Harbor Freight Tools Sales Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Sales Supervisor Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
15 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in College Station, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn the ropes of management. The culture here is awesome and makes you feel like you belong as long as you are a hardworker.

    Cons

    Late nights or early morning depending or AM or PM store.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-18
  2. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, livable wages, schedules posted three weeks in advance

    Cons

    you will be required to work all shifts.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-10-15
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Norristown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, high pay rate compared to competitors, great hands on experience, awesome team environment, paid Thanksgiving and Christmas even though the store is closed, and AMAZING benefits. Company prefers to promote from within; You can start as a part time associate and work your way to management in just a year or two. Also corporate provides an employee relief fund for those who hit hard times and/or emergencies.

    Show More

    Cons

    While not often, you can close one day and open the next. You will work at least one day a weekend, which is par for the course in retail, customers can be tougher then most.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-11-23
  4. "Its been a learning experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Beaver, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good for the amount of work

    Cons

    Never working consistent hours each week

    Advice to Management

    Good luck

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-12-05
  5. "work attmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Supervisor 

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    decent hours and benefits if full time status

    Cons

    worked weekends and big sales

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-10-17
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, good pay, great hours, benefits, full time

    Cons

    Terrible management and upper management

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-26
  7. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Tallahassee, FL

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent hours, pay is at a nice starting point, excellent benefits, bonus potential (mgmt)

    Cons

    Workload can be physically demanding

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-06-20
  8. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Jasper, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    Don't learn all of what the job offers really poor manger

    Advice to Management

    Have more of a home and work life

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-03-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Change can be good, but ours has not been."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, friendly co-workers, good 401k, amazing vacation accrual.

    Cons

    Work-Life Balance is absolutely terrible. Corporate expects Supervisors and above to be available during all business hours. Schedules vary A LOT on a weekly basis. District Managers breathe down your neck constantly and have you fearing your job.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that some people are single parents and cannot work all hours of the day or night. Realize that not everyone needs to work a mixture of shifts. If a store's scheduling works out for them, why force change? Our store has lost 8 of it's 12 long term employees (4 years+), and conditions continue to worsen. I keep getting told that the company will "Do What Is Right" for our employees, but then we get told to open our schedules, step down, or leave the company. We hire according to corporate standards, then get told to reduce hours (38 hours to Full Time employees, and the remaining hours are split with the part timers. PT will be getting scheduled roughly 5 hours in the upcoming weeks). Tell me how that is doing the right thing? Our people depend on their hours to pay the bills, and now we're going to spring a massive scheduling cut on them?

    Show More
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-01-03
  10. "Intimidating at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Sparks, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    But I love this place so far! 20% discount for you, family, and friends Great benefits (dental, medical, vision, 401k, life insurance etc) Store closes at 8pm Monday - Saturday and 6pm Sunday Easy promotion opportunities Learning new things and be apart of customers projects! You might even find yourself some new hobbies!

    Cons

    The advertising strategy bothers me. Radio ads and/or billboards would be great in my city but we just send out coupons via mail/email. We are a brand new store (opened 8/2018) and most people don’t know we are open yet!

    Advice to Management

    Please think about adding on more full time positions. A lot of people leave when they are only getting 12 hrs a week, especially when we have days where we really need to call someone in but we can’t.

    Harbor Freight Tools2018-09-03
Found 27 reviews