Harbor Freight Tools "paid time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Employee Reviews about "paid time"

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
783 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full time employees earns 188 hours of paid time off in their first year(in 86 reviews)

  • "Company prefers to promote from within; You can start as a part time associate and work your way to management in just a year or two(in 66 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management unreasonable expectations of work task unreasonable(in 65 reviews)

  • "I would like our part time associates to work a minimum of 20 hrs a week(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "paid time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great place to work at, if you're willing to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PTO (Paid time off you can cash into your next paycheck), great insurance (when you reach full-time or Senior) a great place to get a workout (if you're trying to get in shape *Safely!*). -You will meet all sorts of people from different backgrounds and perspectives with different methods and ways of learning -Every day is a different challenge, whether it's a POG (Plan-o-gram change, or a FFR AKA truck day) -Tools, tools and more tools you can possible make use of at a 20% discount! -Currently working with a reasonably solid leadership team (some are relatively new, but that's where the seniors come in and help keep them up to speed) -Great potential in earnings if you're willing to deal with impatient customers and strive to hit goals. -A great job for college students and part-timers who can handle themselves well.

    Cons

    While this may sound slightly off-key, some places are effected by demographics. Meaning you won't get the best of the best, but you can't expect anyone to be good at their job on their first day, good work ethic is made, not genetic. If one associate is having a difficult time, a good way to show that the job is of any benefit is to show them how to make it easier and lead by example. Honesty is one thing some people are afraid of when the topic is about management, the direct report for an associate to a Leader must be made much more clear, and concise to determine whether the LOD is being optimal and diplomatic with the team based on work load and scheduling. Which recently the new time-clock has proven to be a lot more strict, but the reasoning behind it is that people should arrive on time as scheduled. The Kronos App was developed to insure that you had the schedule at your disposal and yes it must be checked daily based on varying budgets, and other variables that may effect the schedule. The true con is the inflexibility of the individuals who are unable to adapt to the growing environment. It is unfortunate to watch good people go, and work with the incorrigible that draw negativity because of their own disposition, but to counteract that is to stay positive and lead by example. Again the true con is mentioning a problem, but not producing a solution.

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-07-18

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    July 18, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us. We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your suggestions and ideas. Please know that we will consider your feedback in our efforts of continuous improvement. We appreciate all of your continued hard work in Wilmington and look forward to watching you grow with the team!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall decent company with a few flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate in Amherst, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is easy-going and easy to work with Paid time off for part-time employees

    Cons

    4am start most days Short 4 hour shifts often Low pay starting at 12/hr

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-11-05

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    November 5, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your continued hard work and suggestions in helping us make Harbor Freight Tools a great place to work. Thanks for all that you do! We look forward to watching you grow with us.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Know what you are getting yourself into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company offers paid time off and a matching 401k plan to full and part time employees. Can earn additional money by selling warranties and memberships. I enjoy talking with the customers and don't mind doing the job aside from the repetition.

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet without breaks while other employees are allowed to socialize and leave his/her work station. Expected to sell sell sell even though we were told our only responsibility is to offer certain products. Have to repeat the same 10 word phrase to every customer.

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-09-02

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    September 3, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. Please know that we greatly value your continued hard work and encourage you to discuss your concerns with your HR Partner or the HR Hotline at (800) 693-8377. You can also reach out to myself directly if you feel comfortable at culture@harborfreight.com. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to watching you grow with the team.

    Continue reading
  4. "Biased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics in Chillicothe, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid time off and benefits

    Cons

    The management people and styles

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-20

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 29, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know that Harbor Freight Tools is committed to continuously improving our stores at all levels, including management. We encourage you to reach out to your HR Partner or the HR Hotline at (800) 693-8377 if you'd like to further discuss your concerns. We look forward to watching you grow with the team!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great environment, lots of opportunities to make money, but objectively unfair policies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Marion, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you put in hard work, it's recognized by your store. My store manager was a fantastic boss, with a great work ethic and constantly pushed others to do put forth their best performance. Staff where I was at was always extremely friendly, had a good sense of humor, and was very effective in doing their jobs. Commissions are a great way to earn a lot of extra money, whether part time or full time associate. Benefits and paid time off are available for part time and full time positions alike.

    Cons

    Several of their policies, namely attendance and cash, have a "strikeout" format. If you are more than 6 minutes late or more than $5 under or over, you are flagged for the next six months. They do not communicate with you or with anyone at your store directly until your last "strike" and will automatically fire you if it happens again, even at the expense of your store, ignoring whether or not your managers plead otherwise.

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-10

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    August 12, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please know that we greatly value all of our associates and all of your hard work. Our policies and procedures are always designed with associates in mind, but we appreciate your feedback. We regularly monitor and collect suggestions and feedback in our efforts of continuous improvement. Thanks again for sharing, and we wish you the best in your future career!

    Continue reading
  6. "Hard Work does pay off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible scheduling, paid time off, never boring, you get to meet a lot of great people and your safety is a number one priority

    Cons

    No time off allowed during parking lot sales.

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-07-09

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    July 11, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for trusting Harbor Freight Tools with your career for over 8 years. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will consider your suggestions in our efforts of continuous improvement. Thanks for your continued hard work in Beaumont! We're glad to have you on the team. 😃

    Continue reading
  7. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid time off, sick time,

    Cons

    Can be physical at times

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-06-17

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    June 18, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your benefits and appreciate all of your hard work. Looking forward to watching you grow with our team!

    Continue reading
  8. "Good pay. Childish environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in El Cajon, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay benefits sick pay paid time off

    Cons

    Childish bad manager hours are bad

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-30

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    May 31, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for trusting Harbor Freight Tools with your career for over 3 years. We have been working on continuously improving our stores at all levels, including management and hours. We wish you the best in your future career!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place for part timers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sevierville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -commission available for specific sales. -they have a decent paid time off policy

    Cons

    they recently introduce some new policies surrounding the time clock. these same policies present the following problems. not enough time to complete tasks. often time they assigned one person to a single task and allow the time clock to judge how long the task should take. in my own experience, often their wasn't enough time to complete the task resulting in the fault being my own. even though i was rushing and cutting corners where i should not. this same policy likely does not account for cashier back up and customer interactions as well. making the task all the more difficult. their security policy conflicts with their attendance policy in certain circumstances. for example, if you were to attempt to call out in the morning before the store opens. the security policy demands that at least 2 people be present before the manager can go inside. this creates a conflict of interests. forcing the employee have it held against them regardless of the reason should they persist to stay out for the day. before i left, the store was understaffed, and while they are trying to hire more people, this creates scheduling errors and call ins. of which, can cause poor work/life balance even with the new time clock policy. this also has the opportunity to conflict with the new time clock policies. employees are informed to take breaks and lunches at specific times as instructed. however due to the aforementioned staffing issue, it's not always possible to do so. these issues sometimes resulted in me having to skip breaks and push my lunch back to complete assigned tasks and ensure their was appropriate coverage on the sales floor. my final point is the company advertises other benefits that are not made available to part time employees. but the posters and flyers mention nothing about this.

    Continue reading
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-21

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    May 24, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. Please know that we are dedicated to providing our associates with the best experience possible at Harbor Freight Tools. To do this, we have implemented some new time-keeping changes and we understand that it may take some time for our associates to adjust to them. Please know that we will share your feedback with the appropriate associates, as we value your input in making Harbor Freight a great place to work. We greatly appreciate all of your hard work in Sevierville and wish you the best in your future career endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. "Mixed feelings about harbor freight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Paid time off, privately owned, and commision on non-merch sales

    Cons

    Too many things are handled by corporate. The stores and their employees can't do anything on their own. The store runs on an extreme by the book system, including scripts, planograms, and when you can and cant open and close tasks.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-02

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    May 3, 2019Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know that we will consider your suggestions in our efforts of continuous improvement. We appreciate all of your hard work and look forward to watching you grow with the team!

    Continue reading
Found 86 reviews