KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Engaged Employer

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Add a Review

Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Oct 3, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 of over 1,660 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa CEO John Teza (no image)
John Teza
98 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    this place is a joke

    Jun 16, 2015 - SPA Associate in Turnersville, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not physically demanding work. Discounts on massages if you stay employed long enough to schedule one, a few decent coworkers.

    Cons

    Ridiculous expectations after only a few days of minimal training by people who don't really know what they're doing. Unprofessional environment where general manager uses profanity loud enough for clients to hear. Bogus commission structure, only make 10$ off a membership that will net the owner $720/ yr. Disrespectful womanizing owner who calls his spa associates stupid and yells in front of clients. Members canceling by the dozens weekly because of extremely high turnover rate of front desk and therapists. Unorganized schedules of both employees and clients.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Hand and Stone has given me the chance to build my experience, meet new people and learn how to emphasize my skills.

    Jun 15, 2016 - SPA Associate in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Hand and Stone is the people you meet; employees and clients alike. I love coming in and seeing repeat clients (new ones too!) knowing they will be back and building a rapport with them.

    Cons

    The worst thing about working at Hand and Stone is going to differ from spa to spa, but going through different owners and managers can be very difficult and frustrating.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Needs work

    Mar 4, 2021 - SPA Associate in Delray Beach, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with and you get member benefits.

    Cons

    Disorganized and lacks communication between staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    depends on the location

    Oct 27, 2015 - Esthetician in South Wilmington, DE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job is fairly basic and once you build a book the pay is steady and very fair. Our backbar and retail products are high quality and the members are usually incredibly nice people.

    Cons

    You never "own" a room and you have to rely on other people to keep things neat.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Better than other Massage Places

    Aug 31, 2021 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Exton, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Neutral, not suggestive sexual title like Massage Envy. Nice atmosphere and elegant, neutral interior design. Simple services & add ons.

    Cons

    Every location is different depending on the management and people working there. Some are not run as well as others and may have slightly different rules.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It's OK

    Aug 18, 2022 - Assistant Manager in Allentown, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the people I work with and have a great team. The schedule can sometimes be flexible.

    Cons

    Working every other weekend with zero flexibility. Both 8 hour shifts Saturday and Sunday. I feel like I have to overly fight for a raise that's definitely worth it. Just with the day to day going on it can be hard to add in the various side projects they'd like us to complete very quickly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Massage therapist in voorhees

    Oct 1, 2019 - Licensed Massage Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Managers nice, pretty consistent clientele, pay isn’t horrible

    Cons

    Low on people to work so the manager lets people slide with stuff that isn’t too serious because she’s afraid to lose therapist.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

    National Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you had a decent experience and I can understand any frustrations with consistency in Management and employee consistency. Best wishes to you.

  8. 5.0