Handy Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO  Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "3 - After 3 months working as a cleaning I got very good returned customers and the job got easy(in 47 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule is the only pro(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cleaners pay A LOT of "service fees"(in 91 reviews)

  • "The Customer cancellation rate is extremely high(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid Interview Process / Strong Engineering Org / Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Team Lead in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Simple & Interview Process: 1) Initial Call 2) Technical Phone Screen 3) On-site (Coding, Algorithms, Culture, Design, Behavioral) 4) Offer Letter The company was ready and able to accommodate each step within 2-3 days of the previous one, but allowed me to take more time to prepare as needed. I had the onsite on a Friday afternoon and the offer was sent in writing by the following Wednesday. Concise Onboarding / Ramp: Unlike some of my previous roles, the onboarding was clear and organized. The DevOps team has built infrastructure that has made this entire process seamless. I was able to become productive and begin contributing to larger feature development within the first two sprints. Culture: The people at Handy are some of the most dedicated and brilliant people I've met in my career, but beyond that -- they are simply great people to be around. Through our various events ranging from happy hours to game nights, I've come to know that Handy tends to hire interesting and fun people -- that also just happen to be at the top of their field. Growth: Product Engineering process is very data-driven and robust, which has allowed the company to scale and in turn providing many opportunities for new technology solutions and career growth. Many roles are to be filled from internal promotions rather than outside hires, which ensures that our engineers have room to grow not only their skills, but also their careers.

    Cons

    Learning Curve: With many experienced engineers building complex features and an expansive ecosystem of microservices, there can be a tough learning curve at first when you join Handy -- but with the great support provided by the Engineering Org, this usually is not a problem. Pace: Since we are very data-driven and methodical with our Product Engineering approach, Handy is able to be very proactive about targeting & handling issues that will deter our continued growth. With the techniques and design approaches we employ, we strive to get outsized results with our limited time, which results in a slightly faster pace -- meaning that we tend to have a faster workflow around understanding the success of our experiments and can quickly pivot without spending too much, in case of any gaps. This might take some getting used to for engineers who have not experienced a similar process.

    Handy2020-06-02
  2. "Rocketship of a Company - jump onboard and buckle up!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Partnerships in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - As a new hire this past year, I was very welcomed from my Day #1 at Handy, to weeks into the new role with a thorough onboarding map - Very intelligent culture that will challenge you - really! - You are hired to do amazing things - and get to go build what you were hired to go do! - Very positive work life/team/culture, working with people who really care about the mission, who push each other to be better and do better - Catered in meals and dinners daily to HQ office is incredible - CEO self directs and leads the frequent All Hands meetings, I am always given opportunities to hear everything going on with the greater business - Recruiting and Hiring process was faster than any other company I have worked with - they def hire the best people - but the bar is set high and the runway is short in the recruiting process (which is great but very challenging) - a very defined culture that is lived out loud very often - Camp Handy!

    Cons

    - with less than a year at the HQ business, can't really make any subjective Cons about the company of the business -consider finding a way to better publicly recognize peers on the intranet to easily have an avenue to thank other workers, to recognize great talent, have an incentive program tied to this recognition - for business travel - have a corporate account to pay direct for airlines and hotels, and have employees pay for all other expenses and incidentals - can't think of much more to add

    Continue reading
    Handy2020-05-06
  3. "Built for Love!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Inclusive/diverse - Handy provided me a great opportunity to grow my career in a new industry. -Seamless interview process where the Recruiters really care about finding your ideal fit - clear expectations and transparency throughout the process. -Fully supported through and through - I have never felt isolated in my position! -High ability to grow your skill set in your role - I have been able to fully contribute, and expand into new projects within 1 month of working!

    Cons

    Handy has been nothing short of a great experience for me -- no cons to report!

    Handy2020-05-05
  4. "Great, Caring, Transparent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Consistent check-ins with employees to make sure everyone is doing okay and can remain efficient/productive/happy through the pandemic. -Transparent & honest about goals, achievements, challenges, thoughts, and new processes, especially related to how we are handling the pandemic. -Everyone is celebrated. The company definitely acknowledges peoples' hard work and successes no matter how small. -Super smart co-workers. Really fun to work alongside of such hardworking, passionate people.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    Handy2020-05-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Company lacking meaningful mangement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good hours - ok-ish pay - simple work - more people less work

    Cons

    no growth prospect bad management average engineers

    Handy2020-01-25

    Handy Response

    February 6, 2020

    Hi - The issues you raise are inconsistent with our core values and what I experience leading the engineering team. The problems we are solving are complex, multi-faceted, and the decisions we make affect millions of users. The engineers we hire are highly skilled and we strive to create an open and collaborative environment where people can express their ideas. I've personally worked with many engineers on their growth trajectory here at Handy and beyond, and wish you brought your concerns to our attention while you were here. Because we do value growth and act on feedback, I would like to take the opportunity to talk to you about this directly if you are open to it. Thanks. Kulesh Kulesh Shanmugasundaram SVP Engineering

  6. "Great people, great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Highly collaborative. Everyone can jump in with ideas, no matter their role. More importantly, any shared ideas or questions are heard out and addressed. - People here are great to work with. Everyone is excited about the work and are eager to help one another. - Individual and team achievements are recognized and celebrated on a regular basis. - Flexible PTO - Catered lunch

    Cons

    Haven't run into any, and don't think I will.

    Handy2019-12-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment focused on growth. The company definitely acknowledges peoples' hard work and successes. Feedback is highly encouraged across all levels. Alongside quarterly and annual reviews, most people have regular 1:1s with their team leader as well. Accessible C-Suite/Execs. Good Benefits & Perks (for the most part) - Unlimited PTO (they really do mean it, so long as you get your work done!), great family leave policy, catered lunch and dinner, regular team outings

    Cons

    Nothing major. No 401K match - but fingers crossed it's happening soon.

    Handy2019-09-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - There's a huge focus on feedback. There are channels set up to encourage feedback across all levels and all departments. Hiring managers go through extensive training to ensure they know how to support people as *real* people. Consistent quarterly reviews + annual review for everyone. - So many brilliant and creative coworkers! I feel lucky to work along side the team at Handy. The executive team is well respected but has not been put on some sort of pedestal. Very easy to talk to. Open door policy. - Work hard play hard. Teams are encouraged to go on team outings to get to know each other outside of their day to day jobs. The company wide retreat is something I look forward to every year. - Free snacks, lunch and dinner are always a nice perk too.

    Cons

    Continue to work on communication and transparency to broader org. It's critical everyone is aligned and has a clear view into upcoming goals and growth.

    Handy2019-08-29
  9. "Amazing company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Marketing Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch, great office, amazing people.

    Cons

    wages are lower than average

    Handy2019-09-10
  10. Helpful (16)

    "shady company with shady business practives"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    typically tech company benefits, unlimited* vacation

    Cons

    this company engages in duplicitous and unethical business practices towards its customers and contractors alike. It's even trying to change laws to screw its contractors even more

    Handy2019-07-28

    Handy Response

    August 30, 2019SVP of People

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review to our Glassdoor page. With millions of completed jobs & an average customer rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars, we are proud of our service offerings and disagree with your characterization of how we treat customers & pros alike. And we proudly support efforts to modernize laws that allow companies to provide additional support to workers while also supporting the platforms by clarifying existing laws, ultimately keeping existing jobs and paving the way for future growth. Unfortunately, when someone posts a message to our page, Glassdoor is unable to fully verify their identity in relation to their employment. This means you may or may not actually work here. But if this review is indeed from a Software Engineer at Handy I strongly encourage you to talk to me personally about your concerns. I am likely only sitting a row or two away from you. Or, you can use any of the multitude of internal feedback channels and we will work hard to address any issue that you raise. Thank you, Mike Wanderer SVP, People Operations

Found 114 reviews