Handy Reviews in Los Angeles, CA | Glassdoor

Handy Los Angeles Reviews

Updated August 29, 2018
41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Los Angeles, CA Area

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
33 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Handy rating system need improvement" (in 47 reviews)

  • "THE WORST customer service ever" (in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "So far, so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Been working with Handy for a bit, and i love having the freedom of choosing my own hours and the pay is good. App is easy to use as well.

    Cons

    People who hire you can cancel unexpectedly


  2. "Garbage company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Fullerton, CA
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Fullerton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    The company is trash and so are the clients. Not only do clients lie, in but they have the ability to easily manipulate your rating. Handy is a modern day slave ring. No wonder this company was hit with lawsuit after lawsuit. Pay is a joke, and it was never near what was promised at the time of sign up. This app is complete a complete scam. You'd be better off working on the TIDY homekeeper platform which is more consistent and you the ability to make way more money than this Handy garbage. They mistreat their workers and they simply do not care.

    Advice to Management

    I hope this company shuts down like Pharaoh's Lost Kingdom and I will be rolling in vindication once it does.

    Handy Response

    Aug 31, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience on the platform. We appreciate all your hard work while you participated and your feedback.

  3. "Not such a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    15.00 hour
    Work when you want

    Cons

    Horrible customer service
    Hard too get ratings and get 22 hour
    Never know were the location will be
    App has many bugs

    Advice to Management

    Actaully care about the people you hire

    Handy Response

    Jan 18, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to know you didn't have an enjoyable experience while working on the platform. We don't reveal the exact location until it gets closer to the start time, we do... More


  4. "handyman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Handyman in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - Handyman in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    They provide a way to make supplemental income, nothing you can live off of could be better.

    Cons

    They won't talk to you, no support system, only scripts via email. Unfair to the workers, dishonest customers scam their system and sometimes try and use you like a slave adding items to the invoice without paying extra. Hard to make money Handy takes 40% of your pay. They hide the customer reviews so you wont know who lied or gave you a bad review to get their money back . They hold your money for no reason and won't let you cash out making up excuses. .

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so shady with the handymen and don't be so greedy and take so much of a percentage, 20% is fair anything more than that is not fair.

    Handy Response

    Dec 14, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We primarily offer support over email, if you notify us to any situations you have while on the job we will do our best to help you. We keep reviews anonymous but provide all positive and negative... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Handy is trash... Oh... The irony"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Professional Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - Professional Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule... I guess, you'd basically have to take every appointment available and then some

    Cons

    Was fired because someone claimed a pair of shoes were missing. No notification, no investigation. I had been on the platform for two years and had over 725+ jobs completed with a 78% 5 star rating and this was my only source of income, which was not even sustainable. Dont waste your time. Customers are typically trash. Ridiculous expectations, but want to get the lowest time ( 2 hours) but expect a deep clean of an entire house. You can really only clean a studio thoroughly in two hours. The attitudes of a lot of these clients tend to heir on the side of entitled and rude. The way the rating system is tied in with your pay you're pretty much a slave to the customer and have to do their bidding and stay hours over to complete the job frequently. The customers typically do not care about your time and totally expect you to stay over the time they actually paid for. Dont even think about setting the correct expectation at the beginning of the appointment or in the middle or end by telling them that they did not pay for enough time, they'll almost always take offense to it and it will reflect in your tip (lack their of) and definitely in your rating for sure. Anything under a 5 star rating drastically negatively impacts your rating. Mind you, I'm probably the best at this, if not one of the very top in the Los Angeles area, Handy is trash. after transportation/parking/buying your own supplies/ and all the free work you'll have to give up, its just not worth it. When you do have problems in the field, you can only reach out via email, though they typically respond really quickly, they often write you off immediately and I have gotten the feeling on several occasions that they did not work to completely read and understand what I had wrote before they replied, often leading to a back and forth in which I an ultimately found to be correct by another employee that responds and continues the email thread later in the day. Handy is totally frustrating. Not sure if the opportunities are dropping off or if the market is flooded or both. Handy reserves the right to change their rules and operations as much as they want. Have seen much change since 2015, largely unfavorable to the workers. Used to get client information the night before, now you only get it hours before the appointment. The window for which you can cancel an appoiment without penalty has been drastically decreased, but a client can cancel on you up to a hour before and you'll only get 15, mind you that slot took up a real appointment i could've had that i expected days leading up to the appointment. Handy is trash on so many levels

    Advice to Management

    You should definitely open communication with the cleaners on the ground to see how you can improve. You have many weaknesses. Should have an office position that actually works in the field so that you can more easily relate and identify foreseeable problems and circumstances before they arise.

    Handy Response

    Dec 9, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for feedback we greatly appreciate your honesty and all the hard work you've done on the platform.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "HANDY IS A SLAVE MASTER IN DISGUST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - General Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - General Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours
     Own Boss
    Nice hustle for student or need extra cash

    Cons

    No live person

    Customers can falsify reviews to reduce their payment and also I have also been asked to do jobs outside of the app so that customers don't have to pay all the extra fees and a few of the clients that I declined gave me bad reviews because I decline to work for them outside of the app and I told management of this and they deactivated my account after a customer said I took their spare keys.
    I'm still waiting for a response to the problem I emailed multiple times about this problem and management refused to report back to me immediately I had a full week of schedule jobs and they completely cancelled all of them took me off of the dashboard of the platform without even investigating what was happening and when I contacted them via email to understand what was going on they gave me automatic automated responses and it feels very disrespectful and degrading to feel it you put all this time and work into people's places clean their cleaning their germs cleaning up after their bodily fluids and after you on your hands and knees they can still give you a battle review just because there's no pictures to go along with what they're saying there's no text boxes for them to elaborate and they can falsify these reviews and have a spotless house.

    Pay rate is determined by the people you clean houses for.

    When customers cancel jobs you do not get the cancellation fee put into your account instead when you cancel there's an automatic $10 fee every time you have to cancel or $50 if you cancel the day of or hours before and I know at least 8 times I've had cancellations the night before or morning of and was never notified or received a payment a cancellation payment but there is a cancellation fees that the customers pay but it does not go to the workers and then when you go to apply for a job that was canceled there is none it's not replaced there's no notification nothing.

    Customers have unrealistic expectations about cleaning.

    When you ask customers for more time most customers will not add on more time and you have to get permission from the customer to add more time handy does not understand that they don't see how dirty these people live they have no idea that some of these people literally have dishes and condoms and dirty dirty underwear that have been in that house for weeks piled up that you have to clean and they do not compensate you for that they don't compensate you for your supplies your gas there's no support at all and there is so many things that customers can complain about and get you in trouble for but there it's not the other way around our livelihood are in the hands of the people you clean for a not every person that you clean for has good intentions they're all out to take control over you and take advantage of you.

    No pro cleaner support system in platform that actually helps or addresses issues.

    No rewards or incentives
    No supplies credits or remburstments

    Advice to Management

    I think you need to take care of your Pro Cleaners like they need something to your company I've been with your company almost a month and it's literally my livelihood I have a child this is the way that I support us and I feel like you guys care more about customers in yourselves
    You don't take into consideration with real life experiences that we are having when we clean these people's places I don't think that you realize that we are actual people actually cleaning up other people's messes and germs and we're not compensated for that we're on our hands and knees and customers lie and we're not all perfect but there needs to be some kind of balance between the support that your Pro Cleaners need and your customers have.
    The automated emails need to go they do not help they do serve us the cleanerswho clean they do not help in solving the problem it helps avoid the problem having long lines on the phone only means you need to hire more people to work your phone it is degrading to work for a company who has no integrity for the people that work under it.

    Pay rate should not be at the mercy of customers.
    Deactivate someone without proof or merit is going give you some new legal troubles in the coming weeks.

    Handy Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Taking a customers keys from their home is a major security issue and this would lead to a removal if they were not returned. We recommend communicating with customer's the day before the booking is... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Downward Spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    I liked that it gave me flexibility.

    Cons

    I haven't worked for Handy for several months, but I feel compelled to write this review to counter what I can only be certain are the many fake reviews on this site that seem to have been written by Handy itself. When I first began working with Handy, I was happy with the job and the flexibility it gave me. But not long after, I found that I was getting more cancellations than I was getting jobs. I don't blame the customers, but Handy which it seems tricked the customers into signing up for recurring cleanings they didn't want and then be unable to cancel them. The rating system is also terrible. All the ratings are totally anonymous, so if I got a negative rating, I would never have any idea of who gave it to me and often it would come right after a job where the customer tipped me generously. This led me to believe that Handy was manipulating the ratings, since it's all anonymous anyways, in an attempt to bring me to a lower pay scale. None of it sat right with me. When I contacted Handy to inquire about this and why all the ratings were anonymous, I received canned email after canned email. Not once did I feel like I mattered to Handy, or that my concerns were being listened to. In fact, I almost doubted I was talking to a human at all, that's how canned and unrelated the responses were. I felt used and dispensable and worthless as a cleaner for them. I left and picked up work with TaskRabbit who I'm much happier with.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from TaskRabbit and how they operate and treat their employees and clients. They're not a perfect company, but they have their act together while Handy doesn't. And listen to the people who work for you, don't treat them like garbage, and make an effort to actually reply to their issues.

    Handy Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Most of the reviews on this site are made by contractors, like yourself, none of them are fabricated. We take the feedback we receive off this site very seriously, and appreciate you sharing your... More

  8. "Unreliable company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Cleaner in Orange, CA
    Current Contractor - Cleaner in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Their phone app for work has some changes and its more organized now. They are also starting to pay you every week/day depending what you prefer getting paid.

    Cons

    Horrible management, obsured late fees that doesn't make sense when you arrive on time, pays too little when you pay for supplies on your own, client complains about not having their own cleaner and consistently sending new cleaners to them.

    Advice to Management

    Read cons to fix the issues

    Handy Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all the hard work you do on the Handy platform. We have a check-in and check-out feature on the app that must be used during jobs. If professionals arrive on... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "They just want YOUR money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The clients are awesome. I have met some great people.

    Cons

    Horrible. But then again, taking your money is paying restitution on their various lawsuits.

    Handy Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We pay all professionals for the work they do on the Handy platform. Fees are applied for things such as not showing up to a job, arriving late to a job, or leaving early from a job with out the... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst than Uber or Beavex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Clients are the only reasonable people to talk too

    Cons

    Worst mamabgement & whoever runs it

    Advice to Management

    Treat your pros with respect, and to talk to them through a phone and not your damn emails. Their system is so unstable to areas in the hills and so far Allen and Vanessa, worst people. When they seat behind the computers think all is ok. Your Sudetenland ran down while I was in a job and then your REFUSED to pay me but cannot talk with the client to find out whether I did my part of the deal or not. It would be nice if at least you had a phone line and solve our problems. Your company cannot operate without the cleaners so how you gonna treat us like you doing us a favor? Worst of the worst

    Handy Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We used to have a phone line, but we believe we can provide the most efficient support through email. We're sorry to hear that you've struggled communicating with our team. We find that we can offer... More


Showing 41 of 648 reviews
Reset Filters