Hamlyn Williams "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hamlyn Williams Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hamlyn Williams GROUP MANAGING DIRECTOR Nick Vaughan (no image)
Nick Vaughan
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Family culture, work hard/play hard type environment w/ a fun & friendly group of people(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good internal growth and commission structure(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes they equate and emphasize working hard with working long hours, rather than working smart(in 12 reviews)

  • "The reason I was let go was for not following a horrendously stupid protocol correctly(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Interested to see where we can go!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The spirit is here; there's a buzz, energy from the young people coming into the business and seeing learning across real professional sectors such as cyber, regulatory and compliance. I'm learning alot. Earning potential - looking forward to being rewarded as some great jobs and candidates in my market.

    Cons

    Hours are long as you're speaking to people outside of their core hours as they can't possibly talk much during the day when they're busy. I accept this role as a social and rewarding occupation as there's so many people to learn from. That's done by talking and learning and sucking up like a sponge.

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2017-09-22

    Hamlyn Williams Response

    October 24, 2018

    Thank you for your review! We will continue to strive to provide the best environment for our team and make sure Hamlyn Williams is a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Unlimited Space for Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone is supportive of one another, and is constantly encouraging their peers to succeed - There is so much room for growth and promotion if you are willing to work hard, which sets you up well to succeed either within the company or for future opportunities - The amount you can make is merit based. If you work hard, you will make money. If you don't, then you won't. This creates a healthy, hardworking environment, and eliminates any slacker mentality. - People genuinely enjoy each other's company, which makes going to work something to look forward to

    Cons

    It is a growing company, and with that come growing pains. - Sometimes they equate and emphasize working hard with working long hours, rather than working smart - Training for business development could be stronger and more streamlined, but it has improved every time we've brought in new starters

    Hamlyn Williams2018-10-23

    Hamlyn Williams Response

    October 24, 2018

    Thank you for your review! We are pleased that our current team members are noticing our constant improvements as we grow as a company. We will continue to strive to provide the best environment for our team and make sure Hamlyn Williams is a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and career opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams for less than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic office culture - continuously growing, team bonding outside of work Great people to work with - seniors are pretty approachable and willing to share knowledge Unlimited paid time off - if you work hard and don't take advantage, you generally get time off you need You get what you give--hard work is generally rewarded Location Keeps growing and improving - NYC office success has improved tremendously in the past couple of months, employees bought in to vision of where the company will go and future looks promising

    Cons

    Long hours Can be a bit of a roller coaster, but there are opportunities to discuss conflicting opinions and work towards solution.

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2016-06-30

    Hamlyn Williams Response

    August 8, 2017Office Manager

    Thank you for the review, we welcome all feedback. We understand the challenges of working at a staffing agency and are sure to reward the hard work from our employees. #workhard #playhard

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Growing start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    coworkers great managers office environment great location international business and still growing opportunity for high salary good culture

    Cons

    long hours strict, regimented day to day low office morale on younger employees oft-changing policies "boys club" atmosphere unwelcoming to women

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2015-12-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great Start Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun people and an opportunity to make a lot of money! They go all out for incentive trips (vegas, New Orleans, Hamptons, ect.)

    Cons

    They can be very long Hours and you can become consumed in your job if you do not manage your time well.

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2015-09-15
  6. "Ignore everyone else's negative reviews..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the negative comments are from individuals that either weren't good at their job, or recruitment was simply not for them. Since joining HW I have had an incredible journey to get to where I am now; - Learning & Development; There has been a tremendous amount of support from senior management and continuous training. - Culture; We're like one big family here, we all have goals, money motivated and all help each other to get there. This office is always full of laughter, and with the bars just outside it's hard to resist an after-work G&T! - Progression; There is a clear career pathway for me and a structure that is put in place for anyone that joins. (This includes opportunities to move to any of our other Global offices!!) - USP; What others don't realise is how we stand out from any other recruitment agencies in Cardiff. HW offers international opportunities, whether you'd like to travel to Europe, or a sun chaser and wouldn't mind some of their US action!! - High Earning Potential; I’ve been able to earn more than most at my age through hard work, support and their commission structure (key!), with this it has given me the opportunity to not only travel to places like Bali & Thailand, but also incentives for hitting our individual targets (e.g. Dublin trip).

    Cons

    Like all jobs, it takes some grafting and hard work to be successful. This is not news. - Long hours; Yes, we spend majority of our time in work, however, are given the option for flexibility in terms of coming into work earlier and leaving earlier. If you work smart and productive in those hours, you’ll have no problem!

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2019-12-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamlyn Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - A great place to work, the team are really good with no exceptions. - Training is very good, external coaching and internal mentoring is very solid. - Senior Management is attentive and commands your respect. - Talented Senior hires have made an instant impact on the business. - Growing rapidly; a great opportunity for international exposure. - Progression within the firm is great and rapid (if you work for it, you will get it).

    Cons

    - The hours are long and it is very hard work. - The job is challenging, but financially, can be immensely rewarding. - As is always the way in recruitment, base salaries aren't great, but once the placements come your remuneration shoots up rapidly (far beyond most equivalent graduate roles). - Be prepared to hit targets. - It is a very steep learning curve - recruitment isn't easy.

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2017-06-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A genuinely great platform for progression and earning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine career progression - one of the biggest reasons for joining in the first place was due to the growth prospects attached with joining an organisation during such a significant and ongoing period of growth. In this line of work 'progression' is a term tossed around loosely, when is it ever tangible? I've seen progression here and a meritocratic environment to complement this. Copious amounts of energry and drive from Senior Management who actually believe in the brand which has gone from strength to strength over a small period of time - I can't name many players in the market who have seen this level of growth. Things are really going in the right direction for those bought in and willing to be part of this growth and actually shape the business. Recruitment companies all do the same thing, wherever you go. They're effectively facilitators for our own personal and professional growth and of course, to make money. Personally, Hamlyn Williams has created a platform for my growth in both respects and has the support system in place for those who actually do struggle personally or professionally. Remember that for when you make your next move...

    Cons

    Standard, blanket recruitment stuff here. If you're not up for putting in the hours, walk away. This job has been engineered to support our clients and candidates, you're a 'career consultant' and a sales person first and foremost which comes with the relevant baggage and expectations - get on with it and you'll be making money. The company has the rectitude to admit that the hours are long but the results speak for themselves.

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2017-03-14
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Join this Company if you are High Performing & Entrepreneurial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some really great qualities to the company and the UK office. Coming into the UK office in 2016, I saw a period of change where the previous MD was moved out and new management was brought in as results were not there. Naturally with any change, management has quickly gotten rid of the low performers who were not putting in any deals and other people left as they could not keep up with the pace the leaders were setting & adopt their culture. I have been in a few firms and this is expected. What is extremely pleasing is that it is genuinely a "Great Place to Work", contrary to recent postings. There is an amazing buzz in the office, it is being driven hard by the Sales Director and the CEO has incredible vision on where he wants to take the firm and it is a massive testament to where the business has gone in the past 5.5 years. Learning & Development is strong where there is an external trainer who comes into the UK 4 times a month and then weekly workshops, role plays and on the desk training by management that takes place. Every Thursday there is a social activity that takes place, Fine Diners each month, Quarterly Holiday Incentives and an end of Month Party to celebrate. Having read some of the reviews from disgruntled ex-employees who now all seem to hang around together giving out about their lives, I can personally name who all of the negative reviews are from and BY NO MEANS YOU SHOULD EVEN TAKE THEM ON BOARD. Hamlyn Williams has strong management with a clear vision on where they are going & are very transparent in communicating this. I will let the results speak for themselves. We just had the month end results come through given by our Sales Director. Hamlyn Williams just broke a company record and invoiced $1,000,000 (NFI). This is a company record and the UK just did their best month for the past 9 months and with half of the headcount. This goes to show what happens when Negative staff are gone and the people in genuinely believe in the goals.

    Cons

    Prepare to come into an environment where there is no room for mediocrity and standards are high. Be more inclusive when it comes to the interview process and be more collaborative on who is joining the business as some wrong hires were made in 2016. Sometimes the long hours are draining so appreciate what we are putting in.

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2017-02-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but make sure recruitment is what you want to do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hamlyn Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, fast culture, incredible incentives Able to talk to senior level financial institution individuals upon graduation Good springboard into financial services Ability to make a lot of ££££ Face to face client meetings and a lot of autonomy within role Hard work is rewarded

    Cons

    Strict KPIs but follow them and you will succeed - they are there for a reason Some people join with the expectation of making £100k in their first year and get upset when they don't. People have got there but only because they put the hard work in. Don't get down because youdidn't get there in your first year!!! Long hours

    Continue reading
    Hamlyn Williams2017-01-03
Found 12 reviews