Harbor Freight Tools "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
783 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full time employees earns 188 hours of paid time off in their first year(in 86 reviews)

  • "Company prefers to promote from within; You can start as a part time associate and work your way to management in just a year or two(in 66 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management unreasonable expectations of work task unreasonable(in 65 reviews)

  • "I would like our part time associates to work a minimum of 20 hrs a week(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I love my career with HFtools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Greatest challenge I have ever experienced in My career history. I look forward to each moment that I am there supporting our Management team.

    Cons

    I would like our part time associates to work a minimum of 20 hrs a week. I obsess in building a team of high- achievers, optimizing talent that is proficient in the execution of all operational processes. Constantly ensuring a rewarding experience to every customer that I serve. All efforts to deliver a rewarding experience for part time associates seem to go in vein as each individually express their... disappointment concerning the lack of hours they each receive...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only Satisfied Associates will deliver the consistency expected in merchandise management.s Always ensuring long term increases that is needed in sales.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-11-10
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Norristown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, high pay rate compared to competitors, great hands on experience, awesome team environment, paid Thanksgiving and Christmas even though the store is closed, and AMAZING benefits. Company prefers to promote from within; You can start as a part time associate and work your way to management in just a year or two. Also corporate provides an employee relief fund for those who hit hard times and/or... emergencies.

    Show More

    Cons

    While not often, you can close one day and open the next. You will work at least one day a weekend, which is par for the course in retail, customers can be tougher then most.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-11-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall decent company with a few flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate in Amherst, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is easy-going and easy to work with Paid time off for part-time employees

    Cons

    4am start most days Short 4 hour shifts often Low pay starting at 12/hr

    Advice to Management

    Retain employees by raising starting pay and offer bonus incentives to associates.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-11-05
  4. "Assist in store costumers and phone customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PTO, Commission on ITCs and Extended Warranties, Employee Benefit Website

    Cons

    Not many besides recent decrease in store income causing part-time employee's to receive less then part-time hours

    Advice to Management

    None. I respect all my managers.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It's a retail job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Leesburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can earn bonus pay for selling replacement plans and memberships.

    Cons

    More than likely start off as part time and hard to advance internally.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the starting wage and increase the pay raises or people will look for other employment.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Know what you are getting yourself into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company offers paid time off and a matching 401k plan to full and part time employees. Can earn additional money by selling warranties and memberships. I enjoy talking with the customers and don't mind doing the job aside from the repetition.

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet without breaks while other employees are allowed to socialize and leave his/her work station. Expected to sell sell sell even though we were told our only responsibility is to offer certain products. Have to repeat the same 10 word phrase to every customer.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees adequate time to rest like they were promised, allow tasks to be alternated so everyone has the opportunity to move around, HIRE SUPERVISORS AND MANAGERS who will do their jobs to ensure that the associates are all being treated fairly and receiving breaks that are required by law and by the company! HAVE a CONVERSATION with an employee about supposedly NOT following the SCRIPT BEFORE writing the... employee up. Especially when other employees are not adhering to the script. THIS IS A FORM OF HARASSMENT when you single one employee out!

    Show More
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-09-02
  7. "Pretty Good Job- Whack Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Associate in Biloxi, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Very friendly management and coworkers -Willing to help you out when you need it -Even part-time accrues TO -Great if you enjoy exercise and team lifting

    Cons

    -Part-time hours are NOT consistent, you'll either make barely enough to live or not enough at all -Easy to injure yourself if you're not careful -Hard to use your TO when there aren't enough people -Not a good job for people that don't like waking up at 4 AM -Management is sometimes hard to speak to when they don't come in at consistent hours that line up with your shift -If you're a girl, it's a little bit of... a boys' club

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is nice and willing to listen, but are hard to get to sometimes when you really need to discuss something. They need to communicate with their subordinates a little bit more. The hours of their early morning workers, especially part-timers, makes it almost impossible to run into them.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-17
  8. "Great environment, lots of opportunities to make money, but objectively unfair policies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Marion, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you put in hard work, it's recognized by your store. My store manager was a fantastic boss, with a great work ethic and constantly pushed others to do put forth their best performance. Staff where I was at was always extremely friendly, had a good sense of humor, and was very effective in doing their jobs. Commissions are a great way to earn a lot of extra money, whether part time or full time associate. Benefits... and paid time off are available for part time and full time positions alike.

    Show More

    Cons

    Several of their policies, namely attendance and cash, have a "strikeout" format. If you are more than 6 minutes late or more than $5 under or over, you are flagged for the next six months. They do not communicate with you or with anyone at your store directly until your last "strike" and will automatically fire you if it happens again, even at the expense of your store, ignoring whether or not your managers plead... otherwise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change these policies on a corporate level to be investigative rather than automatic. Have an actual person determine whether or not someone should be fired. These policies are not effective at weeding out bad employees and end up severely hurting the wrong people, and worse, the entire store.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-08-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits and more full time positions -Upwards movement -Supportive upper leadership -Some great customers and coworkers -New and improved items in stores -Job security

    Cons

    -Workload - Performance management (New attendance policy is crazy) -AM/PM differential in store creates an culture that is hard to support quality of life -Truck recieving process -Store layouts (some stores have significant challenges and are still expected to perform to the same standards as other stores) -Not enough payroll to handle customers -Corp. Partners who create workload do not make time frames realistic... for part time associates - no allocated training hours

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The growing pains in this company are very real right now. There are improvements that need to be made. This company has extremely high expectations, which is fantastic, but they need to be realistic with how they go about distributing the work that needs to be done.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-07-12
  10. "Work/life balance sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    The insurance is better than most.

    Cons

    No respect for employees. Days and nights are supposed to be shared equally among management,but they burn you out on closes by yourself, yet they say they have the best schedule to accommodate family life. Not true unless your part time an you can choose when you want to work. Full time does not get that.

    Advice to Management

    Have some respect for your employees and don't burn them out on closes.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-07-30
Found 119 reviews