop myself and my career. I still have a lot to learn, but with a fantastic senior management team that we currently have, I’m looking forward to what the future holds for HW and I.

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course it has been difficult at times. As with any reasonably new business, we have had our ups and downs. I think people need to understand that going into a newish business with big growth plans can take its toll, but if you work hard and get on with it, there is big money to be made, in an environment that is always evolving to cater to its staff.

    Advice to Management

    If you keep developing staff members and the business in general, you will retain many long standing employees like myself.

    Hamlyn Williams2016-03-17
Found 8 reviews