KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Engaged Employer

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Add a Review

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Employee Reviews about "manager"

Updated Oct 2, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 of over 1,660 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa CEO John Teza (no image)
John Teza
98 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Warning! Terrible!

    Aug 24, 2019 - Esthetician in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great clients, great product line, AWESOME education from a third party company, good employee discount on products and services.

    Cons

    It is a corporate franchise, so you are just a number and a percentage. They do not care about you as a person, as it is in corporate America. VERY bad management. HIGH turnover with therapists as well as front desk staff. Poor to little communication and training. The manager is a bully and is extremely negative and infantilizing. Taking time off for whatever reason is next to impossible, and they make you 'make up' days like you are in third grade. You will get written up for acts that other employees get away with, and basically bullied into submission or fired if you do not comply. There have been many therapists who have quit over the last 6 months, and it is an extremely toxic and negative place to work. They have a serious housekeeping issue, too, (ants, mold, and faulty equipment), and the retail and pro backbar is never consistently stocked well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

    National Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry to hear how disappointing your experience was. You seem to appreciate the clients, training, and products. I hope that you were able to share your concerns during your exit interview; sometimes those suggestions result in a better culture in the spa.

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to gain experience

    Jul 19, 2016 - Massage Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a very busy spa, and almost every therapist is booked solid. The spa itself is beautiful, the manager loves to decorate according to season. Clients for the most part are great and easy to please. Flexible schedules and easy to take time off. Free training and CEUs available. I've gone from being a massage newbie to a rock star therapist in only 6 months!

    Cons

    Low pay. No health benefits. Because the spa is so busy, you may be overbooked or not given a break. The manager is temperamental and can be really sweet and easygoing or bullish and difficult to work with. Co workers are loud in the 'quiet' hallways (I've had complaints from clients that they could hear employees talking and laughing in the hallway). Co workers don't stick to room assignments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best place to work, hands down!

    Jul 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Bedford, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From the second I walked into my interview, I have instantly felt at home here. The manager and owner have gone out of their way to make sure all my questions are answered and I am comfortable. My new coworkers are amazing they are all so helpful and friendly. What a great culture!

    Cons

    I seriously, haven't found one yet. If I do, I'll be sure to update. Best job I've ever had (so far)!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Manager does not care about employees

    Dec 4, 2018 - Therapist in Woodbridge, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule only and the clients are nice.

    Cons

    Spa Associates are on their cell phones, watch movies, do not acknowledge coworkers when they talk to any of them, very disrespectful. I have heard them be rude to clients and do not take a name or phone number and put them on the wait list for when appointments are cancelled. Manager wants to be friends with spa associates and not be business minded with them. Manager sits there and does not help clients even when she is available. I do not even know why there is a camera so owners know what is going on. Coworkers sometimes do not even do laundry and come in to dirty towels that have been sitting from the day before. Very disgusting and towels need to be upgraded. With the manager certain rules apply to certain people and others they are strict with.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

    National Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry to hear that you are struggling a bit. If conversations with your spa manager have not been helpful in resolving some of your concerns, perhaps it may be beneficial to have a conversation with the owner.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Low Pay for Therapists, Eperience Depends Upon Management

    Aug 12, 2015 - LMT in Olney, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you want a lot of clients, Hand and Stone has the ability to generate that for you. It's a franchise spa, so all the marketing is done for you. Depends upon the manager; the spas can be very well managed or poorly managed. If you want to change locations it seems easy to do so since you get trained in all the same modalities and techniques. (MTs and Aestheticians) Hot stone training for MTs for FREE Cash tips form the front desk, even if they are low.

    Cons

    I had a poor manager who saw the business as a side source of income and it was a mess! You're expected to clean the spa, while front desk literally reaps commission off all your new clients that enjoy your service so much. Pay is low. Tips were low for non-repeat clients, $20 for repeat clients. (Management failed to clarify that tips were basically how MTs and Aes's get paid! They do this at Massage Envy.)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great management helps staff moral and productivity!

    Oct 21, 2016 - SPA Associate in Mays Landing, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work for the best manager, he encourages the staff to give 110 % to our clients, and he has the best customer service skills! His influence and training has really rubbed off on all of the staff here. New team members are trained hands on, and not thrown to the wolves. It's really great to work for a great manager and give our clients the BEST spa experience.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great, so you really have to work hard for your bonuses!!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No words.

    Jul 7, 2022 - SPA Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval