KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hanover Research

Engaged Employer

Hanover Research

Add a Review

Hanover Research Reviews

Updated May 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 234 of over 242 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Hanover Research CEO Wes Givens
Wes Givens
99 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

357

130 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some nice people you can make friends with.(in 27 reviews)
  • "We all have tons of work to do, but smart, interesting coworkers mean plenty of social breaks from the daily grind.(in 16 reviews)
  • "The people at Hanover are some of the nicest and most intelligent colleagues I have ever worked with at any organization.(in 15 reviews)
  • "1. Company culture(in 12 reviews)
  • "Many opportunities to provide feedback on CDs/MCDs, regular check(in 9 reviews)
Cons
  • "While Hanover consciously builds a structure of support for its employees through assigning research coaches, personal managers, and keeping lines of communication open between HR and other employees, individuals must take the initiative to ask for help when they need it.(in 13 reviews)
  • "I left because the low pay wasn’t worth the high amount of stress that I experienced while there.(in 13 reviews)
  • "making sometimes seems a bit haphazard in upper management, with priorities shifting or lack of follow(in 12 reviews)
  • "Management is always happy to hear input from the entry level employees, take advantage of this.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Incompetent leadership: This was my biggest pain point.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Amazing Company and Great Opportunity to Enter a Sales Career

    May 2, 2022 - Senior Business Development Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall, I think Hanover is an amazing company. There are endless possibilities for growth within the company that can go even beyond sales if you are so inclined. Not only do they dedicate a significant amount of time to your training in the beginning, they are highly motivated to offer professional development opportunities that allow each employee to succeed. During my time at Hanover, I have held numerous roles and have had the opportunity to do work that is typically reserved for more senior and tenured individuals. These opportunities are presented when you are able to demonstrate your mastery of the skills required to succeed and the possibilities are endless for growth. Not only did I enjoy the work itself, I found that my coworkers have become close friends and those that I will keep for years to come. I can't say enough about how amazing this company is, especially for individuals seeking to enter the sales profession or recent graduates who are looking to start their career with a dynamic and diverse team that will ultimately set you up for success no matter where your career takes you.

    Cons

    The job can be stressful at times when running at a sales goal, but this can be said in any sales role.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Thank you taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy being a part of Hanover Research and appreciate your review. -People Team

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    No complaints

    Mar 22, 2022 - Senior Research Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Challenging work and interesting subject matter for those interested in higher education in a fast-paced environment. A great job for an independent worker who enjoys the process of research, reading, and writing. - Flexible work from home policy - Smart co-workers with useful feedback. Most have a master's or PhD in the humanities. - Most directors are invested in the growth of researchers and will push you to be better - Professional development days to develop skills - Promotion and review process is clear cut and management makes an effort to review employees fairly - Expectations are clear - Hanover has a good reputation and trains people well; those who leave may be recruited into companies with much higher pay - HR and IT teams respond quickly and effectively - Management makes an effort to make employees feel supported and appreciated - Coworkers are friendly and happy to help or collaborate - Each project requires the editor to provide notes on feedback. Researchers know what to improve or how they did well. - Most projects are sufficiently staffed with enough support to fill in the gaps on missing skills/knowledge. You are rarely flailing and can always ask for more help. - Project managers make an effort to give employees a balance of very challenging and less demanding projects depending on individual skill and experience. - Directors double as managers so they have a great sense of how to deliver feedback and develop researchers, but also have a lot on their plate separately. - Interview process requires a writing assignment so you know you have the skills to do the job as well as an idea of what it will be like - DEI events are supported

    Cons

    - It's a grind and can be really demanding for a consulting/research role that is relatively low pay These are not necessarily cons but for consideration: - Interview process requires a writing assignment - Not much of an "office culture" (most are fully remote since covid) but it's great for a job that lets you have a significant amount of flexibility outside of work. That being said, a little enthusiasm goes a long way. - Getting accustomed to the workload, system, and pace may take longer hours than usual for a few months before getting into the rhythm (for many people it does). Be prepared to set boundaries on work time and become very efficient in time management. - Be prepared for at least one survey proofreading task on top of your projects each week - Relatively high turnover rate. It's a grind and doesn't gel with everyone. The people who succeed are receptive to feedback, can manage time well, and find some genuine interest in higher ed. - There's always more than enough work to keep you busy. No idle time in between or during projects like some consulting firms (this can be a pro or or a con depending on who you are). - The project timelines are condensed for efficiency. There is little margin for procrastination, especially for the first few months. This can be stressful or push you to grow. - Most people take one or two PTO days every few weeks rather than chunks of vacation. It's the type of job where most people will gravitate towards short and frequent rather than long breaks, although there hasn't been any pressure to do either. - You don't get to meet your direct manager until you start working there. This makes it hard to figure out how well you work together before you get there, but they are mostly supportive and offer monthly check-ins.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Thank you taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy being a part of Hanover Research and appreciate your review. -People Team

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    na

    May 11, 2022 - Senior Research Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great teammates. they are supportive.

    Cons

    low salary, no upward mobility

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to making Hanover a great place to work and would like to understand more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at peoplesupport@hanoverresearch.com with more information. -People Team

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a good place to grow

    Feb 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Ballston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are nice. You have full ownership on your tasks. The office space is not too bad.

    Cons

    As a researcher, you are limited to the skills you learn, especially those in generalist positions. Doing 24*7 secondary research doesn’t add a lot of value to your skill set. Market researchers in other companies are usually well versed across secondary, interviews, data analytics, and surveys so once you are out of Hanover, you aren’t very competitive in the job market. They are lucky that they are located in an area where a lot of educated and highly skilled people live so they are able to attract employees. But the high turnover reflects poorly on their ability to keep their employees, especially since growth opportunities are limited. As someone looking to join, definitely think about your career goals. Are you someone willing to grow into a generalist position (doing just one methodology) or do you prefer to mix up your skills. Also beware, some of the managers do not have experience and include those who were promoted just because they decided to stay long enough. You will probably know more than your manager but they will take the credit for superficially managing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Chief Content Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I wish your experience at Hanover had more fully lived up to your expectations. We are very transparent about the specific research methodology areas researchers are hired into, and cross-training opportunities to learn additional methodologies are frequent and encouraged. We are also proud of the value our researchers deliver to our clients, which has made us one of the fasted growing market research companies in the country and has created growth opportunities for our employees. Just in the past 2 years, over two-thirds of our employees have received a promotion within or a higher position outside their current department. One of our biggest investments in the past year has been professional development; we now offer one professional development day a quarter to all researchers, during which they can avail of a range of resources to focus on their own growth and learning, without any project pressures. I would be remiss not to mention the quality of our managers; in the last engagement survey we ran in 2021, 96% of our employees were likely or extremely likely to recommend their own manager to others as a people manager. I wish you the very best in your future endeavors.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Curiosity+Drive and you'll succeed

    Feb 28, 2022 - Business Development Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - room for growth - interesting people (if you find the right ones) - very easy to network with anybody at the firm

    Cons

    - limited amount of roles for promotion, avenues for promotion from entry level come once a year and you need to be ready for it - any role at Hanover is hard, if you make it to 2 years it's easier to coast a bit, but you need to make it that far - uninspiring work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Thank you taking the time to write a thoughtful review and or your feedback. We are dedicated to making Hanover a great place to work and would like to understand more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at peoplesupport@hanoverresearch.com with more information. -People Team

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    10/10 would recommend

    Oct 14, 2021 - Manager, Revenue Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started at Hanover as a Business Development Associate on the corporate team before moving into a training/onboarding role on the education side of the business. If you’re looking for a challenging and and fast paced entry-level role, the BDA job is absolutely for you. Hanover is the perfect introduction to sales and gives you an opportunity to make a lot of money off of commission if you put in the extra effort and are willing to be adaptable. The BDA role is a very cold calling/emailing heavy role where you’re constantly chasing a (sometimes difficult) monthly goal. It can be a competitive role that is not for everyone, but that’s what makes the job exciting and rewarding at times. I most enjoyed my time on training team at Hanover due to the managers that I had the pleasure of working for (shoutout to Nik Gogol — an amazing boss, mentor, and manager that I learned so much from!) The only reason I left Hanover was to pursue a completely different career field. If you’re looking for a community to learn and grow with, I would HIGHLY recommend applying at Hanover. I referred my childhood best friend to the BDA role (she still works there!) and I made a new best friend/roommate at Hanover as well.

    Cons

    The BDA role can be difficult and at times takes thick skin, but is worth it.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Manager, Talent Acquisition and Retention

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed being a part of Hanover Research and appreciate your review. -The People Team

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, lack of compensation

    Sep 20, 2021 - Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -The people at Hanover are some of the nicest and most intelligent colleagues I have ever worked with at any organization. They are genuinely friendly and eager to help, and I have made some lasting friendships here. -There is opportunity for promotion and upward growth, regardless of the title you start at. -Hanover has adopted a permanent, flexible WFH policy following the pandemic, but also allows people to go into the office if it is their preference (note that this really is a preference, and remote workers are not discriminated against or pressured to return to the office).

    Cons

    -Hanover insists that it compensates its people fairly according to market rate. However, turnover is high every year and when people move on to new jobs with a 50-80% pay increase, it is hard to believe the company spiel about fair pay. The benefit is that Hanover teaches you a lot, so you can easily leverage your position here into a higher-paying role if you stick around for just a year or two. -Workload is heavy. Again, when former colleagues move onto new jobs and get paid more for less work, it is hard to believe the company line that they are staffed appropriately. -Retention is a problem, and training new people is time-consuming and uses up a lot of bandwidth of those who remain.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I wish I could've left on a better note, hopeful for change in the future as I can see the potential

    Mar 3, 2022 - Business Development Associate (BDA) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunity to dip your toes into corporate sales, but only if you are comfortable with simply dipping your toes into a full sales cycle and not advancing your skill set past that until you leave or on the rare occasion transition internally. The BDAs are solely responsible for initial meetings, and the directors they support do not schedule any of their own cold outreach... This is the sole responsibility of the associates. If you want to learn how to cold call + email or learn how to converse with C-Level executives on the phone, this is a great role for you as the communication skills I developed are definitely valuable and substantial to have throughout my career.

    Cons

    The culture on the sales team is horrendous. I can recall numerous colleagues whom I developed relationships with, myself included, that legitimately had to go on antidepressants while in seat as it was that toxic and draining. Massive internal issue surrounding seniority and authority, with job security consistently on the line and alluded to by mid/upper management, even in group settings via emails to the BDA team or in team meetings. Turnover was extremely common, with a few people coming and going each month. Something clearly isn't working nor motivating any associates to succeed, they are consistently pressured to input robotic and borderline harassing outreach metrics to get hold of clients (ex. scraping sketchy websites and finding personal cell phone numbers for C-suite executives was an everyday norm and expectation, using fake VOIP numbers to dial from random cities, recording of our cold call conversations with prospects without any mention of consent, etc.). I was in seat for over a year before transitioning roles and was consistently in the top 50% of associates performance-wise, yet made less than $100 dollars a month on average in commission and was told during the hiring process the AVERAGE would be around 8-10K a year. As an above average performer, I can generously say I made around $2000/year in commission at most, with the extra few hundred bucks here and there coming from deals closed by my respective director originating from meetings I had scheduled. For context, this barely pays the bills for anyone living in the DC area and candidly, it was hard at times. The aggressive culture stems from the mid, upper, and executive level management, which has been expressed by several of my colleagues as well as myself at times during my time at Hanover with no change. Diversity both from a demographics perspective and from diversity of thought is also a mess. They constantly mention means to improve this, saying how proud leadership is by patting themselves on the back for implementing little things like charity matching for specific, pre-chosen leftist non-profits or implementing company observed holidays for Juneteeth and Indigenous People's Day, but I will always remember this one time on a company-wide all hands call the CHRO came on and presented this entire initiative to double the referral bonus for any candidates we submit that identified as BIPOC, LGBTQ+, or Veterans. Really inappropriate and uncomfortable sentiment that did not sit well with me nor my colleagues whatsoever and I’m surprised this was acceptable. I write this entire thread in hopes that Hanover reflects and refines from the several issues expressed above and to hopefully attract prospective employees that are willing or looking to make a massive impact and culture change, as this is a major issue impacting sales and the team needs to reform how they’re thinking to achieve the caliber of success that they want.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic company

    Feb 13, 2022 - Grants Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong leadership and collaboration on the grants team

    Cons

    Limited growth and salary opportunities

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Thank you taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy being a part of Hanover Research and appreciate your review. -People Team

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Feb 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule; positive impact on education.

    Cons

    Sometimes internal consensus takes a long time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hanover Research Response

    Thank you taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy being a part of Hanover Research and appreciate your review. -People Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 234 Reviews

Hanover Research Reviews FAQs

Hanover Research has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 242 reviews left anonymously by employees. 70% of employees would recommend working at Hanover Research to a friend and 69% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Hanover Research employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Hanover Research. This rating has improved by 11% over the last 12 months.

70% of Hanover Research employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Hanover Research 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Hanover Research to be benefits, coworkers, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, management, culture.

Popular Careers with Hanover Research Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hanover Research? Share Your Experiences

or

Hanover Research Careers

Cover image for Hanover Research

About Hanover Hanover Research is a global research and analytics firm that delivers market intelligence through a unique, fixed-fee model...More

  • Careers At Hanover
  • Benefits
  • Internships
  • Career in Sales
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Hanover Research

443 days ago

Company News
Hanover Research wins 2019 IES Sales Excellence Award in the sales training category. https://www.hanoverresearch.com/newsroom/press-release-hanover-wins-2019-ies-sales-excellence-award/
Shared image - Hanover Wins 2019 IES Sales Excellence Award in Sales Training
Hanover Wins 2019 IES Sales Excellence Award in Sales Training
glassdoor.com

Hanover Research Photos

+ Add Photo
Hanover Research photo of: Our "Hanover Organization of Women" (HOW) meets regularly to network, share and encourage each other. Hanover boasts a 50% female workforce including our executive team.
Hanover Research photo of: Hanover Pride is dedicated to creating a safe, inclusive environment for all staff.
Hanover Research photo of: Day 1 of the new puzzle!
Hanover Research photo of: Our puzzle for the month on the 3rd floor was World Beers! Fun, educational and inspiring! We have puzzles and games on all floors to give everyone a good excuse to take a break from their desks.
Hanover Research photo of: Big Buns is always a good snack spot!
Hanover Research photo of: We take cornhole so seriously that we have custom boards!
Hanover Research photo of: Week of Service
See All Photos