Harbor Freight Tools Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated December 9, 2017
1,078 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,078 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Company is growing very rapidly so always something new to handle (in 29 reviews)

  • Paid time off if you build up hour (in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • awful hours not a good work life balance (in 32 reviews)

  • Upper management is very negative to employees "below them" (in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Happy Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Fun fast paced environment. Paid holidays. Sick time and vacation time accrue quickly. Promote from inside the company.

    Cons

    Bad hours. Upper management is very negative to employees "below them". No positive reinforcement for hard work. Unrealistic expectations for LOD program.

    Advice to Management

    The LOD program needs to be structured better. I feel that it can actually inhibit customer service because you must be out on the floor at all times which makes it hard to give individual customer service. IE: Checking in the warehouse for an item or actually pulling the item yourself for the customer so there is little wait.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    As you know, Harbor Freight is dedicated to continuous improvement, which your feedback is going to help us do. We thank you for your hard work so far, and look forward to seeing you in the stores!


  2. "Still a job but, Pros much outweigh Cons!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Great people
    Company genuinely cares about the people
    Highly ethical
    So successful; growth is amazing
    Incredible opportunities

    Cons

    It is hard work. Helping a company grow so fast is a lot of work and tiring (but, accomplishments make if feel worth it!).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going. Employees love this place, and we love the growth.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We love to hear that you're being rewarded for your hard work and accomplishments, which is something we strive for with all our associates at Harbor Freight. We'll definitely keep the growth coming... More

  3. "Low pay for hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Orem, UT
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Harbor Freight give some people a chance when other employers might not. They do not discriminate by how someone looks or how they dress.

    Cons

    Low close to minimum wag and hard warehouse work, over night, and odd hours. They expect what is unachievable at times.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to get better quality people. Promote from within, they are the ones that work hard to get into high paying positions. They are the ones vested in the company.


  4. "Warehouse associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Conway, SC
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Conway, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Experience with warehouse handling and structure

    Cons

    There could be some heavy lifting at times

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback and joining our family so recently! We look forward to seeing your career growth with us.


  5. "Calabasas Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Solid compensation, many opportunities to interact w senior executives, huge growth, that opens the door for numerous opportunities, generous benefits that haven’t increased in cost in years.

    Cons

    Sometimes things take a little longer than I’d like to get done; no stock plan

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback and your information about your experience with us at Harbor Freight. We will continue the great work and appreciate you sharing your story!


  6. "Unpredictable place to work. Just depends on who is your current manager & DM."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    PTO, 20% Commissions from insurance plans & ITC (coupon club). Cool stuff they sell, nice customers (except for the thieves, and people who "rent" tools. co-workers are super nice. The company does seem to try and be a good place to work for. Everyone loves Harbor Freight.

    Cons

    No security, people running out with product, pure crazy place. You have to multi-task, gets hectic! High turnover, frequent call outs. No set schedule. You feel like a robot saying the same "Are you receiving our free coupons?" over and over. It can feel a bit demeaning after awhile. If you don't sell ITC's & ESP (insurance plans) you won't get hours. Typical corporate place.. numbers are all that matter. You must be flexible because of all the call outs. Hours differ every week.

    Advice to Management

    I noticed in the almost 6 years I worked there that it depended on the DM of the stores. If management all stuck together and let the DM know if he is being highly unreasonable, or perhaps above his head. Harbor Freight was a fun place to work but then it just got weird.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback, and know that we will share this with the appropriate team members. Harbor Freight is committed to continuous improvement and you are helping us do... More


  7. "Logistics Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake City, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake City, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Most of the team at Harbor Freight Tools are good people and are more family oriented than most of the jobs I have held in the past. Overall they will work with you on anything you need help with during the training. Opportunities for advancement come regularly as long as you are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    The salary isn't great for part-time employees but that is to be expected.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback about Harbor Freight, and know that we will use it in our continuous improvement at all levels of the company. We wish you the best in your future career goals!

  8. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    The pay and easy going environment

    Cons

    Traveling distance between my home and he store.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you in the stores!


  9. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Already employed with Harbor Freight 400 Navy Blvd Pensacola Fl

    Cons

    like to work earlier hours

    Advice to Management

    Applying for Sr Sales Associate posted on board in break room

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we appreciate your positive recommendation! We look forward to seeing you in stores, and thanks for being a part of the Harbor Freight family!


  10. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Flexible when it comes to working around schedule
    Don't have to be a "tool head" to work there
    Paid time off for part timers which is unheard of

    Cons

    hours, pay, not a selling environment but metrics are measured

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope you continue to enjoy your time with our family at Harbor Freight Tools. We'll see you in the stores!


Showing 1,078 of 1,083 reviews
Reset Filters