Harbor Freight Tools District Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools District Manager Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
23 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, great leadership, good people

    Cons

    can't think of any, love this place

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-17
  2. "Great Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is a fast-paced environment. The company has made huge improvements to systems and store layouts. The customers love the company and that makes the interaction with our guests very rewarding.

    Cons

    If you don't like a fast pace and continuous Improvement, this is not for you. If you do like the challenges that come from working for a collaborative and profitable company then this is your place.

    Advice to Management

    In a fast-paced environment sometimes we become problem solvers. We need to remember to acknowledge the work of our team and the contributions that they make to Our Success.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-13
  3. Helpful (5)

    "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Calabasas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is the only pro outside of a very hard working store manager group. That is really it, nothing else.

    Cons

    Dictatorship style of leadership, not open to feedback, no autonomy whatsoever, regionals have no clue what DM and store managers do.

    Advice to Management

    You think you empower, but you don't. You seek input but people are afraid to give it, don't kid yourselves.

    Harbor Freight Tools2017-09-07
  4. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    District Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools

    Pros

    Great people Great growth opportunities, always moving in a positive way . I have worked for over 30 years in retail and by far the best company.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything negative. As I always say you get out of life what you put into it.

    Advice to Management

    Only advice I would give is stay true to our roots and the employees in the field that make it happen every day. I know that they do

    Harbor Freight Tools2017-05-15
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Harbor Freight is the best employment decision I have ever made. This is truly a company that values it's employees as their #1 asset and works tirelessly to make the company a Great Place to Work! I am truly honored to work for such a Great Owner and Leadeship team.

    Cons

    I have None at this time!

    Harbor Freight Tools2017-05-06
  6. "Senior District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior District Manager in Southwest, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is unlimited growth potential, you control your own destiny. The company is opening so many stores that you can move up quickly.

    Cons

    There are not a whole lot of bad days, challenging at times, but worth it. I would recommend the company to anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on internal promotion.

    Harbor Freight Tools2017-04-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Harbor Freight Tools is an incredibly successful company that really takes care of it's people. I am a new DM for the company and the amount of support I was given through my training and mentorships have been amazing. I have had the opportunity to be exposed to pieces of the business that would have been impossible where I worked prior (Amazon). Highlights: Focus on training and development Honest direct discussion about opportunities available for those who perform well Everyone is humble who works here You are given the autonomy to run your business and develop your team

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing so fast that the biggest challenge is in continuing to invest and develop employees to grow with the company. Great problem to have.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-12-27
  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Lakewood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Good to the employees. Caring staff in store and corporate

    Cons

    None really to speak of. Liked working there

    Advice to Management

    Good luck. It's a lot of work but gratifying.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-04-07
  9. "Absolutely Amazing..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Saddle Brook, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Focused operating model, No egos in senior management, and all leaders have the same common goal. The company is determined to provide it's customers a great product at an amazingly low price. The companies focus on the associates has improved and has provided associates the opportunity to grow if they are willing to put in the effort.

    Cons

    Company needs to continue challenging underperformers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue growing and staying true to the companies values. Grow, grow, and grow some more. We are ready for the challenge.

    Harbor Freight Tools2014-08-04
  10. "Harbor Freight Tools- Growing Company with an Exciting Future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent leadership team with solid plan for company success and growth. Company cares about their employees and customers. Customer service is #1 priority with products that you can stand behind. If you are looking for an amazing company to grow with- Harbor Freight Tools is the one. It starts at the top with Eric Smidt (CEO). He is extremely involved and his care for our company is evident every day.

    Cons

    Extremely faced paced growing company- constant positive challenge to find top notch employees.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to my management team: Constantly look inward and focus on creating a great work enviroment where everyone can make significant contributions to our success.

    Harbor Freight Tools2014-06-23
Found 25 reviews