Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated May 16, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,354 of over 2,378 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
1,227 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "good pay and very flexible(in 200 reviews)
  • "Health benefits are great and dental(in 160 reviews)
  • "Great people and fun to work at.(in 105 reviews)
  • "You receive a small portion of time off on each paycheck depending on the hours you work.(in 86 reviews)
  • "Some great coworkers they gave me a job(in 47 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Harbor Freight Tools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great staff, amazing selection.

    May 16, 2022 - Part Time Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, knowledgeable managers and supvs, helpful to everyone, know where stuff is, willing to check if floor location empty. Tools that last forever, many w/ lifetime warranty.

    Cons

    Easy return with extended warranties. Great deal!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking Associates like you. Thank you for your continued hard work and we look forward to seeing you grow!

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not Bad

    May 13, 2022 - Logistics Manager in Victoria, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays well and affordable insurance

    Cons

    Work late till 12 am I'm not a night person it didn't work for me but awesome place to work and great staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Harbor Freight, we believe in providing our Associates with respectful schedules and we highly encourage them to reach out to their Store Managers regarding scheduling concerns. Thank you for your hard work in Victoria, TX and we wish you the best in your career journey!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great benefits

    May 12, 2022 - Equipment Operator in Dillon, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything is pretty good about it

    Cons

    It's nothing really bad about it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking team. We strive to build the best place to work by learning as we grow and develop every step of the way. Thank you for your continued hard work in Dillon, SC and we look forward to seeing you grow!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company/ great people

    May 12, 2022 - Store Manager in Asheville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership is strong! Very associate/ employee focused.

    Cons

    None that I can remember.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your positive feedback. At Harbor Freight, we value people above all else and we believe in continuously improving at all levels, including management. Thank you for your hard work in Asheville, NC and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Harbor Freight Review

    May 9, 2022 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team to work with The company works great with you

    Cons

    Only twelve hours are guaranteed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always happy to hear from our team. We highly encourage you to reach out to your Store Manager regarding scheduling concerns. Thank you for your continued hard work and we’re glad to have you on the team.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome

    May 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really good place to work at

    Cons

    Logistics is typically 4pm-12am, so not much social life, but you do accrue PTO and sick pay pretty quick.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We depend on all our Associates to provide a great customer experience and build a great place to work. We value people above all else and we are committed to building a work/life balance for all our Associates. We highly encourage you to reach out to your Store Managers regarding any concerns. Thank you for your continued hard work and we look forward to seeing you grow!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great place

    May 3, 2022 - Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    still opening new stores annually

    Cons

    there aren’t any cons here

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking leaders. We strive to build the best place to work and your feedback will help us do that. Thank you for your continued hard work in Los Angeles, CA and we’re glad to have you on the team!

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Company!

    May 3, 2022 - IT Director in Calabasas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Spent 27 years at HFT. Enjoyed working with excellent teams and supportive management. Privately held. Strong economics. Incredible growth.

    Cons

    Really none. Sad they removed my position from the org chart.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    First, we would like to thank you for dedicating over 20 years of your career to Harbor Freight. As an organization, we owe our success and development to leaders like you and we are grateful for everything you have done. Thank you for your hard work and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great and getting Greater

    May 3, 2022 - Sr. Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission Statement - Provide high quality tools at lowest prices. People Statement Core Values I work with some of the smartest people in the industry, but they are kind and great to work with and for - team environment.

    Cons

    Fast pace, non-stop growth, and appetite for change is huge - at times overwhelming.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking leaders. At Harbor Freight, we take pride in our People First culture and we are committed to building an environment where our Associates have the opportunities to flourish and succeed. Thank you for your continued hard work and we’re glad to have you on the team!