KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Engaged Employer

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Add a Review

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Oct 2, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 383 of over 1,660 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa CEO John Teza (no image)
John Teza
98 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not enough pay, not enough clients

    May 10, 2015 - Esthetician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Honestly can't think of any besides discounts on products and ability to trade services which is how any spa is so it is really not that phenomenal.

    Cons

    Not enough pay, never a steady clientele. Management is always incompetent at best. I have worked at multiple locations and each one is poorly ran, constant no shows and late cancelations they don't charge for, which means the therapist doesn't get paid and we lose that time that someone else could have booked. Management doesn't value their employees time and the fact that we have personal lives. Don't expect to ever make enough to not need a second job while working here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Terrible Place to work

    Dec 8, 2018 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They provide oil and lotion.

    Cons

    The management team are all in there early 20's and are not Licensed Massage Therapists. Therefore, they are really not qualified to manage Professionally trained and Licensed Massage Therapists. The management doesn't know how to handle complaints. They over work the employees and under pay them. Never seen a raise after working there over 3 years I was employed there. When everyone was up for raises they let you go so they don't have give you one or feel guilty about not giving you one.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

    National Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience. I can understand the disconnect with a management team without a massage background can be challenging, however, there are opportunities for learning and growing with effective communication with the spa owners. Best of luck to you.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not compensated fairly

    Mar 14, 2022 - Sales Associate in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Once you get the hang of the system they use, the job is very easy.

    Cons

    People that come into the spa can be very rude. You aren't paid enough to do all the work management wants you to do every night/morning.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Massage therapist

    Oct 10, 2017 - Massage Therapist in Fleming Island, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They do supply all supplies and the clients so we don't have to build a clientele it makes our job alot easier

    Cons

    Management does not understand the job we perform and needs to get it together for us to be able to do our jobs

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

    National Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. everything that you need being supplied certainly is a relief for a massage therapist to focus on providing excellent service! I'm sorry you have not had a great experience. Perhaps it may be productive to address your concerns regarding the management with your spa manager or the spa owners.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent company to work for

    Oct 4, 2021 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Brea, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clients often tip well at this location and this is a great place to start for experience as a Massage Therapist. Management was very gracious with time off requests and very adaptable with schedules.

    Cons

    Management often sided with the clients over their own employees and seemed unwilling to address concerns when they arose. Management also seemed to over hire at times and this would cause other Therapists to lose new clients.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not fun to work for

    Feb 25, 2016 - Associate in Naperville, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Weekly pay was nice as well as the pay and some of my co workers were ok and it was beautiful on the inside.

    Cons

    Where do i start? First when i interviewed i thought i was going to work at the closest one instead they shoved me out to the furthest one from my home. They changed my work schedule to evenings knowing full well that i was in school in the evenings because one of the other employees whined because she wanted my hours. Management gets mad when you don't push and push a customer and they say no to getting membership.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Esthetician

    Oct 20, 2015 - Esthetician in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like working at Hand and Stone because everyone here is very welcoming to new employees. They make you feel you are a valued member of the team. Management is very flexible with your schedule and they treat every employee professionally and fairly. I can see myself growing further in my career here at Hand and Stone.

    Cons

    No complaint as of today

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    All are privately owned.

    Sep 26, 2022 - Licensed Esthetician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Established spa. Fairly steady clientele. Room for growth to a degree. Conferences with gratis.

    Cons

    My management was very poor. Constant problems that got in the way of EVERYTHING. not following corporate policy or labor laws. Bad management can really negatively effect what has potential to be a really great job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful