KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Harbor Freight Tools

Engaged Employer

Harbor Freight Tools

Add a Review

Harbor Freight Tools Employee Reviews about "paid time"

Updated Oct 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 of over 2,194 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
1,151 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Harbor Freight Tools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "paid time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Give what you get, get what you give

    Sep 5, 2014 - Head Pricing Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The paid time off (even for part-time employees) is a nice bonus. Slightly above average hourly wages, and a generous sales commission on extended warranties. The scheduling is generally pretty flexible. With the right staff, the work environment is fun. Serious advancement opportunities for those who apply themselves.

    Cons

    Archaic and antiquated equipment and retail systems. Overly micromanaged. Too heavy of an emphasis on metrics. Little to no customer focus. Hours can become somewhat scarce. Not enough employees due to strict hiring standards.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I loved working for this company, but in the end the company plays favorites and doesn't care about their employees.

    Jul 15, 2015 - Head Pricing Coordinator in Panama City, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Paid time off for part timers and full time. -flexible hours -closed for thanksgiving and Christmas -only 6 blacked out weekends a year

    Cons

    -lack of communication between management and district management -angry customers -customers blame cashiers for getting what they paid for -consistency -gossip -high turnover rate in employees -preach about moving up in the company but rarely happens unless you're a favorite of the District Manager -hours get cut randomly even though they keep hiring -management asks employee to use PTO to make up for pay roll issues monthly

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good benefits, lousy hours

    Feb 3, 2018 - Logistics Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HFT has some of the best benefits for a retailer out there. Paid Time Off, sick time, discounts to a large number of stores outside of HFT. 20% discount in-store. I was full time, but if you are looking for this job to be a 15-20 hours a week kind of gig, its absolutely perfect for that, so long as you can get semi regular hours.

    Cons

    Biggest reason I left was the hours. Always flipflopping between day and night shifts. Not enough hours to spend on crews that were just days or just nights. One day I would work 4 to midnight and then the next day I'd do 9am - 5pm. Days off were a thing of the past since pretty much all of my free time was used up catching up on sleep.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback, and we will report it to the appropriate team members. Best of luck in your future career goals, thank you for your work!

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I love my cashier job at HFT!

    Oct 6, 2015 - Cashier in Paducah, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid time off for all employees! You can earn extra money by selling ESP'S and ITC'S!

    Cons

    Not allowing enough scheduling hours to cover busy days. Often we will be slammed and only have one cashier working. They didn't give me a clear description or understanding of the store policies on attendance, coupons, and other things I needed to know and had to learn the hard way.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    In the 4 years of being there; overall, not an extremely bad place to work for.

    Mar 4, 2015 - Warehouse Supervisor in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're full time, benefits, 401k plan and others. Everyone gets paid sick time and paid time off. Make extra money by selling memberships and extended service plans for some of the product.

    Cons

    Micro managing employees, unrealistic goals for processes to get worked properly, broken store managers who do not care about the employees, not everyone is held to the same standard or expectations, lack to team work, SOP's that never get followed. People get lazy, minimum wage is too low in some areas for the amount of work that people are expected to do. The owner is more about the money and his company growing, then things and people who actually work the processes and have better ways to make it work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    HR Liason

    Hi, thank you for leaving your input. We greatly value our employees' feedback and are grateful you took the time to share yours. We agree, Harbor Freight does offer great, competitive benefits and perks. It also has some great folks working for them. We are concerned, though, that you would only give the company a "1-star" rating despite your positive input and hope that was an error. We are also interested in your concerns and invite you to share them with your HR representative, or if you prefer to be anonymous, call the HR Hotline at 800-693-8377. Thank you.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    High expectations

    Jun 5, 2015 - Merchandising Assistant Store Manager in Jonesboro, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HFT has good benefits, from the insurance to the paid time off. There's always room for advancement either within the store you begin working in or by relocation.

    Cons

    HFT is a fast growing company, but they are not completely ready for the expansion. The corporate office needs to learn from other major retailers on practices they implement in their stores. They expect too much from their part-time, minimum wage employees, which quickly causes burnout that results in high turnover rates. Most all of the decision makers of the company have never worked in a HFT store or in any retail environment which also hinders the success this company could have. It should listen more to the employees it currently has and others who have worked in similar environments to improve how to stores are ran. This would improve employee loyalty, resulting in a better workplace and would ultimately drives the company to success.

    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Sales Supervisor

    Nov 16, 2017 - Sales Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, annual review raises, easy work environment, paid time off

    Cons

    Angry customers, Store managers that know nothing and do nothing, never recieve full time.....work hard to recieve your bonus and when you meet numbers, (so you thought) you get screwed on your bonus. So why try? They put sales employees on other jobs... i.e. sales people doing truck, replenishment and POGs, ad sets, audits.....

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Employment Branding Specialist

    Sorry you have not had the experienced you desired at Harbor Freight, but this is all detailed feedback that we will be sure to share with the appropriate team members. Harbor Freight is committed to continuous improvement, which your feedback will be able to help us do.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for!

    Jun 18, 2013 - Assistant Store Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing work environment! A job that really rewards hard work and dedication. I have worked here for 3 years and been promoted twice. Great benifits, amazing paid time off program and all the people I've worked with, upper management in particular are great poeple and employees. If your looking for a job with unbelievable growth potential, Harbor Freight is the place to work.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Ridiculous Expectations for the amount of pay and hours

    Feb 15, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid time off and sick time Awesome co-workers Commissions Nice environment Good job to gain experience in every aspect of retail

    Cons

    Not enough hours Hard work and low pay Competition with commissions New hires get more hours than long term employees Some managers are not even management material

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Didn't make it on the managers "Favoritism List"! Making a difference and Loving the Customer!!

    Mar 27, 2014 - Cashier in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensated for Extended Service Plans and Inside Track Sales. Paid Time Off accumulation. Sick Time Off accumulation.

    Cons

    Hired with pay as a cashier, yet only cashier maybe 3 times monthly. Hard work unappreciated. Hard to achieve FT hours. Unfavorable employee atmosphere among management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 41 - 50 of 110 Reviews

Popular Careers with Harbor Freight Tools Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews