Harbor Freight Tools "paid time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
794 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer a competitive salary. Flexible schedule. Earn lots of paid time off.

    Cons

    A lot of overnight shifts. Occasionally there isn't more than 5 or 6 hours between shifts. Don't get to take many 30 min breaks.

    Advice to Management

    Be more mindful of how you make the schedule.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-08-30
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A lot of good, but more bad about working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very structured procedurally, close knit employment community with a family/team feeling, flexible scheduling, annual reviews with performance based raises, opportunities for advance for hard workers. Generous 401K matching for full time and paid time off for full and part time. Never a worry about being paid as ADP does payroll with either direct deposit or deposit to Visa debit card and ALWAYS paid on time.

    Cons

    Ridiculous time demands for full time employees, NO OVERTIME EVER, expectations of working off clock, even when you don't work for free the scheduling makes it feel like a 60 hour a week job with pay for ≤40 hours. Expensive medical. Good luck taking paid time off when you want it. Most part time employees weren't even made aware of paid time off. Inconsistent scheduling/ hours for part time. You will RARELY see someone fired because HFT refuses to support unemployment compensation. If you don't give them just cause, they will force you to quit by minimal scheduling and/or terrible work assignments and/or terrible hours. Depending on the store manager, the family atmosphere can be a clique atmosphere. Yes men are rewarded more often and quickly than free thinkers. WAY TOO MANY CHIEFS and not near enough soldiers. Blame always rolls downhill.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either follow the SOP, or don't. Treat your people like assets, not liabilities to overhead or to your bonus. Store managers are under tremendous pressure to achieve numbers to achieve bonuses which leads to loss of perspective towards underlings. I was recently written up for insubordination because the district manager (store manager's boss) came directly to me with a specific assignment that contradicted my store manager's assignment. Was also written up for inconsistent performance over a vague time span that corresponded to no longer working off the clock. Was also told that if I didn't kick a co-worker (below me in the store hierarchy) out of my home, that I would be fired under the conflict of interest clause of the employee manual. Eric Smidt has a great plan for business. It just loses too much by the time it gets to the store level. So much pressure is artificially created by mid and store level management, that it becomes nearly unbearable to be a regular Joe employee trying to focus on customers first because the focus is always on bottom line to the exclusion of all else. My idea? Eliminate performance bonuses for every little metric measurement for store managers and above. The mark ups on the products sold is huge! Most items are 60% and above profit margin. The store managers are forced to put too much emphasis on things that are designed to attain performance bonuses than to attain actual sales performance. The result is burned out, ineffective, and disgruntled employees that adversely affect customer service. Best advice to Eric? Try doing the undercover boss thing. That would be the only way to see how distorted your vision gets at the store level!

    Show More
    Harbor Freight Tools2016-09-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Been working here for about a year. Scheduling is bad. No team players. We rotate through warehouse employees often."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools

    Pros

    Paid time off. Get fed on parking lot sales. Oppurtunity to make commission

    Cons

    Demographic of customers. Coupons. You are encouraged to cheat for itcs/esps and it affects hours.

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up g.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-07-16
  4. "Great Place To Gain Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Head Cashier in Auburn, ME
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great paid time off earn, pretty flexible about schedule, very diverse customer base, keeping busy during parking lot sale weekends, great place to start out in retail or people who can only work part time.

    Cons

    often schedule mishaps, not enough hours, not a lot of room for position movement, loads of angry customers, very little teamwork especially when busy. no benefits for part timers which makes up all positions except managers.

    Advice to Management

    Work as a team and that place can be great again.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-07-09
  5. "Great place if you like tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place to work if you like to work with tools and you also get a 20% discount on everything. And paid time off

    Cons

    Its a classic part time job that only needs a body at the register, you arent required to know anything about tools

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-06-12
  6. "asst. manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Assistant Manager in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has Great paid time off.

    Cons

    Not much of a training program

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it at First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    You get paid time off as well as spiff which can easily increase your paychecks by like $200 dollars

    Cons

    New Management isn't very professional as well as one team member that is part of the management team is very disrespectful to their employees. The company does not care about employees and will higher as many people as possible to lower hours.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees as well as listen to our feedback

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-05-08
  8. "Not horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is usually really friendly and helpful If you put the work in you could get a nice paycheck from commission Paid time off is available even for part time

    Cons

    Some of the most incompetent people I have ever met Short lunch breaks Constantly having to do other people's jobs Constant emphasis on selling warranties and memberships

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-03-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate/Cashier in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools

    Pros

    Very Flexible with scheduling. You have an opportunity to make a sales commission by selling extended service plans on power tools and memberships to the store. As a part time employee, you accumulate paid time off.

    Cons

    Sometimes hours could be inconsistent.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-03-07
  10. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Warehouse/Sales Associate in Culpeper, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly relaxed work environment, you get to learn a lot about tools and have the ability to talk to customers if you like doing that, paid time off is good and benefits are good

    Cons

    Base pay is low, especially for the members of the truck who have to work overnights there is no overnight percentage bump.

    Advice to Management

    My only advice to raise the base pay for the workers of the overnight shifts, cashiers have the potentional to make more money via spifs/commission.

    Harbor Freight Tools2016-02-11
Found 88 reviews