Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 1K reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa President and CEO  Todd Leff
Todd Leff
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, friendly therapists, clean environment(in 53 reviews)

  • "Work environment was always relaxed and positive(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no benefits (health insurance etc)(in 52 reviews)

  • "Front desk staff were caught stealing MT's tips(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great job for those with strong customer service skills!

      Oct 5, 2020 - Front Desk Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work environment was always relaxed and positive

      Cons

      You might not get your full weekly hours depending on if there's a lot of clients that day.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Commission based

      Jan 10, 2021 - Esthetician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule Great coworkers Great work environment

      Cons

      Commission based Hard starting out as a new esthetician

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not worth it.

      Aug 31, 2020 - Esthetician in Happy Valley, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are first starting out and have no other options this is the place for you. Because it can be very risky going into business by yourself. They have some insurance options and some offer 401k plans.

      Cons

      Toxic work environment. I worked at three locations and they were all very toxic. Owned by an Oregon husband and wife duo who pushed money over people. Very cheap. We had a team meeting once to meet them and they brought day old Muffins and cut them into 1/4ths so each person would have 1/4th of a stale muffin. All the equipment was duck taped instead of fixed properly. Pay was subpar. I truely knew they didn’t care about me. My last check from Them was in an envelope that misspelled my name if that’s any indication. I own a business now and I have learned how not to do it thanks to them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mostly Good!

      Jul 21, 2020 - Licensed Massage Therapist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Safe work environment- all appointments are booked for you. And you're a real employee! So no independent contractor stuff!

      Cons

      very little time to clean between clients, vacation time/ days off are hard to get.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy to work here!

      Jun 16, 2020 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Madison, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Instant clients, good pay and perks (like free massage or facials) and low key work environment

      Cons

      A lot of laundry and having to clean up after others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great environment, good energy, horrible pay

      Aug 2, 2019 - LMT in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, they change your schedule if you ask. Pretty good on the booking. Can take days off no problem unless is a black out. They're pretty good at listening to your needs and work adjustments. One free massage every 3 months and 50%off on every service. The work environment is very good, everyone gets along.

      Cons

      No benefits at all. Pay is horrible, $15.50 for a relaxation massage. Don't expect a good check on low seasons. Half of the year is blacked out. The call center is a disaster, they don't know what they're doing and they don't know to balance the books. Front Desk girls have a lot on their plate, they only get pay about $9.50per/hr that'swhy they keep quitting. The owner is a good person but always gets mad when has to replace something like things aren't going to break and blame it all on us.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! Flexibility on schedule, discounts and complimentary services are a nice perk. I always suggest speaking with your management team regarding compensation, there may be solutions to assist you with your concerns.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Buyers Beware! Horrible / Hostile work environment, Watch your paychecks.

      Mar 19, 2020 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Royersford, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Busy Spa with a steady stream of clients

      Cons

      Owners have very little, if any, integrity. Hired me at 37% commission yet paid me less than 25% on average. They refused to meet with me to discuss the matter. Denise is proficient at creating a very hostile work environment the way she yells at her staff in front of customers and such.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Better than most chain-spas

      Jan 31, 2019 - Licensed Massage Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment, amazing staff (at my location, can't speak for others) flexible schedule, and they even offer life insurance. Paid vacation and sick leave for full-time employees. Better than Massage Envy.

      Cons

      Low pay makes it impossible to make a living wage unless you are consistently full books (which relies on the therapist as much as it does the front desk staff.) I make about 1/4th of what I bring in per hour. They also have fast turn over times and tack on extra work during scheduled breaks you are expected to do yet not get paid for, some is simple maintenance like keeping the room tidy and flipping the table (That's to be expected.). Other tasks are just silly like handwriting thank you cards to each new client to be mailed out for the month, it doesn't make a significant impact on repeat clients you're not paid for it, but never the less you can be fired for it if you ignore them. If you want me to do extra tedious work not related to the profession itself, then pay me for it rather than expecting charity from the employees you hire.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that you are happy with the environment, co-workers and overall culture. As an MT a full book is important, even though you aren't fond of the idea, handwritten appreciation cards are a brilliant way to remind your clients that you care and are looking forward to seeing them again. I suggest using the handwritten notes as a way to remind your clients that you care and perhaps check in about specific focus areas that you may have worked on in their last session. Perhaps they shared an important life event that you can mention. ex. "I hope you had a wonderful time at the reunion you were mentioned you would be attending the last time you were in, and I hope the stretches for your shoulder have been helping. Please call the spa to make an appointment and ask for me, I appreciate you and hope to see you soon."

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst Location to Work For! Stay Away!

      May 13, 2019 - Licensed Massage Therapist in Quakertown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of my coworkers became my friends. When I first started here I had a very full book.

      Cons

      Hostile work environment and egregiously poor management. I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy to work here. When I left, this place was dirty: the roof was leaking in multiple places throughout the spa and there were ants in the breakroom. I brought these things to management's attention and nothing was done. They had issues with not compensating employees properly so we had to go over our commission statements each time and list all the services they missed. This was a hassle and very time consuming. They cannot make you stay in the building if you have no clients because no clients = no money. But they will write you up and make your life a living hell if you do decide to step out. If management decides you are one of their favorites they will praise and groom you unconditionally and you will get away with anything you can imagine. But if you are not a favorite then good luck! Because they will tear you apart at the seams and destroy your morale by micromanaging you, making an excuse to write you up for the smallest things, and messing with your schedule and not telling you. They don't recognize you for hard work here: instead they reward the brown-nosers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you did not have an excellent experience. All the best to you in your new adventures.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales Associate front desk review

      Jan 13, 2020 - Sales Associate in Sandy Springs, Fulton, GA, Optional[GA]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun coworkers, enjoyable work environment, smart management

      Cons

      angry customers, had to solve some pretty difficult problems on my own

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Response

      National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed your experience. Problem-solving equates to growth, great job!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hand & Stone Massage and Facial Spa? Share Your Experiences

    or