Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Employee Reviews about "front desk"

Updated Dec 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 of over 1K reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa President and CEO  Todd Leff
Todd Leff
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, friendly therapists, clean environment(in 53 reviews)

  • "Work environment was always relaxed and positive(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no benefits (health insurance etc)(in 52 reviews)

  • "Front desk staff were caught stealing MT's tips(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "front desk"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Keep track of $$

      Sep 9, 2020 - Licensed Massage Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful place w skilled therapist

      Cons

      Front desk staff were caught stealing MT's tips

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      A stepping stone job for newly graduated only. Not for those with years of skills

      Dec 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers. Worked near the Philadelphia area.

      Cons

      Lacked inventory, They set their pay structure based on what every other franchise owners are giving to their employees; which means they do have the ability to pay you more if you ask for a raise, but they wont because they always go back and say that Corporate office dictates what they have to pay their employees. This isnt correct as these franchises are individually owned, They change their pay structures based on how they can save them more money. Some went from a standard 3 tier pay system down to a standard base pay regardless how many clients you treat in a given month, They will tell you if you need to make more money then do more upgrades and sell more memeberships..which is all a joke. You will only make $2-3 dollars extra for any updrades..taxes alone will eat that all up. Tips are kept upfront and since they have a high turn over for front desk girls..they tend to have an issue with Tips being stolen. This is best suited for you just to get your feet wet and move on..its a stepping stone job..go in ..get your experience..and move on. No loyalty, Lack organization. Lack of advancements. Low pay. Crappy benefits if you even get that offered to you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to be!

      Feb 24, 2020 - LMT in Kent, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Though the pay varies place to place my favorites are: full benefits packages, always booked, FREE CEU’s, and at least in Kent WA I make decent money as an LMT. I love I get sick pay and vacation pay. Most importantly the owner Kevin is easy to work with and makes is worth staying.

      Cons

      The turn over time between clients at best is 5 minuets. The front desk staff is always high on turn over (common issue at most locations), Esti’s and front desk don’t help out with back of house chores like: restocking scrubs, laundry, or basics we ALL use.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you are enjoying your experience. Great suggestions, I hope you are comfortable with communicating your ideas and addressing your concerns to assist with creating a better culture for all.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Employee loyalty is not rewarded

      Mar 7, 2020 - Licensed Esthetician in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customers are great, many co-workers are talented and smart

      Cons

      Pay increases are unstable and dependent on whether front desk is helpful or not

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! It sounds like the culture and coworkers were great. I'm sure some communication with management could have been helpful in dealing with some of your concerns.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      My experience

      Sep 19, 2020 - Front Desk Receptionist in Short Pump, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to meet new people and you have the opportunity to earn benefits

      Cons

      The Membership weekly goal that front desk need to obtain was very intimidating.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible Experience

      Oct 20, 2020 - Sales Associate in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Front desk girls are incredible

      Cons

      Terrible management and drives everyone away.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great environment, good energy, horrible pay

      Aug 2, 2019 - LMT in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, they change your schedule if you ask. Pretty good on the booking. Can take days off no problem unless is a black out. They're pretty good at listening to your needs and work adjustments. One free massage every 3 months and 50%off on every service. The work environment is very good, everyone gets along.

      Cons

      No benefits at all. Pay is horrible, $15.50 for a relaxation massage. Don't expect a good check on low seasons. Half of the year is blacked out. The call center is a disaster, they don't know what they're doing and they don't know to balance the books. Front Desk girls have a lot on their plate, they only get pay about $9.50per/hr that'swhy they keep quitting. The owner is a good person but always gets mad when has to replace something like things aren't going to break and blame it all on us.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! Flexibility on schedule, discounts and complimentary services are a nice perk. I always suggest speaking with your management team regarding compensation, there may be solutions to assist you with your concerns.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't Get Comfortable

      Sep 13, 2019 - LMT in Brookhaven, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility in hours Can be understanding

      Cons

      You have to really track down management and the owner when it comes to your pay and reimbursements. I didn't get my reimbursement for taking a particular CEU class in December 2018 until I resigned in August of 2019. There is a lot of errors made when it comes to payroll. As a LMT, make sure you keep close track of your services and do the math yourself to avoid being jipped in your paycheck. There is no health insurance offered. The pay raise is based off of performance but it takes forever to get one. I had a faithful client base and was not offered another raise for reasons I don't understand. Too much pressure is put on the LMTs to upgrade. We are therapists not sales associates. Front Desk needs to handle that. Make sure you have a great vehicle to get around in for this location will expect you to come to work in inclement weather and will catch an attitude with you if you can not make it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry your experience was not excellent. Most often the concerns we have about compensation, reimbursements, and sales expectations can be effectively solved through communication. All the best to you going forward.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Lead Esthetician.

      Feb 21, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Front desk books appointments for you.

      Cons

      Owner has no idea what the laws and regulations are when it comes to esthetics. She would try to get us to double dip wax sticks even though it’s against Illinois state law to do so. She claimed the very awful soy wax she purchased didn’t allow bacteria to survive. She was not licensed and had zero knowledge or services we performed. She also would monitor how long we cut the wax strips. She would measure them and make sure they were a certain length. Which was unrealistic for certain wax services. Spa manager was controlling, unfriendly and very unprofessional. It would be 4 days into the month and would publicly berate you about your retail sales percentage.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It was a good fit for me.

      Jun 23, 2019 - LMT in Washington Township, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at this location for several years. I enjoyed my time here. I only left because I moved and my commute would have been more than an hour away. Its a clean and pretty environment. I didn’t have to provide any of my own product or sheets or nothing like that. My schedule was almost always full. I could reach the owners any time I ever had any questions about anything. That was nice. I worked at places before that I never even met the owner. The clients are usually really nice and tip good. Overall it was really good for me.

      Cons

      There was some immature people at the front desk for a little while but they gone now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you had a great experience. Maybe we will open a new location in your area, it would be great to have you back!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa? Share Your Experiences

    or