Harbor Freight Tools "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
792 Ratings
  1. "Work/life balance sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    The insurance is better than most.

    Cons

    No respect for employees. Days and nights are supposed to be shared equally among management,but they burn you out on closes by yourself, yet they say they have the best schedule to accommodate family life. Not true unless your part time an you can choose when you want to work. Full time does not get that.

    Advice to Management

    Have some respect for your employees and don't burn them out on closes.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-07-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place for part timers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sevierville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -commission available for specific sales. -they have a decent paid time off policy

    Cons

    they recently introduce some new policies surrounding the time clock. these same policies present the following problems. not enough time to complete tasks. often time they assigned one person to a single task and allow the time clock to judge how long the task should take. in my own experience, often their wasn't enough time to complete the task resulting in the fault being my own. even though i was rushing and cutting corners where i should not. this same policy likely does not account for cashier back up and customer interactions as well. making the task all the more difficult. their security policy conflicts with their attendance policy in certain circumstances. for example, if you were to attempt to call out in the morning before the store opens. the security policy demands that at least 2 people be present before the manager can go inside. this creates a conflict of interests. forcing the employee have it held against them regardless of the reason should they persist to stay out for the day. before i left, the store was understaffed, and while they are trying to hire more people, this creates scheduling errors and call ins. of which, can cause poor work/life balance even with the new time clock policy. this also has the opportunity to conflict with the new time clock policies. employees are informed to take breaks and lunches at specific times as instructed. however due to the aforementioned staffing issue, it's not always possible to do so. these issues sometimes resulted in me having to skip breaks and push my lunch back to complete assigned tasks and ensure their was appropriate coverage on the sales floor. my final point is the company advertises other benefits that are not made available to part time employees. but the posters and flyers mention nothing about this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    please specify what benefits are available to part time employees on your job advertising and re-evaluate your policies to ensure that they don't create conflict of interests between the manager and employee as i have pointed out in cons section.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-05-21
  3. "Ok pay, decently easy job, poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay ($10 starting.)

    Cons

    Poor management training. Managers never seem trained for their job. Poor hours, even for part-time. 20 hours one week, 4 the next. You're not important unless you're a Senior Associate. (Part timers aren't valued.) If you're a good worker, it's *YOUR* job to make others do their job, not the supervisors. (Meaning you supervise, when if you're not a supervisor.)

    Advice to Management

    Teach your management how to do their jobs accurately, & consistently. Respect & value ALL of your associates, not just the full-timers.

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-03-10
  4. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible and mostly only part time

    Cons

    very little hours and closes ver early

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-03-08
  5. "horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Logistics in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there are no pros most managers treat you like a dope!

    Cons

    they told me I would work the delivery of the truck at 4pm when I started...after a month they changed it to 4am yea 4am.. pay is terrible heavy lifting..no flexibility with hours.. they don't cart about part time employees.. home depot is way better... for part time

    Advice to Management

    learn how to respect people!

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-03-19
  6. "Hard work low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics in Longview, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    my co workeers and customers are the best part of harbor freight. i cant say very much because i have applied to move up and keep getting rejected

    Cons

    the way logistics is tasked with pretty much everything but we make less than cashiers who do nothing, e do not have enough help to begin with and instead of hiring from within our store our managers wantsa to hire an outsider she says we are not ready , kinda hard if you are not trained properly or manangement willing ot train us. the hours used to be great on truck days we were off by 2 til the new thing come out, i have worked a 13 hour shift on a reset because we had 4 people to do the work of 8 . raises arent given out often , you pretty much are stuck at part time just not quiet enough hours to be full time and get any kind of benefit. i feel the hft company just doesnt care about its employees enough to make things right. the working til midnight every night is ridiculous why fix something that wasnt broken.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees and you might find you have a diamond in the rough who likes a challenge instead of the mundane task of replen day in and day out...this job is so boring at times. esp in the store after 8 ..btw what happened to the we close at 8 maybe cashiers but not logistics

    Harbor Freight Tools2019-02-25
  7. "If you want a job for fun work here. If you need to make a living keep looking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You earn PTO as a part time employee from day one. Flexible schedule for most (you are required to work big sales-6 weekends a year & major holidays -it is retail). Easy to get time off for doctor appointments (unpaid). Cashiers earn commission by selling add on items. Management makes sure you get the days off you request, aside from what I listed above. Customers are mostly (90%) nice but you do get verbally sexually harassed on a daily basis so know that going in. If you are sensitive you don't want to work here or you will end up crying. Most employees are nice, some are lazy & on their phone (against policy) like every other place. Assistant managers at my store are very nice. Manager is different. District manager is completely out in left field.

    Show More

    Cons

    Low Pay & no additional pay for working major holidays like Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve, Memorial day, Labor day or July 4th. Not many hours (could be only 10 hours per week). Other employees are late every single day which means you never get off on time (managers never write them up or do anything about it even when you complain & ask them to follow company policy). Cashiers are required to answer the phone while checking customers out. This is very annoying. Customers think you are being rude. After my first 2 years with the company corporate changed the commission structure for cashiers (which I am) and I lost over 60% of my commission each year following. You must work over 30 hours to be full time & get insurance, they make sure you stay @ 27 or less. 3% raise each year does not keep up with inflation and it isn't worth the waste of paper it is printed on. They open a new store every 3 days so we now have less inventory in stock than previously. This is frustrating to the customers & the employees. This also makes me feel like they are going to saturate the market. This year they are also unrolling 2 new services at the store that will require the cashier to do more work but not increase the pay. That will likely be my breaking point.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow policy & write up people for being late. It is already generous in giving a 5 minute grace period. Beyond that is ridiculous. Letting cashiers be on their phone @ the register is insane & against policy. If you have a good employee that was promised a set schedule when they were hired don't try to change later. Corporate - please go to Bu'cees website and see why they do not post a store phone number. It is because customers find it rude for cashiers to be on the phone when they are checking customers out.

    Show More
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-02-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Job!, ..... but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Port Charlotte, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EVERY employee from our Store Manager on down to Logistics/Stock are Wonderful. Only took this part time job as a filler till something better came along, however I have been enjoying my employment here so much that I plan to stay here as long as needed.

    Cons

    Slightly, and I use that term loosly, we are over-pressurized by management to up-sell their Extended Replacement Plans to customers. Some of their Plans are definately worth it, but many that we are “Required” to offer are not a value to the customer. Hired as a Cashier, I was not expecting to be Required to also learn to “Sell” like a natural Salesman can. My biggest Beef is with Selling customers their Inside Track Club Memberships .... but my beef is not the membership itself, which is VERY valuable to customers, it is the followup visits by Club Members. It can take a few months for their actual Membership to register in our computers accurately creating much confusion on our end. Then to top that confusion off ... For all ITC members, we are required to manually look up each product code in a printed binder to scan the ITC product discount code. Every item large or small must be manually searched creating immediate backup at registers as their sale takes much longer that most average sales. This then creates a longer line of pissed off customers because they are now waiting longer for service.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advise only meant for Corporate Management, not my store management as they are Awesome! Please please FIX the ITC club sales process. It is just a simple coding fix that attaches ITC prices to ITC customers. It is not Rocket Science, it is just a different list. Why does it take up to 3 months for their membership to show up on our registers, especially if we sold it to them. Your website states” it may take up to 48 Hours for ITC memberships to show up for online orders”, so why does it take up to 3 months for memberships sold in store to show up? I would gladly give up my $2 commission per sold membership for a quicker ITC member experience at the register. I would gladly sell more if it was streamlined.

    Show More
    Harbor Freight Tools2019-01-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor onboarding and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly part time employees with about 8 full time positions. Good if you are a student and if you know a lot about tools. Pay was $10 starting which is decent. Couple dollars above minimum wage. $14 for supervisor(anyone can become one). Also, you could make more by selling people extended warranties and getting them to sign up for the members coupon book. You also get some paid sick time even if you're part time. 20% employee discount.

    Show More

    Cons

    There were more cons than pros which led me to quit after three months. The on boarding process for new employees sucks more than any other job I've had. I had no trainer. Walked in on the first day to no idea what I was doing. They didn't even tell me to enter in through the back of the store because it was truck day, so i looked dumb from the start. Simple details and information they didn't even have the decency explain. Absolutely no communication, no time to write anything down on processes, no one-on-one training with supervisors. Other co-workers would just try and help me along as we went. There were never any clear instructions. The only "training" is 4 hours of watching videos which seemed to be helpful until you actually start and it's nothing like the videos at all. Don't be surprised if they start you on truck day which sometimes ends up being 14 hours long of heavy lifting and stocking. If you're on the logistics team you might as well not even have the title of logistics because you have to do sales team responsibilities too. Not to mention you're given all these responsibilities the first week while on a part time schedule and they expect you to know how to do everything by the end of the month!?? You're also paid the same amount as the sales team, but end up doing more work. They think being able to earn commission while being on logistics makes up for it, but it doesn't. You still do more hard work. AND for example you could be stocking, start helping a customer, sell them on getting the extended warranties, but when they go to the cash register the cashier will often steal your commission on it by not putting in your numbers despite telling them you sold it to them. To go more in depth about your responsibilities, you're pretty much thrown to the wolves. Logistics team you'll be expected to do it all. If you don't want to break your back and want a less load of work just apply for sales (still sucks, but slightly better). Sales only answers phone, cashier, greet, and try to sell. Logistics you do all that and then you do replenishment, pricing, planograms, truck, and recalibration. HFT tries to promote safety and safe lifting, but you usually can't get any assistance if you need help with heavy stuff. If you're not going fast enough they'll yell at you no matter how heavy of items you're moving. They don't want to pay for extra hours certain tasks take (such as truck unloading), so they pressure you to the point of dehydration to get everything done in the allocated time. The warehouse is a mess of products piled high always falling over and spilling. You'll also have to locate stuff in that mess quickly to deliver up front into customers cars. In stock and inventory reports are so off because of this mess and disorganization. So another store could tell a customer on the phone we have an item in stock based on report, but when they get there we actually don't have it. Managers will be on you 24/7 to talk customers into buying certain products so that the cashiers can then talk them into joining the HFT coupon club for more money. Managers goes as far as lying to customers and telling them they're HFT club members themselves and that they've bought certain items. Telling them all of it is so great so they'll purchase it. Then laugh about their schemes when the customer leaves. It's disgusting. It's no surprise they pressure you to sell all the extra warranties and club catalogs. The tools are so cheap and low quality there needs to be other sources of profit for this company. The amount of returns is insane because it all breaks so easily. Speaking of which, doing returns on the system is so complicated and their cashiering system is just bad. I've worked as a cashier at other places and HFT has probably the worst system to work with. Regular transactions is okay, but returns is too long and overcomplicated. You'd think for as often stuff is returned it would be much more simplified. ALSO! Cant forget about the parking lot sales!!!!! Where they put a bunch of sale priced products that were literally that same price a couple weeks ago outside. As logistics you will get to stand outside as "security" in all sorts of weather. You're not aloud to have a water with you on 90+ degree days or even a chair to sit on while you're standing in the same spot for hours. It's so that bad customers have literally walked inside the store and told the manager how cruel it is to leave employees in that heat for hours with no water or chair just to watch over some cheap tools. Couldn't that time be spent on productivity?? This place is crazy and goes through employees so fast. Within my first week they lost 2 employees for the same reasons. HFT was a joke. Ask a question to a lead or management? They yell at you and make you feel like you're worthless. Need help with a customer to get them more specific information about a particular product? You're on your own! I asked questions when needing help (which was encouraged), but when I did I received the most vague answers ever & was told to basically figure it out. They're very demanding in lecturing employees about good customer service, but when trying to get customers complete and accurate information for their needs no one wants to step up even though they have more experienced in the specific product departments. Obviously everyone has different knowledge and experience on different types of tools. So for example why would I not ask a supervisor 10x more familiar with trailer parts to give more information to an interested customer than just trying to wing it myself? MAKES NO SENSE. Anyway, I struggled trying to get the hang of this job for longer than I should. It was a waste of time. I was studying my bachelor of logistics at this time (graduated now). And it was still too crazy of a job despite knowing logistic processes coming in. Probably because I was tricked into it being told I would be doing logistic things, but instead spent half my time trying to sell people junk that I don't know much about. I wish this review was available when I was reading them on here. Unless you're really good with selling, know about EVERY single tool out there, and can pick up anything (physically or knowledge wise) very quickly I suggest not working here. I just wanted a part time logistics job while in school. I was being considered for full time supervisor as well, but left before pursuing that. Don't get me wrong there were a few really co-workers there that really did their best to help and would help answer my questions. The problem is they were regular part time employees. They did not have time to be assisting me. That is what supervisors and management is for and TRAINING. Not to mention being on a part time schedule you do not work with the same people all the time, so I didn't have these useful people around every time I worked. So probably 3/20 people were actually nice and helpful. This is all based on my location in Illinois by the way. I have done inventory at another HFT store in Wisconsin and the atmosphere and store overall was 100% different. So organized, clean communication, and knowledgable instructive leaders. If you're happen to get into a good store with better management it may go smoother than my experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop a better training and onboaring process for new employees. One of the biggest reasons employees do not stay is because of poor onboarding. Be more organized and improve communication. As a college graduate in business, the store I was located at needs extreme improvement in all these aspects if they want top performing and long lasting workers. As a logistics major and previous worker in retail and tool industry, this job should not have been challenging. Due to all these flaws in my very long review you lost a valuable employee. Hopefully HFT actually sees this review and makes changes.

    Show More
    Harbor Freight Tools2018-12-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrid Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-Time Sales Associate in Macon, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Been there for 2 and half years as a part time cashier. The pay raises are great. Started at $7.75 and am now at $10.25. The compensation from selling warranties and ITC's is pretty good.

    Cons

    No help whatsoever from the store manager and most managers. Not enough people working shifts. Always have lines. Not enough hours given to employees. Some people getting no hours and some only getting 5 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Hire the right kind of store managers that will help out and won't have attitudes when you ask for help. Give more hours. 5 hours a week is not something someone can live off of.

    Harbor Freight Tools2018-10-06
Found 120 reviews