KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Harbor Freight Tools

Harbor Freight Tools

Add a Review

Harbor Freight Tools Employee Reviews about "benefit"

Updated Jun 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 2,425 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
1,253 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The pay is good and the monthly bonuses are a plus but inconsistent at best.(in 203 reviews)
  • "Great benefits and product to promote to customers.Training is available.(in 164 reviews)
  • "Great people and fun to work at.(in 107 reviews)
  • "You receive a small portion of time off on each paycheck depending on the hours you work.(in 82 reviews)
  • "Some great coworkers they gave me a job(in 48 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Harbor Freight Tools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "benefit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Long hours

    Jun 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefit package is good. You call sell back your pto time for cash. Customers are trained they need to wait at checkout.

    Cons

    District and regional managment just seemed to point out opportunities, did not recognize accomplishments. Hardly ever talked sales results just focused on processes. Operate on tight payroll plan. Truck hours are planned the same regaurdless of size of truck.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Employment Branding Specialist

    We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your benefits, and we appreciate your feedback. Harbor Freight Tools is dedicated to being a great place to work, which means improving as we grow. Please know we will take your feedback into consideration, and we wish you the best in your career!

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    The single worst job I have ever had and likely ever will

    Aug 19, 2011 -  in Calabasas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefit package is decent compared to some companies. Their corporate office is in a new, clean building with above average amenities.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations from management. Managers are not trained properly. Employees are put in "sink or swim" situations without proper training, leadership, or direction. Creativity is not encouraged. Work days are well over 8 hours in many departments and as high as 12 hours. Compensation is far from competitive. Harbor Freight Tools is often referred to as a "revolving door" due to the often occurrence of employees either quitting or being fired. Definitive career paths are not established.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Company culture is merely Okay, opportunity for advancement is bleak, pay is weak - reconsider your options

    Oct 26, 2020 - Choose Not to Disclose in Calabasas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employee discount is great; The company is extremely family oriented. From your first day you feel like family (this applies to the outcasts as well, lol). The benefits are slightly better than ‘okay’ but other companies profiting in the same margins offer better benefit packages. Still, the benefits package is pretty decent; Most of the employees are great people with great ideas and great attitudes. The company has never stopped growing.

    Cons

    Everything written below is based solely on the corporate environment – not the store environment. With that said, this is a retail company – therefore, a retail attitude and mindset. This company profits in sickening amounts. I won’t disclose the profit margin but it’s one that totally merits the disgruntled attitude being expressed below. All of the things below can be changed. If there were someone in charge that actually cared about making that change. This explains the excessively low Morale. The company could very easily take 1% of one sixth of the company’s profit and change the above statement. For numbers: that’s 1/100th of 1/6th … divide the profit by 6, divide that result by 100 and the remaining number could be divided by 1000 to change things. But honestly, the financial abuse doesn’t extend to all 1k corporate employees – only about 250 to 400 are really on the lower end so you could even divide that number by 50% again and still achieve the same goal. Just like family life - if you're not a favorite in the family, you'll get nowhere within the family. When considering accepting that job-offer you've just been given, look at the industry standard pay offered for that title - I guarantee you it will be either on the low spectrum or just below it. Make no mistake about it – that’s how it will stay. Only the Directors and above get paid industry standard or better, everyone else is barely making enough to survive let alone stay equal with the industry average. Everything you do is micro-managed – standards are high and the rewards are subpar. There are no training programs and people act like you’re stupid if you don’t know how to do something the HFT way – even when no one has taken the time to show you ‘the HFT way’. Upper management preaches there will be advancement opportunities - but they never surface & when they do surface, unless they like you, you're not getting the opportunity. Total favoritism atmosphere. You hear people talk about the bonuses they get, but you never get one. No will will ever tell you "who" is qualified for a bonus, the managers pretend they don't exist. You take an engagement survey every year - every year the same issues are noted on the survey - every year the same "nothing" is done to rectify the issues.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. At Harbor Freight, we value people above all else. Our goal is to be a great place to work and that means learning as we grow and improving every step of the way. We offer competitive pay rates, but each position will range depending on role, location, and other factors. Harbor Freight believes in paying for performance and rewarding our associates generously for the time, effort, and skill invested in collaborating together to build a great place to work. We will share your comments with the appropriate HR team. If you have any additional questions or concerns we encourage you to reach out to your HR Partner, HR Hotline at (800) 693-8377, or please email me at culture@harborfreight.com to discuss your concerns. We are glad to have you on the team and appreciate all that you do!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wish I had started sooner

    Dec 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Goldsboro, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is the best I have ever worked for. Everyone is willing to help one another and ensure that we have fun. The benefits are amazing and generous amount of PTO. Bonuses are monthly and I am highly impressed how great they are. Overall I wish I had come here a lot sooner in my career. I can truly say I hope I retire after 30+ years of service with this great company. I am an assistant manager now and hope to be a DM in 5 to 7 years.

    Cons

    The company is great overall. I wish that the company would offer Tuition Reimbursement/Assistance. With a lot of part time employees this would be a great benefit to offer. Many of my associates want to go to college but don't have the financial means to.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    We are always happy to hear from our hardworking associates and we appreciate your positive feedback. At Harbor Freight, we reward hard work with great benefits that matter to our associates. We want you to know that your feedback is valuable, as we are continuing to evolve and grow as an organization. We look forward to seeing you grow and we thank you for your continued hard work in Goldsboro, NC.

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Eh

    Dec 5, 2021 - Logistics in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of hours if you want them.

    Cons

    Poor training, lack of organization, always told to work faster, if offered full time most times you already work full-time hours there is no benefit to go full time except the “guarantee” of hours.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. At Harbor Freight, we strive to be the best place to work by learning as we grow and evolve every step of the way. We believe in providing respectful schedules to all our Associates which means setting the schedules at least two weeks in advance so they have the time to reach out to their Store Managers to discuss any concerns. As an organization, we are committed to improving at all levels, including management and we highly encourage our Associates to reach out to their HR Partners if they have any concerns to share. We want you to know that we value your feedback and we will forward your comments to the appropriate HR Partners. Thank you for your continued hard work in Fort Worth, TX and we look forward to seeing you grow!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast paced, high growth company with numerous opportnities. Exciting time to be at Harbor Freight Tools!

    Jun 14, 2014 - District Manager in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    With the rapid growth of the company there is great opportunity for advancement with excellent pay for performance! Challenging yet rewardiing! Great bonus program with strong total compensation package including benefit options.

    Cons

    Growing pains with rapid growth and expansion but executive team has vision and purpose with strong stategic planning and priority setting.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Retail Cashier

    Oct 25, 2014 - Retail Sales Associate in Gresham, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The environment at the store I worked at was good for a part time job. Benefits are an added benefit including PTO and the option to add into 401K.

    Cons

    Hours can be hard to get as they will not allow enough to get benefits you will be looking at 15 to 25 depending on the week and store.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not recommendable!

    May 30, 2013 - Cashier in Lakewood, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Commissions on selling warranties and....that's it.

    Cons

    Budget cuts on hours, close to minimum wage pay, numerous duties with little to no back up, pressure on following exact models and speeches to push for mailers, no appreciation for employees, takes advantage of good workers, less employees and more expectations on customer service, employee discount is almost the same as a customer's discount (if you are buying one thing-same benefit), majority of customers are mostly rude, lack courteous manners, and a brain.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Management

    Aug 11, 2018 - Senior Associate in Mankato, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefit package and paid timeoff. But that's where my good experience ends.

    Cons

    Constantly being told to bully customers while I'm being bullied, management changing the rules to suit themselves, constant lack of personnel makes it impossible to get time off. When you put in a complaint about the management it is ignored or brushed off completely or made to look like your own fault which constitutes bullying. I'm all about making a sale but I'm also all about a great customer experience. I want my customers to feel like I've helped them, not like I've asked for their first born child! If a customer tells me no and does not respond positively to my one or two rebuttals i should not be getting management in my ear piece telling me to bully them more. We are selling tools, not used cars!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Does not care about employees -- even top ones

    Jul 27, 2019 - Sales Manager in Amherst, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    benefits time off employee discount reasonable store hours

    Cons

    company seeks to fire you for using health insurance...'too much' company quick to terminaate even if an error occurs beyond individual control only 2 paid holidays per year poor performing 401K offers disability insurance but almost no one can benefit from routinely engages in patent and trademark fraud as a business model discriminates against EEOC/ADA associated employees quick to terminate even the best of employees under suspicious circumstances does not follow up on issues raised by employees to the company hotline for fraud,abuse,theft and other major workplace issues

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. Please know that we greatly value all of our associates and would not be able to accomplish all that we do every day without them. We will make sure to share your comments with the appropriate HR associates, and we want to assure you that our team values people above all else. We are always working to continuously improve our stores and your feedback helps us do just that. Thank you again for sharing and we wish you the best.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Harbor Freight Tools Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Harbor Freight Tools? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Harbor Freight Tools

32 days ago

Employee Story
For this month's Harbor Freight Happy Feature, we're recognizing our talented Store Manager, Jeff! Based in our Okeechobee, FL location, he says "[Harbor Freight is a] great company to work for. They give you all the tools to succeed." Thank you for everything you do, Jeff! 👏