Hanson Aggregates Reviews | Glassdoor

Hanson Aggregates Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Jim Kitzmiller
4 Ratings
  1. "Crane oper./ asphalt plant oper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crane Operator/Asphalt Plant Operator in Oriskany Falls, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hanson Aggregates full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Honest hard work with room for advancement

    Cons

    High turn over rate due to lower pay. Tough to develop a trusting work relationship

    Advice to Management

    Have been a reliable employee that has excepted new challenges and opportunities in a 24 year period. Looking to develops that relationship with a well established company near my home in the town of Hermon

    Hanson Aggregates2018-02-08
  2. "It could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Hanson Aggregates full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and Benny’s

      Cons

      Manager needs to stop micromanaging

      Advice to Management

      Stop getting on the guys who actually work and turn your focus on the people who don’t do anything

      Hanson Aggregates2017-11-01
    • "Cleaner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cl; Eaner in Connellsville, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hanson Aggregates for more than 19 years

      Pros

      I did all there quarry, and offices, worked at my schedule was very happy

      Cons

      Always seems to be something not good enough, they always complained about the dusting it was a quarry it was bound to get dusty quite often

      Advice to Management

      Be a little more thankful for the good help they get

      Hanson Aggregates2017-07-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Senior Sales Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hanson Aggregates full-time

      Pros

      Good place to work and good benefits

      Cons

      Business tied to the economy

      Hanson Aggregates2014-09-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good company, old fashioned style values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Flagging, Traffic Control in Syracuse, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Hanson Aggregates full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Various work sites and fast paced work environment. The work season tends to go by very quickly

      Cons

      Very long hours and a lot of time traveling and being away from home. Although safety really does come 1st with this company any construction related work comes with some risk.

      Hanson Aggregates2013-03-01
    • "FPA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hanson Aggregates

      Pros

      nice convenient location, good work life

      Cons

      political environment, lack of promotion, senior management conflict

      Hanson Aggregates2017-11-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Professional but lacking"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Unit Manager in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hanson Aggregates full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Provide training and have good people management experience

      Cons

      Low pay, not very technology oriented. The offices are messy and employees are bullied/bully each other. Poor atmosphere overall

      Advice to Management

      Treat you employees like people

      Hanson Aggregates2014-09-30
    • Helpful (3)

      "Life in the old lane"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Manager - UK in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hanson Aggregates full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good People, hard work is rewarded

      Cons

      stuck in the '90's like the rest of the industry Culture of fear from the very top down

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees a little more - the culture of fear is driving good people away

      Hanson Aggregates2012-08-13
    • "Challenging, long hours, great experience and few good promotions."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Production Manager in Melbourne
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Hanson Aggregates

      Pros

      Exposure to the whole business as a Grad. Great experience and knowledge to be had. Heading in the right direction with training and safety. They look after you if you work hard in regards to promotions/moves.

      Cons

      poor pay increase after grad program. work/life balance or money could be better. one or the other. senior management at the moment doesn't have the balls to stand up and say we need to retain our staff and the reason they are leaving is because we don't pay all that great, expect the world and don't realize that just because a RGM is willing to work 60-70hrs per week not everyone else is.

      Advice to Management

      Pay a little more, people will stay in roles longer. Build stability and sustainability. The Melbourne business has "fallen" apart when it comes to senior managers leaving and all operations have had new managers. Although the managers are keen and skilled they are picking up the pieces from what is left over after disheartened managers have left. This is costing a considerable amount of money. Why not just pay everyone...

      Show More
      Hanson Aggregates2011-10-14
    Found 9 reviews