Cover image for Hanover Research
Logo
See All Photos

Hanover Research

Engaged Employer

Hanover Research

Add a Review

Hanover Research Employee Reviews about "professional development"

3.6
69% Recommend to a Friend
Hanover Research CEO Wes Givens
75% Approve of CEO
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Hanover Research CEO Wes Givens
Wes Givens
105 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

515

156 Comments

Consulting

818.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - /Community/consulting

Got a burning question about Hanover Research? Just ask!

On Glassdoor, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Hanover Research employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Community, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Excerpts from user reviews, not authored by Glassdoor

Pros
  • "Most of the people are great(in 28 reviews)
  • "Engaging, smart colleagues(in 16 reviews)
  • "We all have tons of work to do, but smart, interesting coworkers mean plenty of social breaks from the daily grind.(in 14 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and work(in 14 reviews)
  • "1. Company culture(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "I left because the low pay wasn’t worth the high amount of stress that I experienced while there.(in 15 reviews)
  • "While Hanover consciously builds a structure of support for its employees through assigning research coaches, personal managers, and keeping lines of communication open between HR and other employees, individuals must take the initiative to ask for help when they need it.(in 14 reviews)
  • "making sometimes seems a bit haphazard in upper management, with priorities shifting or lack of follow(in 12 reviews)
  • "Management is always happy to hear input from the entry level employees, take advantage of this.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Low salaries across the board.(in 10 reviews)

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hanover Research and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email

Found 28 of over 270 reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2023

Reviews about "professional development"

Return to all Reviews
28
    1. 1.0
      Aug 11, 2019
      Anonymous Employee
      Former Employee, more than 1 year
      Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Proximity to metro and good food trucks A handful of friendly colleagues

      Cons

      This place makes no sense for experienced professionals. The environment is myopic, short sighted and incredibly biased. Leadership is inexperienced and has no concept of professional development-fair promotion is nonexistent. The favorites are fed deals and are allowed to game the system, and everyone else has to make the best of a terrible territory. The market research is a joke, perfect for an unsophisticated buyer. If you’re 22, right out of college, need to get out of your parents house, and no one else will hire you, give this place a try. Other than that, run far far away and don’t believe anything the recruiters tell you. Unless you’re interested in wasting your time and talents with zero professional growth.

      20
      1. 5.0
        May 29, 2012
        Managing Director
        Current Employee, more than 3 years
        Washington, DC
        Recommend
        CEO Approval
        Business Outlook

        Pros

        + Attractive bonus and compensation potential + Staff is smart, energetic, and hard-working + Fast growth of the firm consistently produces new opportunities and a dynamic atmosphere + 401(k) with 2% employer match + Great health benefits + Perks such as the occasional catered breakfast/lunch, and comped dinners after 7 pm + High level of staff involvement for community service events and happy hours/fundraisers

        Cons

        As Hanover has grown quite quickly in the past few years a need for professional development for mid-upper level management has evolved which to date has not been met

        4
      2. Join the Hanover Research team
        See Our Latest Jobs
        1. 2.0
          Oct 18, 2016
          Researcher
          Current Employee, more than 1 year
          Washington, DC
          Recommend
          CEO Approval
          Business Outlook

          Pros

          (1) Flexibility - researchers are able to work remotely, on occasion, which is good if you're traveling, sick, or if weather is bad. (2) Independent work - a plus if you like working independently. A negative if you need to socialize. But if you're on the research side, you should not need to or even have the time to socialize. (3) Free coffee, tea, snacks (4) The new professional development initiative where researchers accrue a day every six weeks to use on online courses or other prof development ideas. (5) PTO increases by a day each year you are employed. No rollover limits. (6) Opportunity to hone research and writing skills. Hanover is like the big shiny house on the top of the hill, but once you get closer, you see all the cracks and how dilapidated it is. Management likes to point to the bright shiny things it throws at us, like happy hours, its learning and development program, more happy hours, executive office hours, and the like, but all of that is covering up the cracks. High turnover, bad work life balance - unless you choose life and end up trading work quality and performance, known culture of bad sales practices and essentially lying to clients. All the company cares about is churning out projects as fast as it can. It doesn't matter who does it, as long as it gets done.

          Cons

          (1) Flexibility - researchers are fully able to complete our work remotely, all the time. Of course, there are some researchers who may not be able to do so, or may not want to. Give us the option of being able to work telework all the time, based on performance. The privilege can always be taken away if the researcher is underperforming while remote. The CHRO will likely make a comment about company morale, the fun activities and volunteer activities that researchers do together, but none of those are good arguments. (2) Timelines - they aren't lying to you when they say timelines are short. But when they tell clients that we spend about two weeks for a project, feel free to laugh. If researchers are given the full amount of time the company quotes to clients, then perhaps deliverables would be better. This dishonesty is disheartening and obviously dishonest. Especially when clients come back with less than positive reviews, and you are caught in the crosshairs. Another item with timelines - management likes to say we can extend deadlines, but projects are pushed back so many times, the pipeline is congested, and there is hardly ever room for extensions. Instead you have to settle with sending in a shoddy but complete report or an incomplete report partly because of management's bad planning. But all the blame is on you, because you get graded on your projects, and you can't grade your CDs. (3) Open floor plans - Stop kidding yourselves with open floor plans. We don't have time to share knowledge when we're so busy trying to meet impractical deadlines. The company is once again moving about half of its workforce to yet another location, and we all hear that HR is going forward with an open floor plan, even for directors. This is one of THE clearest indication that the company just plain does not care about the research side. HR has taken comments from people in Content, but it's known that HR isn't even considering our thoughts. A mere formality to show us that they care. But you know what? That's not caring. Or, maybe HR is also just trying to assuage all the reviewers here who complain about the cubicle setting and lack of socialization with coworkers. Well, open floor plans are even worse. IMO, the ones complaining are more likely to be the underperforming researchers who have time to socialize to the extent where they prefer open floor plans. (4) Transparency - None to speak of. The company used to have a different rewards program for researchers, then all of a sudden it changed to something else. We used to have quarterly updates, we have none anymore. We used to have a Hanover newsletter, we do not any more. No explanation. Everything just disappears. Or appears. (5) Planning - also none of this. If there was, the company would not have to have moved so many times in so few years. (6) Promotion and salary increases - the CHRO says that salary adjustments are given to those with good performance reviews. This is not true. Salary adjustments are selectively given to those with good performance reviews. Salary adjustments are thrown your way when you leave. Those who stay and perform well must argue for their own raises. (7) It would help if researchers could rate their CDs and MCDs, after each project or when performance reviews come around. The current system is terrible. in order to review superiors, we have to disclose our names. Hanover believes that researchers are so childish and irresponsible that we are unable to properly review superiors under the cloak of anonymity. Even under anonymity, I have heard stories from other coworkers about being questioned whether they had penned particular reviews on Glassdoor.

          31
          1. 5.0
            Aug 25, 2015
            Anonymous Employee
            Current Employee
            Recommend
            CEO Approval
            Business Outlook

            Pros

            The company has many great opportunities for professional development. You can also learn a lot by working with colleagues, who are very responsive and helpful. In addition, the company is very supportive on personal issues, and tries the best to help you from all aspects. Work conditions are also very good to employees, and the company allows you to work remotely after you work for long enough time and have good performance.

            Cons

            The work pace is fast, and sometimes you can be very busy (but not always). Most of the time, you work on a project yourself, and there's not much collaboration. This mode might not be suitable for those who prefer collaboration during work.

            1

            Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you are enjoying your time at Hanover. I must agree that the pace is fast. Our clients expect us to respond to their questions within a short time and that can be challenging at times. The independent nature of the work is beneficial for some employees but a little isolating for those who need more constant social interactions during the day. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

            1. 4.0
              Aug 1, 2016
              Anonymous Employee
              Current Employee
              Recommend
              CEO Approval
              Business Outlook

              Pros

              A lot of the pros are obvious and repeatedly stated: autonomy on projects and setting your own schedule, 18 days of PTO per year with an additional added per year in seat, nice office spaces, smart people, respectful environment (it's hard to imagine someone ever yelling or getting yelled at), access to senior leadership (monthly coffee hours of the option to simply ask to meet), happy hours, team events, etc. Overall, I like working here, and am generally happy. To some of the points about cons, there have been obvious attempts from leadership to fix some issues repeatedly criticized: 1) performance reviews: the summer session is now expedited after feedback that the process is too lengthy, particularly twice a year. Summer is also informal for managers who tend to be in seat longer. It's probably a more appropriate frequency for those positions. 2) employee feedback surveys: results from the largest one of these were shared (high level, not the whole data set, but a good amount of detail) via PowerPoint to the whole company. 3) project ratings: the VP recently sent out a Content-wide communication asking for feedback on current ratings and including plans to overhaul ratings with less or no numerical feedback. 4) transparency: so far, sporadic attempts to answer questions from the online suggestion box and provide communication about ongoing projects (such as the content process improvement initiative with strategy). Hopeful that this will become more regular. What they have done has been good to see. 5) project quality: there has been a major initiative focus on finding efficiencies in project structure and timelines, aimed not just at making projects faster but at giving researchers more time to work or to focus on development. The project quality will never be like a firm where you work on a project for 6-9 months. That's not what we do. We are the "value" option which means we do things quicker, and there's less time to polish. You should be ok with turning in imperfect work if you come here. It does provide value to the client. 6) pay: this isn't really a pro or con. Entry level salaries are lower for some positions than others but any promotion is accompanied by a large raise. They probably want to reserve higher salaries for people who demonstrate great work and stick around for a bit.

              Cons

              There is still room to grow: 1) transparency: there have been updates on what is happening and answers to questions from the vp, executive in residence, strategy, etc., but they are still sporadic. Until they become regular and Hanover starts regularly soliciting employee input for major initiatives (again, like the cpii) there is more room to improve. 2) long-term professional development: Hanover's l&d team is there to get people trained to start working and to support newer employees. The CHRO had a q&a about what professional development in year two would look like and right now that's a good question. People want to keep building their skills and when they feel that stops they get frustrated. Without a plan in place for supporting people who have the basics down, this issue will continue. L&d cannot do all of this when they are spending time getting everyone up and running and also are the same age/general experience level as the analysts. 3) positive workplace culture: perhaps the biggest issue is creating and sustaining a group of happy people. No matter how much incremental progress is made, clearly some people are unhappy. This is more complex than just trying to be more transparent or respond to criticisms because the anger feeds on itself, and incremental progress from Hanover does not satisfy people who are already upset. 4) 401k has good investment options but, yes, the vesting is low and slow. When the rest of the benefits package is very good, that stands out. 5) project timelines, employee boredom, etc.: with constant quick turnaround it is only a matter of time before many people get bored or tired. Some of #2 will help. If improvements in efficiency can provide people a break to focus on their own development that will go a long way for those who get bored or tired. Timelines are not impossible but it's the way that the projects come one after the next.

              11
              1. 5.0
                Mar 22, 2022
                Senior Research Associate
                Current Employee, less than 1 year
                Washington, DC
                Recommend
                CEO Approval
                Business Outlook

                Pros

                - Challenging work and interesting subject matter for those interested in higher education in a fast-paced environment. A great job for an independent worker who enjoys the process of research, reading, and writing. - Flexible work from home policy - Smart co-workers with useful feedback. Most have a master's or PhD in the humanities. - Most directors are invested in the growth of researchers and will push you to be better - Professional development days to develop skills - Promotion and review process is clear cut and management makes an effort to review employees fairly - Expectations are clear - Hanover has a good reputation and trains people well; those who leave may be recruited into companies with much higher pay - HR and IT teams respond quickly and effectively - Management makes an effort to make employees feel supported and appreciated - Coworkers are friendly and happy to help or collaborate - Each project requires the editor to provide notes on feedback. Researchers know what to improve or how they did well. - Most projects are sufficiently staffed with enough support to fill in the gaps on missing skills/knowledge. You are rarely flailing and can always ask for more help. - Project managers make an effort to give employees a balance of very challenging and less demanding projects depending on individual skill and experience. - Directors double as managers so they have a great sense of how to deliver feedback and develop researchers, but also have a lot on their plate separately. - Interview process requires a writing assignment so you know you have the skills to do the job as well as an idea of what it will be like - DEI events are supported

                Cons

                - It's a grind and can be really demanding for a consulting/research role that is relatively low pay These are not necessarily cons but for consideration: - Interview process requires a writing assignment - Not much of an "office culture" (most are fully remote since covid) but it's great for a job that lets you have a significant amount of flexibility outside of work. That being said, a little enthusiasm goes a long way. - Getting accustomed to the workload, system, and pace may take longer hours than usual for a few months before getting into the rhythm (for many people it does). Be prepared to set boundaries on work time and become very efficient in time management. - Be prepared for at least one survey proofreading task on top of your projects each week - Relatively high turnover rate. It's a grind and doesn't gel with everyone. The people who succeed are receptive to feedback, can manage time well, and find some genuine interest in higher ed. - There's always more than enough work to keep you busy. No idle time in between or during projects like some consulting firms (this can be a pro or or a con depending on who you are). - The project timelines are condensed for efficiency. There is little margin for procrastination, especially for the first few months. This can be stressful or push you to grow. - Most people take one or two PTO days every few weeks rather than chunks of vacation. It's the type of job where most people will gravitate towards short and frequent rather than long breaks, although there hasn't been any pressure to do either. - You don't get to meet your direct manager until you start working there. This makes it hard to figure out how well you work together before you get there, but they are mostly supportive and offer monthly check-ins.

                4

                Thank you taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy being a part of Hanover Research and appreciate your review. -People Team

                1. 4.0
                  Sep 21, 2011
                  Anonymous Employee
                  Former Employee
                  Recommend
                  CEO Approval
                  Business Outlook

                  Pros

                  Great environment to learn and explore Management is open to new ideas and new ways of doing business, if you're willing to share your opinions Lots of space to create new opportunities within the company's existing offerings Company has defined specific methodologies in several core areas Engaging, smart colleagues Nice office location Solid core business model

                  Cons

                  Very little professional development support or on-the-job training Lack of opportunity for structured career growth beyond director roles Most job skills are self-taught 'Product' innovation is often difficult and slow Office environment needs a makeover The viewpoints of soft-spoken employees often go unnoticed Need for increased communication channels between lower-level employees and management

                  2
                  1. 2.0
                    Aug 11, 2011
                    Content Analyst
                    Current Employee
                    Recommend
                    CEO Approval
                    Business Outlook

                    Pros

                    Young company with young employees Work with interesting clients--primarily non-profits in higher ed Work with smart co-workers with good collegiality

                    Cons

                    Senior management is out of touch and ambivalent to employees Promises are made and then taken away Often unrealistic expectations are put upon employees No opportunities for professional advancement/development Distant, erratic, and aloof CEO

                    12
                    1. 5.0
                      Aug 9, 2018
                      Senior Business Development Associate
                      Current Employee, more than 1 year
                      Arlington, VA
                      Recommend
                      CEO Approval
                      Business Outlook

                      Pros

                      Hard work is rewarded Good healthcare & PTO Access to senior management Professional development opportunities Hanover has a lot of good things going. I thoroughly enjoy the people I work with, I feel like I am given the tools to succeed, and the coaching to help me when I need it. You will learn a lot in this position (BDA and SDA) that will stick with you for a long time - work hard, even when things aren't going exactly your way, ask for help when you need it, and give back to others when you get to a point that you're able to. Overall, I have had a very positive experience at Hanover and feel like I have learned a lot. I look forward to moving up and gaining new responsibilities because I feel like I am ready for them. I would recommend to a friend and I have, multiple times.

                      Cons

                      Any sales job can be tough at times Hanover isn't perfect, no company is. We sometimes get a bad rap because this is the first place many people work and they come in with unrealistic expectations. You need to show up when you're supposed to, work hard, and generally do what is expected of you. This isn't college anymore. You can't skip class, you have actual responsibility, and you don't deserve anything just because you're here - you have to earn it. Some people aren't ready to handle that. If you do these things, you will do just fine. I certainly have not been a perfect associate - I have had my fair share of trials and tribulations, and every time, I have had people take the time to help me out and get me back on the right track, and I'm very thankful for that.

                      4
                      1. 5.0
                        Jun 30, 2017
                        Anonymous Employee
                        Former Employee, more than 3 years
                        Recommend
                        CEO Approval
                        Business Outlook

                        Pros

                        Hanover is an incredible place to develop your career. If you’re early on in your career and interested in building sales and communication skills, the Development Associate is a great place to start. There’s an uncapped commission and management gives you autonomy, while being supportive in your day-to-day job and professional development. Because of the upward mobility, rapid growth of the company, and flexibility, you can move into several different roles after the Development Associate position.

                        Cons

                        Since Hanover is still a fairly young, fast-growing company, sales goals can be aggressive, but they are obtainable if you’re ready to work hard.

                        6
                      Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews
                      </>Embed

                      Popular Careers with Hanover Research Job Seekers

                      JobsSalariesInterviews

                      Work at Hanover Research? Share Your Experiences

                      Hanover Research logo
                      or

                      Popular Conversations

                      image for bowl

                      Interview Tips

                      Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

                      190.7K

                      Product Design Manager

                      I’m interviewing with a vp of product today for a product design manager role and in my prep I’m struggling to think of a response for “a time I disagreed with leadership” like I know there have been times but I can’t think of a specific any tips or advice?

                      1
                      1 Comment

                      Account Executive

                      Does anyone have any suggestion templates for a message to send on linkedin that they’ve tested/worked to get a response from a recruiter that works at the company but isn’t linked to the job posting / hiring manager when you see a job posting that you are a right fit for and don’t have a relationship that you were able to build with time like most of these career advisors suggest and don’t want it to come across like a ask?

                      2
                      3 Comments

                      Manager

                      I’ve recently completed an interview for my dream job at a dream company. It went well (and received same feedback from HR afterwards), however I was just informed the position is placed on hold to ascertain their resources, etc. my interviewer was the head of the department. Would it be inappropriate for me to reach out to her on LinkedIn to let her know I would be interested in any future roles on her team?

                      2
                      3 Comments

                      Hanover Research Careers

                      Cover image for Hanover Research

                      About Hanover Hanover Research is a global research and analytics firm that delivers market intelligence through a unique, fixed-fee model...More

                      • Careers At Hanover
                      • Benefits
                      • Internships
                      • Career in Sales
                      This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

                      Reviews by Job Title

                      Company Updates

                      Employer logoHanover Research
                      Company News
                      3y
                      Hanover Research wins 2019 IES Sales Excellence Award in the sales training category. https://www.hanoverresearch.com/newsroom/press-release-hanover-wins-2019-ies-sales-excellence-award/
                      Shared image - Hanover Wins 2019 IES Sales Excellence Award in Sales Training
                      glassdoor.com
                      Hanover Wins 2019 IES Sales Excellence Award in Sales Training
                      0
                      Employer logoHanover Research
                      Company News
                      3y
                      For the fifth straight year, Hanover Research recognized as Top 50 market research firm by GreenBook. https://www.hanoverresearch.com/newsroom/press-release-hanover-research-greenbook-market-leaders-report/
                      Shared image - Hanover Recognized as Top 50 Research Firm in GreenBook Report
                      glassdoor.com
                      Hanover Recognized as Top 50 Research Firm in GreenBook Report
                      0

                      Hanover Research Photos

                      + Add Photo
                      Hanover Research photo of: Our "Hanover Organization of Women" (HOW) meets regularly to network, share and encourage each other. Hanover boasts a 50% female workforce including our executive team.
                      Hanover Research photo of: Hanover Pride is dedicated to creating a safe, inclusive environment for all staff.
                      Hanover Research photo of: Day 1 of the new puzzle!
                      Hanover Research photo of: Our puzzle for the month on the 3rd floor was World Beers! Fun, educational and inspiring! We have puzzles and games on all floors to give everyone a good excuse to take a break from their desks.
                      Hanover Research photo of: Big Buns is always a good snack spot!
                      Hanover Research photo of: We take cornhole so seriously that we have custom boards!
                      Hanover Research photo of: Week of Service
                      See All Photos

                      Expert Career Advice

                      Guide to Getting Your First Job

                      Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

                      How to Get a Job

                      Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

                      How to Get a Promotion

                      Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

                      How to Negotiate Your Salary

                      A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

                      How to Write a Resume

                      Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

                      Hanover Research Job Seekers Also Viewed

                      Advisory Board

                      3.9

                      1,992 Reviews
                      Compare

                      Glassdoor has 270 Hanover Research reviews submitted anonymously by Hanover Research employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Hanover Research is right for you.