Harbor Freight Tools Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated January 17, 2018
1,092 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
569 Ratings

1,092 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Company is growing very rapidly so always something new to handle (in 29 reviews)

  • Paid time off if you build up hour (in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • awful hours not a good work life balance (in 32 reviews)

  • Upper management is very negative to employees "below them" (in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Wrote up while in the hospital."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    The money you can make.

    Cons

    Hours available. If warranties arnt sold we got in trouble and hours are cut.


  2. "Assistant Manager Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Descent pay, benefits and PTO

    Cons

    You don't get recognized for what you bring to the team or the results you deliver its who you know and who likes you that matters when it comes to promotions. They want people that just put their heads in the sand and don't ask questions.

    Advice to Management

    Check the Egos,

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback, and best of luck in your career journey, we appreciate your work and time with Harbor Freight Tools.

  3. "harbor freight tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some great coworkers they gave me a job

    Cons

    I was working two days out of the week and I got paid every two weeks and when it got slow don’t come to work we don’t need you!! If I need a job I would not pick this job!!!

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We're sorry that you have not had the experience you desired at Harbor Freight Tools so far. Please know your manager and district manager would be open to hearing your feedback, and thank you for... More


  4. "Not a reliable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Columbus, MS
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Columbus, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    When I first started working at harbor freight tools the first two pay checks were great and the hours were the same. I learned how to put the store together, stock items, unload truck.

    Cons

    After the store opened hours were cut for a lot of people unless management liked you a lot. The schedule would have people on there for just five hours and when you show up management would tell you the schedule changed and you weren't on there anymore. Also they lied about being compensated for gas while I trained at a different store that's over an hour away. I never got paid for it. From my experience the good managers left because how corporate did employees there and the managers that stayed were big dbags on a power trip.

    Advice to Management

    Needs new management

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we're always striving to continuously improve and that includes in our hiring processes. We wish you the best of luck in your career!


  5. Helpful (2)

    "The worst place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Logistics in Lagrange, GA
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Logistics in Lagrange, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The employee discount. That's it.

    Cons

    Working here. I worked here for over a year. Frome the start, I was yelled at and told I was replaceable. I was threatened at work, used, and constantly harassed. I was also lied to by the manager concerning promotions. HR never returned my calls. I was fired after hitting my head and reporting a safety concern.

    Advice to Management

    What's the point? You don't want to listen to anyone or fix problems.


  6. "They think they're still in high school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    The customers are extremely kind and considerate.

    Cons

    They discriminate against people with disabilities. They promote who they like, not who earns it.

    Advice to Management

    Don't threaten to assault your employees.


  7. "Just a body in the store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Aurora, CO
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are great people

    Cons

    Supervisors and managers are very disrespectful, rude and lazy

    Advice to Management

    Train you so called managers

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We're sorry you did not have the experience you desired at Harbor Freight. Know that your feedback is being shared with the appropriate team members, and we wish you the best in your future career... More

  8. "If you have a disability don't work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Uniontown, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Uniontown, PA

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great

    Cons

    Dont like people with hearing loss. Acted like I was stupid because I could hear well. Management plays favorites to certain employees and they get away with everything

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites and run the store like a business not dive bar.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We're sorry that you did not have the experience that you desired at Harbor Freight Tools. Know that your feedback will be shared with the appropriate team members, and we thank you for being a part... More


  9. "Register"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not good paycheck, when you need a sick day you can’t get one, and some of the managers are rude

    Advice to Management

    Try harder to know your employees and help them out don’t treat them like crap and then do nothing about it.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Sorry you didn't have the experience you desired at Harbor Freight, but best of luck on reaching your future career goals!


  10. Helpful (1)

    ""Don't Work in Central Texas""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Central, TX
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Central, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company has the intentions to be great. People at the store level trying to be "best in class" was inspiring and fun.

    Cons

    Gave everything I had 7 days a week in a difficult location with limited resources. No support from upper management. It is difficult to work somewhere where the District Manager uses time away from the store (family emergency/scheduled vacation) to do negative store visits. Employees are not allowed to be held accountable for mistakes or LP issues. Unannounced visits with the intention of finding policy violations. Obvious favoritism for Store Managers that did not perform to standard or put in much effort.

    Advice to Management

    Make your management teams feel valued for their loyalty, hard work, and respect and appreciate their family commitments. Monitor how the District Managers respond, treat, and engage the management teams. At times the level of disrespect and tone were unacceptable for something a simple as the wrong shelf height on a plan-o-gram. Never forget who does the Hard Work!!!

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, and will share it with the appropriate team members. Thank you for all your work with Harbor Freight, and best of luck in your career journey!


Showing 1,092 of 1,096 reviews
Reset Filters