Hand and Stone Spa Reviews | Glassdoor

Hand and Stone Spa Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 650 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Hand and Stone Spa CEO Todd Leff
Todd Leff
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Commission based pay only no benefits(in 41 reviews)

  • "But they seem to go through a lot of front desk people often(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (15)

    Would love to work there again!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LMT in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hand and Stone Spa part-time

    Pros

    I would still be working at the Lake Nona location if I had not moved out of state. I loved working with everyone. The Owners take great pride in the Spa and it showed. I felt that Management and the Owners were very easy to approach and talk to. In my time there, nearly two and half years, I never had a problem with them or any LMT or LE. If ever a client was trying to take advantage of the membership or anything the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Gratuity sometimes would not be that great. Not that the front desk wouldn't ask the client, there was even a cute rating chart at each register with a suggested dollar amount based of experience and type of service that I think helped a lot, because some people just don't know what to leave. It wasn't often that you'd get a not so great gratuity, but still on occasion it happened. I don't really have any other cons...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't have much to say here. For my experience I felt management did a great job. Whenever I had a question or needed anything they were there for me. I guess my advice would be don't forget to take care of yourself too ;) . From what I observed our management was constently brainstorming on ways to improve and keep the spa a fun,happy, and enjoyable place to be, not only for clients but for the team as well.

    Hand and Stone Spa Response

    July 18, 2018National Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! It sounds like you had great owners, I'm sure they miss you as well! It's refreshing when things work well and the staff is valued!

  2. Great Work Environment

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Front Desk Associate in Deland, FL

      I have been working at Hand and Stone Spa part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Everyone is friendly and works well together

      Cons

      I don't have any complaints to submit

    • Great opportunity!

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - SPA Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hand and Stone Spa full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Supportive managers, family culture, flexible schedule

      Cons

      Very busy and often short-staffed

    • Stress free job for someone in school!

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front Desk in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hand and Stone Spa full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      can make above your competitive hourly pay by selling memberships and products

      Cons

      depends on your management/location of spa

      Advice to Management

      offer decent hourly pay to motivate employees and grow the business, will also help reduce turnover.

      Hand and Stone Spa Response

      February 18, 2019National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your experience. The flexible hours make a great schedule for someone in school.

    • Not that great

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hand and Stone Spa part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Constant flow and meeting new people

      Cons

      Low pay and too much gossip

      Hand and Stone Spa Response

      February 18, 2019National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I always suggest speaking with your manager or owner regarding compensation and other concerns.

    • I am so happy here!

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Esthetician in Beaverton, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Hand and Stone Spa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You have a real opportunity to make money with upgrades and selling retail. Because I care about helping my clients and believe in the products, it doesn't feel like I am "selling." More like suggesting what I think can help their specific concerns. I also feel extremely supported by our esthetician lead and spa manager.

      Cons

      I think the base pay is a little low, but you go up in tiers based on how many requests you had the previous month. And as mentioned in the pros you really make money when you upgrade clients.

      Hand and Stone Spa Response

      February 13, 2019National Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you are having a great experience!

    • Good first job

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 

        I worked at Hand and Stone Spa part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        good experience with clients and sales

        Cons

        low pay and long hours

        Hand and Stone Spa Response

        February 6, 2019National Recruiter

        Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you had a good experience. I always suggest speaking with your management team regarding compensation and schedule, they are there to support a thriving system with positive company culture.

      • Better than most chain-spas

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist 

        I have been working at Hand and Stone Spa part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Good work environment, amazing staff (at my location, can't speak for others) flexible schedule, and they even offer life insurance. Paid vacation and sick leave for full-time employees. Better than Massage Envy.

        Cons

        Low pay makes it impossible to make a living wage unless you are consistently full books (which relies on the therapist as much as it does the front desk staff.) I make about 1/4th of what I bring in per hour. They also have fast turn over times and tack on extra work during scheduled breaks you are expected to do yet not get paid for, some is simple maintenance like keeping the room tidy and flipping the table (That's...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay your therapists a livable wage in the area which you are located rather than a nation wide corporate standard "one size serves all" sort of deal. Also you should probably look into state laws as you expand to make sure you aren't violating them. Lastly, get rid of the thank you cards, they do the company more harm than good.

        Hand and Stone Spa Response

        February 1, 2019National Recruiter

        Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that you are happy with the environment, co-workers and overall culture. As an MT a full book is important, even though you aren't fond of the idea, handwritten appreciation cards are a brilliant way to remind your clients that you care and are ...

        Show More
      • It was okay.

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Everything in Frisco, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Hand and Stone Spa full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        flexible hours and close to my house

        Cons

        too pushy on selling memberships, high turn over rate

        Hand and Stone Spa Response

        February 18, 2019National Recruiter

        Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad the location was convenient as well as the hours. Sometimes when working in a sales oriented position it helps to focus on creating relationships and educating our guests rather than selling. That mindset can make a big difference!

      • AMAZING WORKPLACE

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in Washington Township, MI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Hand and Stone Spa full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        friendly staff, safe/fun environment. I would have to say i love how special i feel here, i feel like i matter. You are not just another employee you are a TEAM!!!

        Cons

        Very professional. And always busy!!

        Advice to Management

        You are doing an amazing job!!!

        Hand and Stone Spa Response

        January 29, 2019National Recruiter

        Thank you for your feedback! I am so glad to hear that you had an awesome experience! Kudos to that location, It is our hope that every employee feels as valued as you do!

      Found 650 reviews