KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Engaged Employer

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Add a Review

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,162 of over 1,175 reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa President and CEO  Todd Leff
Todd Leff
191 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, friendly therapists, clean environment(in 53 reviews)

  • "Work environment was always relaxed and positive(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no benefits (health insurance etc)(in 52 reviews)

  • "Front desk staff were caught stealing MT's tips(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Best Spa To Work At Ever!

      Feb 28, 2021 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management strives to create an atmosphere of respect and positivity.

      Cons

      There is no system in place that allows therapists and estheticians to see a breakdown of all services and commission from upgrades performed for each pay period so they will know how much they should be getting paid. You just have to go on faith that whatever $$ amount is deposited into your bank account is, in fact, the correct amount.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work while in school

      Jul 23, 2021 - SPA Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, competitive wages, commissions help a lot

      Cons

      No real cons to speak of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Has it's positives and negatives

      Jul 15, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy working with my coworkers and how flexible they can be with my schedule. As long as you can learn fast and retain information well this job is somewhat an easy and fun job!

      Cons

      This is a very sale-driven based job!! When you're doing great they will give you the full credit but when you are doing bad or your numbers drop it is very easy for management to turn their backs on you. I learned very quickly that you have to be great at sales in order to be seen as a great employee regardless if you can do everything else perfectly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worked for multiple locations- depends on the owner and management.

      Jul 22, 2021 - Esthetician in Manahawkin, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great education, had some great coworkers, great way to start out in the industry great company and job if you’re lucky to score decent management and owners

      Cons

      It ALL depends on the owners and management. I’ve worked for 3 locations. 2 of which that were FABULOUS. But unfortunately had to move from those fabulous employers and the location switched to was horrible. In the interview, you’re told one rate for your pay and when you get your check it’s significantly less then what it should be at the rate you were told. Come to find out, it’s based on if you hit your numbers that week or not if you get that rate you were told in the interview. When you confront them about it, you just get a shoulder shrug from management. Management is not approachable at all. Was not provided proper cleaning supplies post COVID and got in trouble for having disinfecting wipes in my treatment room and god forbid I ask for isopropyl alcohol to clean my tools. Had a client call and say she was scratched by the micro I did on her but was not told until over a week after she called and as not given the chance to help her or make the situation right. The lead informed me about the situation, loudly, in front of a full break room of coworkers. Equipment was falling apart, obviously not replaced since being open. Things collapsing on clients and not kept up with and was told the owners did not want to pay to replace them. I felt my life-school-work balance was not good and I decided to drop a slow shift so I can have a real day off. I was told I need to drop out of school (I was in massage school, which would have benefitted them in the future if they were decent employers). I suggest getting a service done at a hand and stone you’re thinking of applying to or dropping in at a random time to see how they treat their customers. I miss working at the locations I used to and I wish I still lived in the area.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Jul 20, 2021 - Licensed Esthetician in Flemington, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, busy, friendly, fun, exciting

      Cons

      Long hours hard work unpredictable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Massage therapy jobs

      Jul 16, 2021 - Massgae Therapist in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Im dependable a hard worker show up on time and im very helpful

      Cons

      Lesser pay rate for the job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Depends on Management, Great for new therapists

      Jul 13, 2021 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will have a full schedule, free training in spa modalities, everything provided

      Cons

      Hourly pay isn’t great without taking tips into consideration

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Regional operations manager

      Jul 16, 2021 - Regional Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Travel is quite heavy yes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Each Franchise is run differently. Do your research. Ask questions. Ask about training.

      Jun 2, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Corporate provides documents and videos to help train you. Franchise owner and Regional Managers/Leads are nice for a while. .

      Cons

      You train yourself. Depending on the Franchise, you might have benefits and vacation. There is so much to do, you won't know what to do first sometimes - unless you have a strong front of the house and back of the house team. The pay should be between $42,000 - $55,000 (excluding benefits) depending on the Spa. You will be working 50-60 hours a week. If you are offered an hourly position, most likely you will have overtime. Make sure the Franchise understands that. There is too much to do. Numbers are important and be prepared to hire new SA's every couple of months due to sales goals and you will not have enough time to properly train them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Jul 9, 2021 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Spring Lake, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule Management Clientele Pay structure Ability to grow within company

      Cons

      I personally don’t have any cons

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,162 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa? Share Your Experiences

    or